Ants Nuptial Flight

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

This group of ants were attracted to the light of my moth trap about two weeks ago. They appear to belong the genus Camponotus. I cannot be sure, but I'm thinking this may be a queen (first image) and a group of winged males that have just made their nuptial flight. You'll notice that most have already lost their wings.

The photos were taken with a Canon 7D and Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro lens.

Click on images for a larger version
( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

Camponotus sp 2 2017-10-14.jpg

Camponotus sp 3 2017-10-14.jpg

Camponotus sp 4 2017-10-14.jpg

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR


The Tau Emerald Dragonfly

Cute Baby Wallaby in Mothers Pouch

The Common Pillbug

Rearing the Crexa Moth from Egg to Adult
Sort:  

Very very nice! I love ants!!
Agree, they look like Camponotus.

I had 3, 1 died, I have 2 together in a formicarium. They got some eggs and hope all goes well. Camponotus get very irritable if you bother them too much in the founding stages.

Thanks. I checked out you ant post. Actually I thought I replied to this comment too but apparently I didn't. Sorry about that :-)

All good. For thou I walk through the valley of Steemit, I fear no missed comments and upvotes.

Awesome closeups they look great, cheers.

Thanks very much.

Hey it's a rolly polly (pillbug). Awesome pictures of the ants!

Thanks. Glad you enjoyed them!

This post has received a 1.42 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @mostly.nature. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53