IN SEARCH OF THE BLUE-SPOTTED SALAMANDER

in #nature7 years ago

Ah, the adventure of the search!


While up in Wisconsin last time, @papa-pepper and his oldest son "Monster Truck the Pepper" were able to enjoy exploring some of the places that @papa-pepper used to spend a lot time. The particular area featured in this video is alongside the Plover River in central Wisconsin. Interestingly enough, @papa-pepper used to frequent this place during his lunch breaks from work, because any break from work is a good opportunity to go out looking for snakes, turtles, frogs, toads, and salamanders.

I recorded the footage some months back, and it can be a little "jumpy" at times, but now that I am able to edit my videos, I put some videos together so you can see more of the process of "how to" look for salamanders. Enjoy the video!

VIDEO : THE SEARCH FOR THE SALAMANDER

SUCCESS!

It may have took some perseverance, but in the end we were successful. We knew that they were out there somewhere, we just had to figure out where.

As usual, any chance that I have to make some memories with my @little-peppers is a great opportunity to take advantage of. Also, to give them a hands on learning experience where they can understand more about the world around them is always beneficial.

Have any of you ever found salamanders in the wild? They certainly are some interesting amphibians and have many incredible characteristics. There is also a lot of variety between the different species. I hope that you enjoyed the video!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-blue-spotted-salamander

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

It's so sad, there are no native salamanders in Australia or at least not in WA...not sure why.. maybe it's too dry for them

so you found it ... beautiful amazing ....

Yes we did! It took some looking, but we did find it!

Wow. Is it legal to have it?
The skin look like the poisonous frog.

Some are sold in the pet trade, and others used for fishing bait, but I like to see them in the wild most.

Whaaaat? Fishing? Such majestic animals

Yup, sad but true.

Hey, @papa-pepper! Your video's are improving by leaps and bounds! I really liked the way this one came out. The editing is so much better when you can do it yourself. More of your personality shines through and it sounds more authentic.

AW, thanks so much! You have no idea how much it means to me, other than when I say that.

well, i may not of found them in the wild but they sure found me. I used to be a bartender at the local pub when i first moved to Alberta, every night they would change ponds and a half dozen of them would crawl along the sidewalk in front of the bar at about the same time every night.

Wow! That must have been so cool! What color were they? I'm going to guess black with yellow.

Black with green dots. They were large too, almost a foot long, I would make sure to go outside for the salamander crossing, it was unique. On the east coast they are tiny, maybe 2 inches and they have orange dots. I never seen blue ones yet.

Sounds like they could have been Tiger Salamanders.

yeah!!! that looks a good deal like the ones I used to see.

@papa-pepper blue-spotted-salamander is a beautiful creature. You really had a good time with your son in the wild. I love wild animals too but not as bold as you use to move closer to them.

Many of these creatures I have grown up with, so some things just come naturally to me.

that is so cool. the skin color of that creature is so amazing.

Yes it is. They come in some amazing colors!

great work well done @papa-pepper

I see you and your child catch it by hand. Is he harmless? I have never found it. Maybe they do not exist in Indonesia. I am interested in the color of his skin. You and your child are great @papa-pepper.

These will not hurt you by touching them, but unless you have clean hands, you can hurt them just by touching their skin. Unfortunately, many amphibians absorb toxins through their skin and can even die from it, which is why amphibians are one of the first things to die off when an ecosystem becomes polluted.

Environmental pollution has killed her. It is unfortunate. Is there any other way to save him from extinction? Can we cultivate to continue there anytime. Otherwise he will only remain a story and become a forgotten past.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64689.27
ETH 3135.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56