🐢 Slow and Steady Wins the Race 🐢

in #nature5 years ago

20191227_180526.jpg

Yesterday I went on an adventure through the woods. At the start of my journey, I set an intention out loud that "I wanna find a turtle shell!" I walked for several hours and encountered many animals along the way. An armadillo here. A great blue heron there. The decomposers were hard at work, turning nutrients into fruiting bodies. I encountered an abundance of turkey tail as well as reishi.

20191226_170809.jpg

At one point, after parting ways with the heron, I caught a glimpse of a yellow road sign off of the main path. I decided to go and check it out. Once I got closer I saw that it was actually a sign with a turtle on it. The sun was just beginning to set as I made my way around the pond and back into the thicket. Just before it got dark, my eyes passed over something that stuck out to me. I did a double take and low and behold I found the very turtle shell I had set out to obtain! It was the tiniest, cutest (empty) shell I have ever seen. I was overcome with joy and a deep sense of appreciation. Part of me was in awe while the other part of me cracked a grin expectantly. After all, it was only a few months ago I was inspired to create a rattle for ritual use with my alter. Two seasons and many moons later, the project evetually came into existence.

20191226_173542.jpg
20191226_173602.jpg

I now intend, at long last, to create the rattle that I've been desiring for ceremonial use. For the next part of this design, I will need to aquire something to used as a handle. Perhaps I shall use cedar, willow, holly, chestnut, or ash for the handle and follow the traditional Cherokee recommendations for wood. Or maybe I will use bone, antler or hoof as was frequently used by some natives. Either way I am sure that I will be divinely guided towards my next step. The universe works in mysterious way...

🙏🐢🐢🐢🐢🐢🐢🐢🙏

Sort:  

You are welcome! Look forward to reading your blog. :)

I can't wait to see the finished product!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63122.96
ETH 2686.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57