Super Blue Blood Moon

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

DSC_1382.JPG

There is a rare phenomenon called the Super Blue Blood Moon and it happened this morning! The last time it was visible in North America was 150 years ago, so it was quite the site to see. I'm so glad I got to witness it happen.

It all started last night, the super blue moon was out in full force. It was so bright it lit up everything like it was daytime.
The moon was so bright we could see our shadows as we were walking to take the pictures, we honestly could've driven home without any headlights! I have never seen the moon so bright in my life! It was breath taking.

My fiance @ayogihasnoname caught the moon in her hand on her half moon yoga, it's a pretty epic shot if I do say so myself! (cuz i took it lol)

What is a super blue blood moon?

  • A supermoon is when the Moon is at its closest point to Earth and can appear to be 14 percent bigger and 30 percent brighter than normal.

  • A blue moon is when you have two full moons in the same month.

  • The Blood Moon is when the moon has a reddish tint, this occurs because the Earth is passing between the Moon and the Sun. This is caused by the light bending around the Earth because of gravity passing around a portion of the atmosphere, more commonly known as a lunar eclipse.


Learning photography on the fly

I am still rather new to photography, so point and shoot is basically the extent of my technique. LoL. Well as you can see that doesn't really work to well at night!

So at 430am I was looking up tutorials on how to take long exposure pictures and missed the first part of the eclipse.

Thankfully not to much though!

Between learning how to set and use the apputure, shutter speed and ISO I had my work cut out for me in a short period of time. I was snapping pictures constantly to try to find the right settings. I did pretty well on the regular moon pictures but still have some learning to do to get the really good pictures of the blood moon.

Here is when the moon started to appear the slightest color red, it was after the eclipse had almost completely set in.

DSC_1369.JPG

I can't even begin to explain how beautiful this was, we sat and watched it for the better part of an hour. Unfortunately these pictures don't really do it justice.

DSC_1373.JPG

DSC_1376.JPG

I really wanted to share this with everyone on steemit because I know many of you didn't get an opportunity to see this amazing phenomenon and I didn't want you to miss out on it completely.

DSC_1389.JPG

Like I always say: "The best things in life are always free!" And this is just more proof of that.

DSC_1396.JPG

Sorry that these pictures are a bit blurry, I still have some learning to do obviously. Maybe someone who knows a bit more about photography can leave me a comment as to why it didn't come in better. I even used a tripod and a timer!

Hope you enjoyed

"Peace, love and all that hippie shit"

The STEEM Engine


APP.png

Sort:  

Your post was resteem by Whale ResteemService @booster007

Keep it up!
All the best!

First Follow for 3 hours | Send a minimum transaction 0.100 steem/SBD with post URL in memo | Your post gets resteemed | A post can only be resteemed once!

You're a real trooper for getting up super early to view the super blue blood moon! It's a shame we could not see it from Thailand. We might have seen it, but not as clearly due to the smog that sits quite nicely over Bangkok (thank god for pollution...NOT) LOL

Im actually an early riser (the early bird gets the worm lol), so it wasn't that big of a deal for me to get up a hour earlier than normal. Sucks you have to deal with so much polution tho :/ I think it's crazy that it is so bad there! We actually can see the pollution from Phoenix at night here from the arizona mountains, but its nothing like bangkok!

The early bird does catch the worm ;)
For us to be positive, we think like you - we guess in a way, we have to be thankful that we aren't in Beijing, Mexico City or New Delhi! Hahaha, but in all seriousness, air pollution and any type of pollution is quite scary to see and to hear the comparisons. In those cities, it's like smoking a packet of cigs a day just breathing in the air. Anyway, we're going off on one. Great post again and we hope to see more content for you :)

Yeah, air pollution is really scary stuff and most people dont even care. Thats the truly scary part to me. 😔
How can people not care that they are being poisoned!?!?!

I think you did an awesome job and the shot of your fiance grabbing the moon is phenomenal!

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Great photos! Times like this make me wish I had a real camera and not just my iPhone! lol

Also, great shot of your fiance!!!

Thanks! Yeah, makes me wish I was better at using my Nikon DSLR! lol

Thanks, you should follow her, she is trying to get together a yoga community! I'm following you now and i will have her follow you as well! Yogi's gotta stick together :)

I've been following her for a while! Haha it was funny to see her in your post!

I woke up in the middle of the night on the 31st of January 2018 and noticed light reflecting into my room. I thought electricity had been restored so I opened my curtains to confirm it was electricity from my neighbor's house through the window only for me to see that it was the moon shinning so bright into my room. I wondered why it was that bright as I stared at it for some seconds then later went back to sleep. I never thought it could have been a super blue moon

Yeah, i got up in the middle of the night and thought someone was shining a huge flood light in my room lol..

Great shots my friend. Here on the MS Gulf Coast we got to see it almost to the point of the full eclipse but missed the blood moon. Thanks for giving me a look.

You are very welcome my friend. That's too bad you didn't get to see it turn red, it was a really cool to see in real life. Unfortunately these photos don't really do it justice. They work in a pinch, but I definitely have to work on my photography skills!

Thank you brother. I like this one a lot. Once in a blue moon I meet a friend like you. Your ranted motivated me to record and it worked out that a good song was playing on the radio that fit well. I have no excuse but responsibility to use everything I have to make something good. "The best things in life are free."

NICE.. Glad the motivation worked for you, thats awesome! ;) Sometimes the hardest part is just starting..

we don't have to be great to start, but we have to start to be great!

Hahaha. That post also had a great pay off and would never happen without your push.

dope pics, when you enjoy something you'll learn more every day!
For where I was, the full eclipse occurred about 20 mins after it fell past the horizon D:

Thats awesome you got to see it too. Im realizing not too many people watched it!?! I think that's crazy, this was definitely worth getting up to see!..

Good one! Nice work capturing the moon magic. This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag ocd-resteem. Three posts using this tag will be chosen each day by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

@Ocd now has a witness, please vote for @ocd-witness to help support other undervalued authors!

Thank you so much :) and yes that would be awesome to be featured in ocd!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80