The Laughing Kookaburra (Two Photos)

in #nature7 years ago

While down by the river this morning I took a couple of shots of this Laughing Kookaburra Dacelo novaeguineae. These birds are in the Kingfisher family. In the first shot it is seen peering down toward the ground watching for potential prey. They will feed on things such as lizards, small snakes, insects, mice, frogs, etc.

( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

Kookaburra Fern Glade Tas.jpg

Kookaburra Fern Glade Tas n2.jpg

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR


Austrocochlea constricta - A Species Complex

The Elaterid Clicking Mechanism ..How Click Beetles Click

Like Moths to the Flame - Results of Last Nights Mothing

Slime that has Intelligence and Mobility
Sort:  

Nice post @mostly.nature... I love seeing photos and videos of animals around the world, specially birds. Australia is an amazing place!!!

I've been posting about nature and wildlife that I recorded here in South America - I'm from Brazil. Hope you can visit my blog!!!

Cheers,
Leandro

Congratulations @mostly.nature , we r much excited to know about it, wonderful job you have done.

This post received a 15% vote by @mrsquiggle courtesy of @choogirl from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Thanks for sharing. The only ones I have ever seen in real life were at the Houston Zoo in Texas so it's nice to see pictures of one not in a cage.

our photos of birds are most impressive. Since I live in Central America, these photos of birds are most interesting...

Cute looking birds, but very noisy!
I saw it once (and I have just one photo of it) in Lisbon Zoo.

Fascinating bird and interesting captures. Seems like a difficult species to photograph. I like the detail in the shaded regions and I find the halo effect on the head and edges very appealing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61043.90
ETH 3378.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46