Daily Nature Fix: An Emerald Pool Memorialized. (Original Photos & Art)

in #nature8 years ago

   Hello fellow nature lovers.  Today's Daily Nature Fix is yet another hybrid post that includes a bit of the art world.  Like a few that I have made in the past, this one includes an oil painting of the day's subject; and today's subject is Emerald Spring in Yellowstone.  This 30 foot deep pool has a special characteristic to it.  See, truly clear water, when in large amounts, will absorb all colors of sunlight except one, blue, which bounces off and is picked up by our eyes.  Emerald Spring, however, is lined with a bunch of yellow sulfur deposits, so the color of the yellow mixes with the blue of the water and ends up giving off an awesome blue/green color.

   Photos, as with most things, don't do justice to the beauty of the spring.  The photo above is the one I used for my painting, which I'll post last (I want to separate the two as having them side-by-side would really make my painting look bad. lol).  Gorgeous though, isn't it?  A lot of the time, it's hiding under a pretty thick cloak of steam.  Speaking of steam:

    Here is a view of the spring as you approach it.  Some hot springs in the park are hotter and create a lot more steam than others... this one was pretty high on that list.  You can tell that something pretty active was just ahead, but I certainly didn't expect it to be as beautiful as it was.  Yellowstone has so many amazing features that it's ridiculous, but I would say Emerald Spring is definitely in my top 10 favorites... maybe even top 5.

   Almost 30 feet deep and you could see the bottom pretty easily, if it weren't for the bubbles and steam.  Thank goodness for both of those factors too; the waters look so clear and inviting, but a dip in here would find you boiled alive in the 182°F water!  

    Lastly, I have my painting.  Again, it's referencing the first photo, above.  This was actually the 4th painting I ever did, I think.  I'm not crazy about sharing my earliest paintings as I feel I've gotten a lot better... but what the hell!? Here it is, "Emerald Spring" 8in x 10in oil on canvas:

   Thanks for viewing, folks!  If you liked the nature/art combo, check out some of my other DNF posts that include painted renditions:

Daily Nature Fix: A Scenic View Memorialized. (Original Photo & Artwork)

Daily Nature Fix: A Scenic Hike Memorialized. (Original Photos & Art)

Daily Nature Fix: "Not All Beautiful Places Are Warm." (Original Photos & Art)

    Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss one!  See you tomorrow.  - Adam

***Daily Nature Fix is a daily blog showcasing the natural world.  It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels.***


Sort:  

It was the most beautiful hot spring I've ever seen. Enjoyed. See you.

I think your painting is really good! You captured the colours and feel of the spring. I get what you mean about photos not doing justice to actually being there in person. I say that all the time too. Those hot springs are so dangerous!!! Be careful!!

Thanks @countrygirl! I wish there were some springs that were cool enough to swim in.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.20 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 21 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Oh my, that is a good painting! You did a great job. And you are right -- those springs look so inviting. But 182 degrees...no, thanks.

Thank you! I know I'm not the greatest painter ever, but I sure have fun doing it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64105.03
ETH 2757.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66