Tangwystl Cottage - it's been BUGging me

in #nature6 years ago

I can't remember how many years ago it was, now, but I found these photos I took of a sneaky visitor we discovered in the house, post-mortem.

Meet ... the WETA
bug1.jpg
Very broadly speaking, they're our version of the grasshopper or cricket; and boy, do they hop!

And to make it even more photogenic, I laid it out on a sheet to better show off its good side, as one does.
bug2.jpg

Scientific classification: families Anostostomatidae and Rhaphidophoridae.
Say these words at parties and impress all your friends. Trust me, I know these things.

Wētā have been around long enough to see dinosaurs come and go and to evolve into more than 70 different species, all of them endemic to New Zealand. source (You really ought to check on the info on this page!)

I suspect it crawled under an external door, dazed and confused as to where it should have been heading - towards a wood pile as they love those hidey-holes.
Recently we picked up a stack of clay bricks from someone who lived further out in the country, and were quite 'entertained' by the sheer volume of little BUGgers pinging off out of the pile as we disturbed them.
More accurately, we wished they were pinging off, but more often they were flinging themselves at us much to the horror of my kids, lol.
Okay, and me too but don't tell anyone.
I won't freak you out by adding pics of just how big the Giant Weta is, but google it for yourself. Its the one taking up most space sitting on a person's hand and is apparently the heaviest insect on earth. They are said to be 'gentle giants' though, so that is something.

Out of the 70 species we have here, 16 are 'at risk' - meaning endangered. You can actually make weta habitats, which would help them out. Here is a helpful link to instructions, but there are plenty if you research:
https://www.doc.govt.nz/get-involved/conservation-activities/exploring-nature-with-children-booklet/in-your-own-backyard/build-a-weta-motel/

Weta are nocturnal and live in a variety of habitats including: pasture, shrub, forests, and caves. Weta excavate holes under stones, rotting logs, or in trees. They sometimes occupy pre-formed burrows. source

pic.jpg
image source

And if your most burning question about these insects has been"Can I eat them and what do they taste like?" then Bear Grylls has already answered you ...

The Man vs Wild star has eaten all manner of creatures on location in the wild, including grubs, raw zebra, snakes and spiders, but he said the live tree weta he ate during filming was the worst thing he had tasted.
"It tasted literally like you'd imagine poo would taste. I've eaten a lot of bugs, but this was something else." source

Perhaps he just needed a nice cold beer to wash it down with.


Tangwystl Cottage banner small.jpg

ravenruis.png

banner2.png

(extra tags: #photography #homesteading #lifestyle #insects #biology)

Sort:  

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Your post has been personally reviewed and was considered to be a well written article.
You received a 60.0% upvote since you are a member of geopolis and wrote in the category of "geopolis".

To read more about us and what we do, click here.
https://steemit.com/geopolis/@geopolis/geopolis-the-community-for-global-sciences-update-4

Thank you so much! I really enjoy being able to contribute something positive, however small, to the Geopolis community. :)

I haven’t seen these critters for a long time @ravenruis Not pretty are they? I didn’t know that Bear Grylls had eaten one......he won’t be back for seconds by all accounts. 😁 I’m always on the lookout for ways to supplement our income but I don’t think anyone could pay me enough to eat a weta. 😩

You could never drag me to one of those wild food festivals either!

Used to make me roll my eyes, watching Fear Factor when contestants who declared themselves to be vegetarian would eat worms or insects in the hopes of a large prize. So much for principles. :P

I don’t know how they do it either @ravenruis I think they must be lacking normal taste buds and cast iron stomachs. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60898.61
ETH 2626.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61