Daily Nature Fix: A Scenic View Memorialized. (Original Photo & Artwork)

in #nature8 years ago

Hello again Steemit world.  Today's daily nature tidbit is another hybrid that includes some art.  In a previous DNF post (A Scenic Hike Memorialized), I mentioned how I started oil painting a few months ago.  I kinda picked it up out of the blue, but I've been enjoying it and I've found it really fun to do during the winter months when the weather is too harsh to go on adventures.  

     Aaaaaaanyway, here is a scene we stumbled upon while exiting Yellowstone via the west entrance.  It was nearing the end of the day and we were riding along the Madison River.  We came around the bend and were welcomed by a super picturesque sight, so we pulled over and snapped a few photos.  Here is the one I used as a reference:


     Now when I decided to paint this scene, I didn't account for all of the challenges I was about to create for myself.  The main ones being the light reflections on the water and the sun rays/solar flare.  I grabbed a 12in x 16in stretched canvas, globbed some paint onto my palette, and dove in.  I present to you "Madison River", an Adam Morris original!:

   I know it could use some improvements in a few places, but I'm pretty happy with it in the end.  That is especially true being that I had no idea how to approach the water and sun issue.  Anyway, I hope you enjoy it!  Also, it is available for sale on my etsy shop HERE. Take a moment and check out some of my other oil paintings while you're there! Most of them are landscapes and other nature themes.  

      Thanks for reading and looking at my art! I'll see you tomorrow.  - Adam

***Daily Nature Fix is a daily blog showcasing the natural world.  It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels.***

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Very good!

Nice. Also, I've found that floating translucent glazes over wet paint can be helpful to add sun/light effects in paintings where realism is the goal. 'Galkyd' or 'Galkyd Lite' are easy-to-work-with mediums for doing this.

Haven't seen this one @customnature! Nice work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64078.16
ETH 3471.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52