Semaphore Crabs (Heloecius cordiformis)

in #nature7 years ago

I was at tyhe Narawntapu National Park today where, among other things, I got this shot of a Semaphore Crab, Heloecius cordiformis. It may not be the best photo I've taken but I can assure you it took a lot of patience to get it :-) I was lying face down with just my head over the creek embankment. They are very nervous things and the slightest movement sends them into their burrows. I waited about 5 minutes for them to come out but an itchy nose caused me to flinch and they were off into their burrows again. Another 5 or 6 minutes later I tried for a shot an the flash spooked them and sent them back down. After about twenty minutes I finally got this shot. It would have to do for now as people were waiting on me.

( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

I did better last year at the same site where I used my video camera. The zoom allowed me to stand further back and not make them so nervous. Here's the video:

Heloecius cordiformis Narawntapu N.P 2017-11-01.jpg

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR


Southern Reptile Ticks on Bluetongue Lizards

Some of Our Local Tasmanian Wildflowers

The Pink Leaf Moth

The Purple-winged Praying Mantis
Sort:  

Amazing you can actually see the crabs little eyeballs focused directly at you waiting for you next move :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69662.55
ETH 3388.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77