Planting Seeds In The Soul. Response To @naturalmedicine Resolution Challenge

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2654.jpg

You are what your deepest desire is. As is your desire, so is your intention. As is your intention, so is your will. As is your will, so is your deed. As is your deed, so is your destiny.” ~ Upanishads

When it comes to natural medicine and our well being, it often begins by looking inward.

Normally I would write about herbs, forest walks or something more along those lines but today I've got something a little different in mind.

Sometimes herbs and remedies only alleviate symptoms making it easier for us to push forward without doing the hard work of digging deep into the root of what ails us. Herbs are essential allies, but sometimes, we are the only ones that can indeed fix the problem.

This is my response to the Natural Medicine New Year Healing Resolution challenge.

I began 2019 with vigor and enthusiasm, setting a whole pile of resolutions: I would do better at keeping the house organized, I would get my business going, I would develop more products, grow more food, get in better shape, start playing the banjo, learn this, and that and this ...and the list just carries on for miles. At first glance, it seems like all this planning and organization of tasks should bring calm, but it's been the opposite. Honestly, I started the year in a frantic flurry of trying to do too much at once.

My body responded to this ill-treatment, sending signals and warnings that I ignored for a while. The result was that I stopped being able to sleep. I've been waking up in the middle of the night, tossing, turning and feeling anxious for the better part of January. I've been getting horrible heart flutters that I often get when nervous and unsettled. I am tired. I haven't even been able to write because I am to darn tired. I recognize that this lousy state that I am in is of my own doing.

While trying to get a grip on what's going on, I've come to realize that I have been fixating on the outcomes rather than the essential part: the journey. I should be focusing on the process that will help me bring these goals to fruition. Also, by continually telling myself that I "want,” “need,” "must" I've been hard on myself and self-sabotaging myself at every turn.

You-carry-so-much-love-in-your-heart.-Give-some-to-yourself._01.jpg

While trying to sort this sleep issue out, I came upon something called Sankalpa. I imagine for many this is a familiar term, but to me, it is all new and has brought me great clarity.

Sankalpa (Sanskrit) an intention formed by the heart and mind. According to Yogapedia: Unlike a goal, which is a personal need to accomplish something, the concept of Sankalpa turns inward to connect with the heart's highest intention. A Sankalpa is a positive declaration or affirmation, such as “peace is my true nature,” rather than the ego-driven “I want peace in my life.”

According to this article, to develop Sankalpa, you must define your deeper purpose and create the steps to get there.

They list five steps in the process.

Clear - Find a quiet place to reflect on your desires. With pen and paper, write out all that your heart deeply desires, your feelings and vision.

Listen - Once you have written down all that you desire, set aside a quiet time of stillness and reflection hold space for your higher truth to arise naturally. Ask yourself, “What is the essence of what I deeply desire? “

Define - ask yourself what is the deeper feeling beyond the goal – is it feeling vibrant and healthy, is it self-love? Can you distill it down to one or two powerful words?

State - Once you’ve found those powerful words, turn them into a positive affirmation, an “I AM” statement. By stating your intention in the present tense, you are acknowledging that what you seek is already within you.

Repeat.

I am a beginner and only just learning this new practice.

I'll be starting over and wiping away the lists, the resolutions and the worries and demands that I have created. I am going to trust in ancient practice, focusing on my Sankalpa, gently allowing my subconscious to plant that seed in my soul.

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

I've also experienced the whole fluttering heart, not sleeping thing. In addition, I've had this weird itching, all body that comes and goes, no rash. Turns out it is histamine intolerance: vinegar, fermented foods, aged meat, aged cheese, molds, mildew, etc. I can have some, but when my "bucket" of tolerance is full, all the above start at night usually, but not exclusively. Just mentioning...

I was once told that New Year's resolutions should NEVER be more than 3 things. Not if you want to actually do them.

I don't do resolutions, too stressful. I have things I want to do, I am mindful of them, but given the load we carry, I don't put undue weight on getting them done, especially not in a timely manner. They will get done, things always do, but in our own time as we can.

This year we are having to addition shells put on the house. This will mean moving a LOT of gardens. I had already decided I couldn't do veg gardening and this too. (Have to research local CSAs for food this year.) I need to be able to work inside the shells finishing them and can't be tending gardens too.

We are also not having cows this year, but hope to have pigs. We will have chickens. So I expect I will be here even less than ever.

I'd cut the list down to 3 important things...

It sounds like you have a busy year planned! Change can be nice even if just for one season. it is so great that you know when to set limitation - I am still learning that. I don't seem to have a stop or pause button when it comes to creating work. I've missed chatting with you! I've not been able to get on steemit as much as I used to and I sure miss it.

only 3 things? haha - that is totally impossible. :) I really am hopeless!

I'd noticed a lot of the ones I follow weren't posting as much. I have many end of year/beginning of year projects I'm trying to finish, so just no time/energy for writing posts. I have a HUGE backlog of photos, if I can get back to it. My sister is missing the daily updates...

I miss your updates too @goldenoakfarms (and you). I think we are all in the same boat with too much work and trying to find balance. Best of luck with all your projects!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I am tired. I haven't even been able to write because I am just to darn tired. I recognize that this lousy state that I am in is of my own doing.

I feel you. Did we burn ourselves out in the first two weeks of the year?! Yeesh.

I love this. It's inspiring. Thanks :)

agh, I am so sorry you are feeling burnout - that isn't what this is (more stress overload) but I do know burnout well and completely empathize with you. I hope you are not sustaining whatever has you burning the candle on both ends for too long? Take care of yourself!

Sankalpa sounds very intriguing...i think we do this but incompletely where it's probably the reason why our desires don't come to fruition and we give up. Thanks girl!
Take it easy as we can only do what we can...and if not, there's always tomorrow. We don't neglect everyone else, only our selves😗😙😚

It is very intriguing. I've been reading about Sankalpa for a few days while trying to get the hang of making it a daily practice. I am finding it hard to focus but getting better at it. Thank you! I appreciate the encouragement and agree, we do tend to care for everyone else and forget to focus on ourselves.

When at it, will need to write the sequence to remind myself till i've put it to heart. Helps in staying focused as too much is chaotic☺
cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

Every time we use a plant for medicine, we are connecting with something grander than ourselves

Posted using Partiko Android

Very true! Thanks for the comment.

Congratulations @walkerland! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 11000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Yup, it always starts with looking inward :) Keep on focusing on the journey and keep on enjoying it the best you can! 💚

Thanks for the encouragement and for stopping by @zen-art!

yes this is so important taking the time to really look inside and see what you need and put that intention out into the world, I have ever heard of the term Sankalpa either, but I do understand the importance of it. I also started the year in a bit of a flurry, thinking of all I need to achieve, but yes we need to step back and breathe. Much love xxx

Great response @walkerland!

It’s funny, in my post I talk about intentions over resolutions.... I have never succeeded at resolutions, too committal, I much prefer intentions.

Wishing you all the best in the New Year!

All the best to you as well @thistle-rock. Intentions are certainly more gentle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58836.39
ETH 2494.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44