Golden Jelly Bells and Other Interesting Fungi

in #nature7 years ago

Below are some photos of the Golden Jelly Bell fungus as well as a couple of other interesting specimens I have come across on my mycological perambulations.

( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

First up are some Golden Jelly-bells - Heterotextus peziziformis found at the Rocky Cape National Park.

Heterotextus peziziformis- Golden Jelly-bells Rocky-Cape.jpg

Here's another photo of the Golden Jelly Bells, this time taken from above. This one was in the bush (forest/woods) behind my house.

Heterotextus peziziformis-Golden Jelly Bells BY.jpg

This one appears to be the Orange Peel Fungus - Aleuria aurantia

Aleuria aurantia Orange Peel Fungus Rocky-Cape.jpg

This next one is possibly one of the Phycomyces sp. It was growing on an animal scat deep within a cave. Just goes to show that beauty can be found everywhere and in anything :-)

Fungi on Scat in Cave-Rocky-Cape.jpg

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR

Some Recent Posts You May Have Missed

The Magpie Lark

Southern Brown Bandicoot ...or should it be a Bandi Cute

Lizards Fighting and Hunting

Praying Mantis
Sort:  

Oh, I love when there is a fungus among us. Awesome shots.

Upped and Steemed

Thanks very much

My pleasure

Can the Jelly Bells be classified as adorable? The Orange Peel fungus is so cool, I haven't seen anything like that in these parts. I am still working on appreciating the white fuzzy...I'm sure I will get there. ;)

Thanks for posting. We had a rather extraordinary mushroom season last fall into winter and I have missed my little fungal friends.

Glad you enjoyed them. That fuzzy one is doing a great job in breaking down the nasty substrate so you and I don't tread on it. That's go to be worth appreciating :-)

Excellent point! :)

Fuzzy is much more attractive than the slugs we have here in Washington State. Don't tread on those either. They are just too icky. I'm semi-regularly washing slime off my dogs' fur because they are everywhere and my dogs lie on them.

Congratulations @mostly.nature! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Those are really neat! I love mushrooms. Good job!

Thanks. Same here. I love the variety of forms and colours.

Gorgeous and bizarre, all three of them. Both the Golden Jelly's and the Orange Peel fungus are about as aptly nicknamed as possible - and they both remind me of different very specific Sicilian desserts from a small town called Ribera, known for its oranges.

Yes they are pretty bizarre, especially the Jelly Bells. My doctor just put me on a diet so best not mention desserts :-)

Really nice pics!
Most people don't even pay any attention to any mushroom that's not edible and they don't realize there's a whole world of small beautiful fungi that they're missing.
Upvoted and resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82