Daily Nature Fix: "Not All Beautiful Places Are Warm." (Original Photos & Art)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature8 years ago (edited)

   Hello nature buffs and super valued followers.  Tonight's Daily Nature Fix is a small collection of photos from cold places that we've been.  I'm even throwing in an oil painting of mine that fits into the "cold" theme.  As we creep into November, we're starting to feel that chilling bite to the air that the northeast is known for.  It seems only fitting to have a DNF post with a chill to it.

^^^^ This first one was taken in western Iceland, just outside the town of Hofn.  This trip was taken this past February and was an awesome opportunity to see what winter in this country had to offer.  Like many people, Kylene and I LOVE abandoned structures.  There's such awesome, yet creepy, beauty to them and to the way nature reclaims manmade structures.  These ruins were right off of the main highway in the middle of someone's farmland.  

^^^^This photo was taken from the stern of our ship as we sailed down Glacier Bay, Alaska.  We were on our way to see some truly iconic glaciers, like the Grand Pacific Glacier, but I couldn't help how awesome the scene was to the rear of the ship.  The blue icebergs and gray overcast gave a really somber feeling to the photos.  

^^^^Iceberg Lake in Glacier National Park.  This photo was taken last September and winter was already under way in the park.  The lake was at the apex of a 10 mile hike, but Kylene and I both agree that it was the best hike of our lives so far.  An iceberg filled lake sat at the base of a massive stone coliseum.  When you held still, you could hear rocks echoing all around you as they fell and tumbled down the massive surrounding ledges.  

^^^^Lastly is my 16-inch x 20-inch oil painting I titled "Ice Cold Revival".   It was one of my first black and white paintings and was originally going to be a dilapidated church in the middle of the woods.  About half way through, I got the vision of it being a winter scape and I never looked back.  I really liked the vibe of the painting; it made me want to see something like it in real life!

       I hope you enjoyed these frigid photos.  I love the tropics as much as the next person, but there's some real beauty lurking out there in the cold.  As my fiancé, Kylene, tells her coworker when they ask things like "Why would you want to go to Iceland?".......  Because not all beautiful places are warm.

    Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss one!  See you tomorrow.  - Adam

***Daily Nature Fix is a daily blog showcasing the natural world.  It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels.***

Sort:  

Hello @customnature,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that this post have been upvoted by Project Better.

The Mission of Project Better is to reward posts have many votes from Minnows but earn pennies.
Your payout is $0.025 before we vote on your post.

Learn more about the Project Better here! ,
Want to donate your voting power to support Project Better and earn curation rewards? Click Here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!

~BETTER~

Amazing painting. Is it big?

OH! I should add that. Thank you. It was 16in x 20in.

Those are great photos. I agree that winter is beautiful. I love cold, gray days in winter, just walking through the woods. Winter is so peaceful, especially with a fresh coat of snow.

Plus I love abandoned structures, too. Especially houses. To me they are sad because I envision when they were warm and full of family, with the smell of food in the kitchen. I always wish I could turn abandoned homes around and restore them so that they can be lived in again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62134.47
ETH 2417.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54