Will trade Moose for Turkey.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature8 years ago (edited)

Today I learned that wild turkeys can fly really well and they like to roost in trees and travel in large groups. I also learned that I am not quite at the calibre of a National Geographic Photo Journalist, but hey, everyone has to start somewhere right?

I am slightly nervous getting this close to the flock.

In addition to flying, wild turkeys can run and I mean really run and they have very sharp talons and the males have leg spurs.

If they decided to attack instead of fleeing, any self-respecting person on their way to work... like me, who decides to venture closer for a better look so that she can share the experience on Steemit... needs to be ready to run.

Reaching the safety of the car quickly if the flock's mood turned aggressive, was plan B.

(This was my exact thought..."Can I make it to my car before they make it to me?" You'll see I was fairly out numbered, like about 75 to 1 and they are exceptionally healthy and smart birds because they are wild. As a result they're not your average "run of the mill" turkeys.

Did I mention these are big wild birds? Fully grown males on average can weigh 17 pounds where as females weigh in at an average weight of 12 lbs.

I also had to factor into the equation that I was wearing a full length parka and rubber boots.

That's about the equivalency of needing to sprint in a sleeping bag while wearing cumbersome footwear that won't let your ankles or knees bend very well. I quickly concluded that my winter gear was definitely going to slow my escape time down if I needed it. I also calculated that I would have to contend with a high slipping risk...due to snow, ice and lots of turkey poop. 

I was left thinking that this interlude with the wild turkeys was shaping up to have all the components of a completely over the top, Ninja Warrior challenge. 

I'm not kidding, this is the largest flock of wild turkeys I have seen to date.

These are gorgeous birds and I'm sure anyone would be proud of them if they raised this flock from a nestling or poult stage. They are all fine specimens of this wild breed. I didn't see one sick or injured bird among them.

As the story goes, re-populating the wild turkey population in Ontario, (one of the larger provinces in Canada) was a major victory for us.

In 1984, we allegedly traded several of our neighbouring States from the USA,  moose, river otters, geese and partridge for 274 wild turkeys.

The population of wild turkeys in Ontario, Canada was basically non-existent in the early part of the 20th century. Now the wild turkey population is estimated to be approximately 100,000 birds due to our turkey trade deal.

On average a female turkey will lay approximately 12 eggs per year and they take 28 days to incubate and hatch. This usually occurs once a year, in the Spring.

Wild foraging, the great Canadian gobblers, cleaning up left over corn in this field from the autumn harvest 2 months ago.

Thankfully, I am happy to report that no running or slipping occurred.

I welcome your comments and invite you to follow me on my journey.

~ Rebecca Ryan




Sort:  

What a great post! I'm sorry I didn't see this one earlier. I'm glad you got your photo with the wild turkeys! They are impressive!

The turkey reintroductions have been successful, I think, nearly every place in their original range. It's a real success story. I saw some roosting in trees last Saturday here in Oregon. There was so much cold and fog, the turkeys were slow to wake up and get going. I really like that 4th picture, with the guard turkeys doing their job of looking out for trouble. I see them watching you in the 2nd picture, too. I hope you see many more turkeys, and get to hear them calling in the springtime.

Thanks @haphazard-hstead! I can tell you that I kept my eye on a few of these birds, looking for aggressive posturing. It's a good time of year to view them. If it was the Spring, they wouldn't have let me get this close and would have charged or flown at me. I approached with respect and didn't try to approach too quickly. There is another field right beside this one and it had more birds in it. I think the entire flock is over 100 birds in number.

Cool photos. I never saw so many of those in one place myself growing up out there. Just occasionally driving along HWY 11 there'd be a few in the fields.

Maybe you can find some feathers.

Thanks for commenting!
Apparently Muskoka has quite a wild turkey population now as the flocks are expanding north. It isn't their natural habitat but they seem to be flourishing.
I did find 3 feathers in the Spring of this year. I cleaned them and gave them to my nieces and nephew.

Awesome photos!!! Great facts on the birds too, it stood out when you said they look healthy -- ALL of them.

I like the fancy borders on your photos!! I am glad this did not turn into an episode of

When Turkeys Attack.

ha, a turkey eating a vegan for dinner, how ironic that would have been

lol

Hahaha! Thanks for commenting Barry.
I'm actual not a vegan, I still eat meat but I'm selective about it.
One of my neighbours was chased down our road by a flock of Turkeys in the Spring. They become aggressive when they have fledglings. So, I've learn to approach with respect.

Agreed. Once I was golfing and chased by a Canada Goose trying to get my ball and another time I was chased by this Flock

Yes, birds can be relentless if they don't want to share space with you.
I'm pretty sure I still have a vinyl copy of this. :D

I was gonna go with

Why are you taking photos with politicians, but it was too obvious. LOL

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.17 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40