Look what I found

in #nature7 years ago

I was walking around the yard today and ran into this little guy! I honestly don't know exactly what type of lizard this is, but he is pretty little and very fast. LoL

I didn't think it was quite warm enough to start seeing geckos come out, but what do I know? I am just visiting here in Arizona and this is the first time I had an extended stay, so most of these things are new to me. I have seen these guys around before when I was much younger. I remember watching them do exercises that look like pushups! LOL. Seriously. They would be chilling on my aunts brick fence in the mornings and as they scurried around they would stop and do a few push ups and then hang out for a while, it was the funniest thing. Ohhh childhood memories :)

Look at him here, just chillin, soaken up the sun like a boss! Ha. These little guys blend in to the stone surroundings well, you really have to look for them or you will completely miss them when you walk by. I used my crappy galaxy s5 phone to take these pictures that's why they aren't that great. They would have been better if I had my Nikon camera but every time I leave to go get it they are gone by the time I get back. I will keep my eyes peeled and get some better shots.

Anyhow, I got lots of things to do to get ready for costa rica so I appologize for the post not being one of my better ones. Things are just getting so hectic now that we are only 18 days away!!!!!!!! Wish us luck..

"Peace, love and all that hippie shit"

Sort:  

fun pics this is so cool, i love nature! i had a salamander by my foot the other day, caught me off guard as that hasn't happened before lol. maybe the monsoon rains here brings them out. would love to see the lizard push-ups hahaha.
omg costa rica is going to be amazing!! look forward to your pics from there. wishing you happy adventures :)

oh hey @spicedragon!!! haven't seen you around in a while, glad you didn't give up on steemit. ;)
I will try to video tape the pushups if I see them doing it I will try to get it video!

Thanks for the best wishes.. ;)

The freeze here in Texas wiped out a bunch of them, and I suspect one was the cause of our Fair Weather Internet Service met it's demise as well because since the freeze our internet has been working well into the low 30's when it use to cut out at 48 degrees.
I kept telling AT&T that there had to be something living in their box out by the road but they said they could never find anything. Well duh, they always came out after the temps were back up in the 60's.
Cool picks, and trust me 48 is about those little critters temp threshold for being outside.

oh man, thats crazy! We have been having some cold nights here too! Not many of them but definitely some high 30s at night so I wonder if that is why I haven't seen more of these? We have been having gorgeous days, mid 70s and sunny with no clouds lately, maybe thats why they are coming out early than they are suppose to? who knows, i just hope they don't die from a hard freeze like they did by you!

Man we get Geckos all over our house. So cool to live with them and we co-exist so well.

I'm gonna reply to your Discord to, just super crazy right now :)

no worries bro, my life has been super crazy too.. im sure it will be for the next 18 days while we finish getting ready to move.. so no rush at all ;)

"a lizard can be caught with the hand, yet it is found in kings' palaces."
Proverbs 30:28

That is a great close shot of the Geko. Maybe in Costa Rica you will see a lot more lizards.

Blessings to you

And so much thanks that the content box has no room to fit it.


image.png

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

Hello, you received an upvote from @steemdunk thanks to @moderndayhippie! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone. Need an instant boost? Send 0.200 SBD with your full post url as the memo to @steemdunk for an upvote. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.35$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55