You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will trade Moose for Turkey.

in #nature8 years ago

What a great post! I'm sorry I didn't see this one earlier. I'm glad you got your photo with the wild turkeys! They are impressive!

The turkey reintroductions have been successful, I think, nearly every place in their original range. It's a real success story. I saw some roosting in trees last Saturday here in Oregon. There was so much cold and fog, the turkeys were slow to wake up and get going. I really like that 4th picture, with the guard turkeys doing their job of looking out for trouble. I see them watching you in the 2nd picture, too. I hope you see many more turkeys, and get to hear them calling in the springtime.

Sort:  

Thanks @haphazard-hstead! I can tell you that I kept my eye on a few of these birds, looking for aggressive posturing. It's a good time of year to view them. If it was the Spring, they wouldn't have let me get this close and would have charged or flown at me. I approached with respect and didn't try to approach too quickly. There is another field right beside this one and it had more birds in it. I think the entire flock is over 100 birds in number.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12