US Total Solar Eclipse on August 21, 2017

in #nature7 years ago

I just learned that this type of Solar Eclipse only comes around every 375 years, so it might be a good time to catch it.

Who knows what you might have going on in 375 years from now? So I thought I better just share this now with all my Steemit friends!

The cosmos waits for no man. The Solar Eclipse is set to happen in the US on August 21, 2017 and my home state of Illinois happens to be one of the best places to catch a glimpse this time around. Unless you are within the lines depicted below, you will only see a partial eclipse and you will need special glasses to protect your eyes.

Here is a link for more info.

http://www.eclipse2017.org/2017/path_through_the_US.htm

We plan to take the day off of work and purchase these glasses from Amazon to help the viewing.

Always be safe when looking directly into the sun and have fun folks!

Sort:  

NASA also launched a website with a section about safety.

Awesome, thanks for the link!

Hey @kidsysco, It is a very rare event to have it exclusive to the United States land mass. We will get a similar event in 2045 as well, but not US exclusive. I posted an article last week about it. https://steemit.com/solareclipse2017/@steempowerpics/did-you-know-a-total-solar-eclipse-is-coming-on-august-21-2017-usa-exclusive

Ahhhhh, I see, more good info here. I still have lots to learn here so I am open to reading more links like this. Thanks!

Guess I better start planning my trip to Portland...or mark my calendar for August 21, 2392

I made a 4000km round trip to the Australian desert back in 2002 to see 28 seconds of totality. You guys in the US, are in for a real treat with this one. =)

Yea, I can wait for this. It's my birthday!!

No WAY!!!! That is really cool actually.

THE COSMOS HAVE FINALLY ALIGNED ON MY DATE OF BIRTH!!!!!

MUUUUUUAH- HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!!!!

Cool and scary at the same time ~ I wonder if it'll trigger an earthquake as it passes over the New Madrid Fault Line...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64856.09
ETH 3426.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56