The Beautiful Majestic Oak Tree

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)


Today I began to harvest the almonds from the tree's on the land that I live on. I have always written before that it is the land that I am currently living on as I have wanted to get back on the road with my family and return to our nomadic ways. But life changes and that idea is going to have to be shelved for a wee while. So today I write, the land I live on. I am so lucky with the amount of trees that bare fruit and nuts on this land. Right now it is all about the almonds, the figs and the grapes. I can walk around the land and happily eat from the trees and the vines and so can my 3 girls, oh these gifts that have been bestowed upon us.

Soon we will have the pomegranates, oh happy days, I love pomegranates. Everyday I walk around the land and watch for the changes of colour in their skin, I look to see if any have split open, not yet, but soon. One of these days I will do a tour of the land, I first have to get a camera, but hopefully that will happen soon.

But today I wish to talk about the Beautiful Majestic Oak Tree. There are none around me, but further up the mountains you can find Oak Trees that are quiet small in size , and they have these amazing leaves that feel like velvet. But it is the ones in Ireland that I wish to talk about. Where they are so grand and huge, so very old and sacred. Oak trees can live for 1,000 years and they are known as being the King of the forest. I am not a fan of royalty but on this occasion it is quiet fitting, we really should only accept royalty within the plant kingdom.


The Oak Tree is the 7th Tree of the Celtic Tree Ogham, I have talked about the Ogham before inthis post .The Oak, represents Courage and Inner Strength. Today I really felt the need to sit with an Oak Tree. This is the tree to sit with when you face difficulties in your life and when you need to sort out some complicated problems, that may have arisen. This tree represents the doorway into your inner self, into your inner spirituality and when you access that you are accessing the power of love that you hold within. I really feel like I need to be doing that right now. Giving myself the time to sit and look within, to find the calm that is felt amongst the Oak Tree, the calm to meditate and tap into my inner strength to help me move forward.

WE are all beings of love, but sometimes that love can be bruised or tampered with and we need to find the way back to ourselves. We need to remember that It is the love we feel for ourselves that empowers us and not the love of others.

So today I have no Oak to sit with, but I call on the spirit of the Oak Tree to come and sit with me. To give me the strength to find my way and take the path I need to in order to support myself and my girls. To create new visions and put my intentions out into the world. In times of stress, our faith in our abilities can become weakened so finding the time to go in wards and restore that faith is so important.


oak.png


Herbal and Edible Uses of The Mighty Oak

As well as having the above amazing healing properties, the tree also provides us with natural remedies for a variety of aliments. The bark, the leaves and the flower are all medicinal. The acorns have been used in the past to make flour, some still do roast them and grind them down, but it is not as popular. You can also use the acorns to make coffee,you need to roast the peeled kernels in a pan until golden and then you grind them and roast them again.

Bark

If you wish to use the Bark of the Oak tree, please take small patches in April and May and allow them to dry in brown paper bags. As the bark is tough you need to make a decoction..This is done by crushing or choping the bark, I prefer crushing as I do not like using metal, use about 15-25g of the bark to one pint of water or 570ml. Place in a saucepan, (no aluminium) and bring to the boil, then cover and allow to simmer for 10 to 15 minutes.
The decoction when drunk, is really good for toning the mucous membranes and will help with sinus problems and congestion.
It also tones the pelvic and abdominal muscles, as the tree of strength and courage this makes sense as this is where our core is.
You can use the same decoction externally as a gargle for bleeding gums, mouth ulcers, tonsillitis and laryngitis.

Leaves

Bruise the leaves and use directly to help stop bleeding, use also to help heal wounds and inflammations. I really do love how the leaves of so many trees are so beneficial and that nature is the best first aid kit once you know the trees and plants and their many valuable qualities.
Oak leaf tea is also a great antidote to the effects of alcohol and helps to control alcohol craving!

Oak Flower Remedy

For those who are struggling and fighting strongly to get well, or in connection with the affairs of their daily life. They will go on trying one thing after another, though their case may seem hopeless. They will fight on. They are discontented with themselves if illness interferes with their duties or helping others. They are brave people, fighting against great difficulties, without loss of hope or effort.
https://www.bachcentre.com/centre/38/oak.htm

The flower remedy really helps to ease the pressure that those who are struggling are feeling, it helps to bring relaxation and inner strength. Helping to find that inner calm that is needed in order to start a new.

If you are lucky enough to live close to some Oak trees, take the time to sit with them. Allow yourself to feel the peace and calmness that flows out from them and gently washes over you, inviting you to go within and access your inner power.



8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp

DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

Leaves of oak tree has really great property to stop bleeding. The 1000 year old oak trees are really useful.

wow... what a beautiful tree...

it is isn't it, thanks @tastetwist xx

What a beautiful post @trucklife-family (and you know how much I love trees :D ).. with sage information regarding the medicinal uses of the mighty oak. I've been thinking about putting a book together containing all these ancients wisdoms/medicines .. I just need to find the time :) .. Hope you're well and have managed to enjoy a good weekend, soaking up the last rays of summer :)

thank you @perceptualflaws, I do miss the forests in Ireland, it is so different over here in Spain. That would be a great book, I am a huge Glennie Kindred fan xx
I am doing okay, been quiet hot the last few days, still got a bit of heat yet over this way, hope you had a great weekend xx

Oh the oak!! We have two in our garden and theres a few down on the river. They certainly are kings of the forest. What abundance yiu are living in.. pomegranates!!! Yum..i just read a post where a guy used an old Russian book to make acorn coffee. We use the leaves of oak to soothe tired feet.

you are so lucky to have 2 in your garden i really miss them right nowxxx

Woo! Love your post - we've given you a wee upvote and hope it helps you continue to write such amazing posts. Thanks for using the natural medicine tag so we can more easily find you.

If you're a supporter of all things natural healing, and haven't already got on board our collective, you might like to read our introductory post here. We'd also love to welcome you on Discord here!! Delegations appreciated in order to support our growing collective - to do so click here.

We've also resteemed you and will put you in today's curation post - a lovely celebration of the majestic and powerful Oak!

wow, that tree is simply incredible!

it is isn't it xxx

wow! what an amazing tree! and thank you for sharing the healing properties of oak! upvoted and resteemed!

you are very welcome, thanks @in2itiveart x

Congratulations @trucklife-family! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Amazing @trucklife-family! I love oak trees! They sure are so majestic. I am enjoying watching the acorns get fatter every day on the white oaks here on this land. Thanks for sharing some medicinal qualities - I learned a lot from you. One other use of the bark is the infusion is a powerful antifungal.

thank you @sagescrub, thanks for giving me more knowledge about the oak tree, that is great to know. Hope you are well xx

The first time I heard the name of this tree was in the Runescape game and it is the first time I see it by photo. This one in particular has a beautiful design with its branches. Very beautiful your Oak tree @trucklife-family

it is a stunning photo indeed and really captures how majestic they are, thanks @isabelpena for dropping by xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83