Learn With Me: Rosemary Magic for Everyone...

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)

One of my favorite indoor plants!

Rosemary is one of my favorite plants. I love the smell, the way it looks and the way it tastes! I've seen this plant to be very robust too, left out all winter and springing back up once the frost has left.

We haven't had a nice big rosemary plant in a while, I may have forgotten about them for a while but here it comes again! My wife put a couple of clippings in a little cup of water and after a couple weeks, roots started showing up. It really surprises me, because rosemary has such a tough stem like a little pine tree, I never thought it would grow like that in water! I am happy to have learned something new about a plant.

Want to know some of it's benefits (from Medical News Today)?

  • Antioxidants with anti-inflammatory compounds
  • Improving digestion
  • Enhancing memory and concentration. According to research outlined in Therapeutic Advances in Psychopharmacology, the aroma from rosemary can improve a person's concentration, performance, speed, and accuracy and, to a lesser extent, their mood.
  • Neurological protection through carnosic acid, which can fight off damage by free radicals in the brain.
  • Protection against macular degeneration, A study published in the journal Investigative Ophthalmology & Visual Science, revealed that a carnosic acid, can significantly promote eye health.
  • Prevent brain aging but more studies are needed
  • Cancer

On the side effects, it is said that if taken in extremely large quantities, Rosemary can induce vomiting, coma, spasms and pulmonary edema (fluid in the lungs). But how much is too much?

Well that's all for now... See you next time


Learn Something Everyday!


AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR STOPPING BY, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

The @EcoTrain has made me very happy and proud to be a part of it, have a look at what other passengers have been writing

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH: @HimalayanNomad
Spread your wings and fly to where your heart takes you.

(If you want a quote of yours posted here for a month, there will be another contest)

Join Us On Discord

And don't forget… #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort:  

Love me some rosemary. And it's so hardy! My wife and I discussed a few ornamental options to go along our sidewalk - boxwood, juniper, and rosemary. It was a no brainer and now we're inundated with rosemary. Haha!

Awesome, there are a few places in the world I've been where rosemary grows everywhere. It is so pleasant to have around!

Nice idea

It looks nice, smells good and is useful in so many ways.

I really love the smell of rosemary 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I really love the smell of rosemary 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I really love the smell of rosemary 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I really love the smell of rosemary 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

My friend just gave me a cutting, just today, then I read this post. How funny.
I'm starting to grow some things indoors and hopefully making my brown thumb a little greener. Excited about my new rosemary plant! Nice post btw!

Xx ToL

Haha that's funny. There's been a lot of synchronicity these last cpuple days... the day after the #freedomfriday for survival natural medicine I was listening to a survival/prepper podcast and he was talking about a few plants just for that.

This morning on my way to work, the same podcast was talking about tiny house kits vs transforming a shed into a home, last night I wrote a post asking for help on that same basic issue!!!

Weird..

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahh sweet haha synchronicity thrills me to no end!
Did you read that ginger post from a few days ago? Looks like another great medicine to grow indoors. Here's the link if you missed it, I know its on my list to start this winter!
https://steemit.com/farms/@maribelquere97/how-to-cultivate-gingering-at-home-and-have-a-medicinal-superaliment

No but I'll check it out now, thanks. I loke ginger too... that's what I forgot to put in my sore throat potion just now.

Thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

I love rosemary too. I haven't grown any but my neighbor gave me a BUNCH earlier this summer. Guess I should have used some as starter

There's always next time!

Posted using Partiko Android

Rosemary the best. I love it on roast potatoes. It's actually really nice in a tomato stew too which did not become to me until I went to Italy and had it there. It's also very good in a bath. I have a huge Rosemary bush and it was one of the first things we planted. It is now in a hedge with two native Rosemary which look similar and attract bees but I wouldn't eat it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh cool, I never thought of it in a bath! You won't eat the native rosemary or the big bush that you planted?

Why won't you eat it?

Posted using Partiko Android

I brought in 2 plants from the New Herb garden in October and they are still alive. Sometimes I can keep them alive and sometimes I kill them pretty quickly...

You can keep them alive this year! You can do it.

Posted using Partiko Android

They've been in front of the living room door since being brought in. But on Friday I have to find 2 new places, as that's where the Christmas tree will go. So we will see...

Oh my god... Christmas is right around the corner!

Unlike most people, I really love Christmas time. I love the music, the lights, and the calm and peace of the season. I put a lot of effort into maintaining that peace and calm.

The rest of the family, not so much. That's why I must wait until the day after Thanksgiving and on Jan. 1, I must put it all away. This year I get an extra week! Thanksgiving was early!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94