LordNigels Travels - Lake Titicaca - Peru

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Hi Everyone,

It's been an age since I have done a Lordnigel's Travels so I thought... why not :). 

So the other night I had a dream about my trip to Peru and it reminded me of Lake Titicaca - so I dug around and found some photos and thought -why not share on Steemit.

Lake Titicaca is the largest lake in South America, it's located on top the Andes - this place is really high above sea level. Often referred to as the  "highest navigable lake" in the world it has a surface elevation of 3,812 metres (12,507 ft) 

Surrounding the lake is a mixture of modern houses and not so modern villages. As per usual I can't help but connect with some of the locals to find out whats going down. 

Look at this hand woven stuff, how many hours must they spend doing this? how amazing!!

The babies go everywhere with the women of the village, if its out selling wares or working the fields all day long, the babies go as well - this is the way in this part of the world.

Sometimes the language barrier is a bit of an issue with some of my trips, but the universal communication of dance seems to work where ever I go. In this case I have no idea why we were suddenly dancing? but hey what a fun way to say hello...

The lake itself is very beautiful, but talking to some of the local guides there is a tough price to pay for living at this altitude for extended periods;namely most people die of heart attacks by the time they are approx 40-50 years of age...they don't print this on the tourist brochure!.

Anyways back to the lake, it's really, really big and as such not something to take an easy picture of so I struggled to find any good ones..Still, here are a few shots to give people a feel (take note of the reeds).

Whats most interesting about Lake Titicaca is the floating village made nearly completely out of the Lake reeds. Yep!, the people live on a ''people made'' floating island made of reeds that sits in the middle of the lake...weird :)

To visit the island you take a boat out (also made of reeds) and are given quite the welcome. They only allow so many tourists a day as the island is constantly breaking down/eroding, the villagers are constantly pulling out more reeds and rebuilding the island, including their houses..Basically every day, part of the island dissipates.

They really are lovely people, they love to sing and dance and really make visitors feel extra welcome.

All the best - I hope you enjoyed the latest LordNigels Travels. If there is interest maybe I'll do some more.

Cheers and happy travels.

 Note: All photos are original and taken on my old Nikon camera. 

!steemitworldmap -15.752495 lat -69.581831 long LordNigels Travels Lake Titicaca d3scr

Sort:  

Loved reading this wonderful blog and viewing your awesome photos @lordnigel What a fascinating place and how colourful are those traditional costumes? I think it is real honour when people from very different backgrounds to our own show interest in us and are friendly and hospitable.

It must have been a very rewarding and memorable trip for you and I hope you will treat us to more of these superb blogs. (U & R )

Thankyou for the comment - what a fantastic planet we live on, there is just so much out there to be discovered and enjoyed. I've done a number of travel blogs in the past here on Steemit and I'll try to share more in the future - until then happy travels and best of Steeming to you :)

My pleasure @lordnigel and I couldn’t agree more. I’d love to do a lot more travelling but it is great to be able to go where it is just not possible to the four corners of the world via blogs like yours.

I will look out for more of your travel experiences. Thank you for your kind words and I wish you every success with Steemit and in life. 🌺

This is a beautiful travel story! It looks like you had a great time!! It's always interesting to see how other people in the world are living.

Even with language barriers a smile is enough to know your among the right kind of people. Thanks for your comment, and best of travels :)

That's so true! And hey you can always dance to communicate :D That was pretty cool too

That looks like a +5 purse of holding.
Not to mention the very vivid +3 hat of heating.

Love those travel shots!

haha the tourist behind me got all the negative items :)

Cheers

Awesome and amazing photography @lordnigel. All the pictures you clicked is so fabulous. I appreciate it. Your photography is amazing and very well written about it.

Thanks for sharing this post. 🤗💙

Thank you stardivine glad you enjoyed :)

Maybe you were getting married without realising it? XD Love the getup at the end XD

That reed island sounds insane :O

Hahaha yeah I'm a sucker!

The world is a fantastic place to explore, so many unusual things to discover...I feel very privileged to be able to travel.

I laughed a little at the end photo, but this was a great blog entry and it's always good to learn about other parts of the world and how other people live. I am glad you had a great time.

Thanks mate, catchya at the Steemit catch-up tomorrow night

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lordnigel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=lordnigels-travels-lake-titicaca-peru


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60728.87
ETH 2661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50