It's All Pink, Baby: Rhubarb, Rhubarb, Rhubarb - and Beetroot Powder

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)

20180808_100348.jpg

We are SO sick of winter drab here in Victoria, Australia. Bring on the spring colours! Yet, we can still use our winter produce to do that - hence, stewed rhubarb on EVERYTHING! We've got so much of it coming out of the garden that I'm just chopping it up and putting it in bags in the freezer and stewing tons to put on porridge and to eat with coconut yoghurt. How pretty does this look with a beetroot latte? Yep, you read right! Giving up coffee has made me get a little experimental with my drinks. Around here you can order all sorts of lattes from many cafes - green matcha ones, yellow turmeric ones, chai ones - and yep, pink as hell beetroot ones.

image.png

It's high fibre content makes it a good constipation aid. It contains a pigment called parietin, a known cancer fighter. It's also full of calcium (9 percent of the daily amount) so great for vegans. It's high in Vitamin K for good bones, Vitamin C (which is why it's a winter fave for us), iron and manganese. It's a good source of other compounds too like beta-carotene, lutein, and zeaxanthin. All of these things can benefit with alzheimers, circulation, and even (due to it's phytoestrogen content) reduce perimenopause symptoms by reducing the occurrences of hot flashes.

Gimme rhubarb pie, rhubarb compote, rhubarb cake, rhubarb stir fry! Yes - @walkerland did that very thing, and I'm going to try it!

image.png

Beetroot lattes simply involve beetroot powder and hot water and a milk of your choice. I think it needed a sprinkle of cinnamon too, but to be honest I'm not even sure I'll have another one as I wasn't a fan of the taste. I have had a really good turmeric, beetroot and cardomom blend before, but it wouldn't have been pink enough for the photo! However, beetroot powder is awesome to have in all sorts of things, including the smoothie recipe below.

Beetroot powder is full of antioxidants, fiber, iron, folate, manganese, calcium, and potassium. It's also rich in nitrate, and thus can improve blood flow and lower blood pressure.

image.png

  • 1/4 cup raw rhubarb or 1/4 cup of stewed rhubarb
  • 1 cup of coconut water
  • 6 strawberries
  • Half a handful of oats or cashews
  • A tbsp of beetroot powder

I used stewed rhubarb, which I'd made with a tangello and some maple syrup, as my blender just won't cut through raw rhubarb. It's the best smoothie I've made all year and just tasted like sunshine. In fact, I drank it in the sunshine - there was just enough light coming through the front windows this morning that made me feel like summer was just around the corner.

image.png

I swear all of this dreaming of Spring manifested white and pinkish blossoms of the apple tree in my garden. how thrilled I was to discover this! It's always the first to bloom, and the others are weeks behind yet but wow! So happy to see this sign winter is going to be over sooner than I think.


image.png

I'd love to know your rhubarb recipes - the revelation that it is for more than just pie has totally rocked my world!



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

My_Post_1.jpg

If you're a supporter of all things natural healing, you might like to read our introductory post here. We'd also love to welcome you on Discord here!!

1wEUFtd.jpg

image.png

riverflows2.png

image.png

Sort:  

Yum! That looks delicious any time of year! I haven't used a lot of rhubarb, but I definitely need to try to incorporate it more when it is in season here.

I have so much of it growing in the garden, but forget to use it! There's some good recipes out there so I have vowed to experiment more. This recipe was a revelation though!

Wow. Very testy looking. Thanks for share

Very nice tasty.thanks for this share.

I love rhubarb and beetroot, rhubarb crumble and stewed rhubarb, rhubarb jam yum yum yum.
Love beetroot juice with a little lemon or apple, love grated beetroot with carrot yum again, two of my favourites. Now I got to go make some food, you just made me hungry, thank you beautiful xx

Haha totally. Rhubarb with absolutely everything. I've eaten so much of it this week and given lots of way and put some in the freezer. It's such a good little crop.

Apart from being a healthy food item, I think the recipes are so yummy! And that smoothie <3 Looks yummy @riverflows.

Thank you. I think I have eaten stewed rhubarb every single day this week but I'm still not sick of it. Ask me next week though and it might be a different story haha

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46