I found a giant millipede the other day.

in #nature5 years ago

millipede6.jpg


The American Giant Millipede isn't as big as the African Giant Millipede but they are still pretty big. I found this guy along the bike trail next to the creek here in town while going for a walk the other day. Amazing how I see most of my action along the bike trail HA HA.


millipede3.jpg

millipede4.jpg

millipede5.jpg

Letting it go back in the grass.
millipede2.jpg


Even more ironic! @papa-pepper found one of these guys recently too HA HA. Here's the PROOF!!!
https://steemit.com/animals/@papa-pepper/american-giant-millipede

He even made a sequel to his first millipede post HA HA.
https://steemit.com/animals/@papa-pepper/american-giant-millipede-the-wild-man-s-wild-friends-episode-75

I didn't make a video of my millipede but I probably should have. I lost count but this thing must have had over 100 legs. Seriously! It must have been maybe 2 inches long, maybe two and a half inches. It kind of tickles a bit when you let them crawl on you feeling all of their legs. It is amazing to watch all their legs move in a wave like fashion as they go. It is really cool to see.

Compared to the Giant African Millipede this millipede still isn't very big. Plus these millipedes don't squirt at you if they feel threatened. I remember seeing the Giant African Millipedes on sale at the pet store and they wouldn't let you hold them because they say they will spray you with some sort of ink as a defense mechanism.

All in all these millipedes are pretty cool. If you live in the Ozarks you might have seen one.

Thanks for looking!


As always I'm Theo aka Rainbow Man and here is the PROOF!!!
millipede.jpg
PROOF of the American Giant Millipede

Stay Un-Tune-Ed...



Join the TRUTH Party, The Radical Underground Tyrant Haters Party!!!
Comedy through activism, activism through comedy.
Keep your democracy off of my Sovereignty!

Welcome to the NEW West!!!
Rainbow Man meme6.jpg

Sort:  

I found three that size in Hot Springs recently. The 3.5 - 4 incher I just got is the biggest I've seen since I lived in New Orleans. Crazy cool creatures!

It looked like your millipede was bigger. I don't often see the giant millipedes but I'm glad I found this one. It is the first one I've found this year.

I'd stay away from that bike trail lol.. at least it better than a snake tho.. I was gonna say @papa-pepper posted one too.. but then I saw you mention him

It kind of is a snake though only with a ton of legs HA HA. Don't you remember the tiny ring snake I caught?

Yes.. that was by the bike trail too..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72