Exploring Local Medicines: Tree Remedies, Australia

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)

We're a migrant culture, us Australians, as much as many loudly declare we were born here and could trace roots back to early settlers, it always was, and always has been, Aboriginal land. Despite this, we seem to cling to the familiar remedies of European homelands - German chamomile, the familiar stinging nettle of England, the elder tree copse in my garden. Like us, they've been here so long we can probably say they have their permanent visa - they're truly put roots down.


image.png

@naturalmedicine's challenge this week is asking us to write about 'local' medicines, whether this is something famously locally available, a more hidden plant, a ritual or a body work technique particular to our cultures. You can find the link to the challenge here - everyone is welcome to enter, and I do hope you find the time. Entries close on Sunday.

I've been thinking about that a lot lately and although I'm partly responsible for pitching this challenge, I have been puzzling about what I can write about, because if I'm to be truly local, I feel I have to explore bush medicines used by Aboriginal Australia for thousands of years. I'm guilty of knowing virtual nothing about it - we aren't taught about them unless we actively seek them out, and even the information on the internet is few and far between. Unlike the hundreds of books on European herb and plant lores and remedies, there's not much literature out there that explores the plants in this realm.

And then, looking out my back window, I realised that we've been using a local medicine forever - eucalyptus oil. We buy it in small glass jars at the supermarket and use it for cleaning surfaces (mix about twenty drops in a spray bottle with water and a generous splash of white vinegar and you have a good antiseptic kitchen spray) and for stings, cuts and scrapes. It is antiseptic, antifungal, antiviral, anti-inflammatory and antibacterial. It sits in the cupboard next to tea-tree oil, which has always been part of my first aid kit. Australians took it to the second world war with them, and had been singing it's praises since they learnt from the First Australians how good it was.


)

Thus, I decided I'd explore more about the local trees here and their value. I might not extract the oils myself, but at least I could learn a bit more about them. I've spent years planting them, willing them grow, watching them drop limbs to use for firewood, make structures from them, stand under their shade, watch the bees nuzzle into their flowers, and I've carted water to the young ones, collected the seeds to grow, gone to local plant sellers to find indigenous plants that grow well here. Such practices and such attention to land makes me love this country even more, ties me to the spirit of place so my heart settles and beats along with the extraordinary beauty around me. Finding more about their medicinal value feels like a job I should have done quite a while ago!

Sticky Hops: Dondonaea Viscosa

This is one we have in the corner of our garden. We'll always prefer more traditional European hops for beer making, but settlers DID use the red and papery seed capsules for making beer! It was used by Aborigines as a local anaesthetic for relieving tooth ache, and for binding on skin to treat stings after being boiled. Boiled root juice was also applied to sore ears.



Source

River Red Gum

Our area is famous for it's huge and magnificent red gums, some being over 200 years old and still bearing marks of Aboriginal use from smoking eels inside the trucks or for weopons. The kino resin from the trees is astringent, and a water mixture used for diarrohea. A leaf infusions was used in case of fever or colds - eucaplyptus oil of course is famous for this the world over. The bark is spectacular in rain and late Autumn light - they are gnarled and beautiful home for birds, make great fire wood and wood for furniture. I think they are the 'oak' of Australia in that way.

Red river gums are replaced
by plane trees from England
and still
the survivors
watch.

- Lisa Bellear

image.png
Source

Lemon Scented Gum

This one is gorgeous when you crush the leaves in your hand - it's decidedly lemony and we have 3 on our property for this reason. It's leaves contain a lemon-scented oil that is rich in citronella, which has certain specific antibacterial properties. The bark resin has citriodorol, an antibiotic. Like many of the gums, the oil is used industrially - however, like with any essential eucalyptus oils, you have to be careful of ingesting too much - it can kill you!

Blue Gum

When I was in England, I missed the scent of gums like crazy. I'll never forget walking through the mall once in Poole and finding a flower seller on the streets vending blue gum - I stood there smelling them and crying because it just reminded me of home. It was medicine for my soul to spend my last pennies on a bunch to bring home and fill my house with their scent. Crazy to think I had to pay for it when it's all over the place here. They're super tall and cultivated for it's oils that help clear nasal passages and treat aches and pains. I still love them as cut leaves, or we'll put them on the car dashboard on road trips.


The blue gums soar, naked
smooth, to where they over arch and,
lost in height, mingle in myriad tongues.
How have I got here? Why do I stand?
long looking, long desiring, a fallen
trunk, lichened, mossed, host to ochre
red fungi, falling into mould at my feet?

  • Roland Robinson

Acacia Victoracae

We have thousands of different wattles in Australia and the landscape is spotted yellow in Spring. They are gaining popularity as a food in gourmet cooking and have a lot of protein - they are used in biscuits and bread a lot. They contain avicins which inhibit inflammation and cancer, as some studies claim. It's ground into flour and has been used in a coffee like drink, beer making, sweets and marinades.

image.png
Source


The tree knows four truths –
earth, water, air and the fire of the sun.
The tree holds four truths in one.
Root, limb and leaf unfold
out of the seed and these rejoice
till the tree dreams it has a voice
to join four truths in one great world of gold.
from Judith Wright: The Wattle Tree

Sandpaper Ficus

I'm on the look out for this one - it's meant to grow locally but I'm not sure if I've spotted it yet. The edible fruit is sweet apparently. A poultice can be made from the bark for wounds.

Source

Round-leaf Mint Bush Prostanthera rotundifolia

J. loves the native mint bush for its splendid purple flowers - the whole bush is purple in the Spring! I made him plant it far away from the garden proper, as my colour scheme is more orange and yellow. Now I know it can be used to make a mint tea, which is carminative, I might like it a little more - it's flowers are quite pretty, I must admit!

In my research for this post, I discovered there's an exhibition on at the moment at Melbourne University, entitled: "The art of healing: Australian Indigenous bush medicine". It explores traditional Indigenous healing practice past, present and future - healing practices and bush medicine from Indigenous communities across Australia through contemporary art and objects. I'm really excited to head up there, so if you are a Melbournite, it could be worth a visit for you. Let me know if you do go.

A lot of Aboriginal communities are giving this knowledge of bush medicines to younger generations for healing on physical, mental and spiritual levels. Many are working with more mainstream medicinal paradigms to share what they know so the information is not lost. Cultural and social frameworks like this are so important to the well-being of these communities, maintaining intimate links to country. Even for me, a white Australian, discovering more about the native plants in my area and the medicinal benefits they can provide tie me even more to this beautiful land I live in. I truly believe we should always seek to expand our knowledge in this way as it's so important to have connections to where we live so we're more likely to fight for it, should we need to.



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

Sort:  

Good information, well written, and I liked reading about it. I enjoy all herbal information!!

:)

Thankyou!!! Maybe you can write one in response to this challenge too! I'd love to hear your response!

What challenge, haven't heard about it? I like the naturalmedicine tag, and have written for it before.

Here is one of the posts:
https://steemit.com/herbal/@smithlabs/making-comfrey-tincture-at-home-part-one-the-decoction-process

I did three posts on comfrey under the naturalmedicine tag. That is a group I really like, and I learn a lot from!

:)

Yes, we saw that! Awesome! Here's the challenge link here xx

Ouch, only one day left! I will see what I can do, ROFLOL! One day for this post is tight.

But thanks, I just missed it...

:)

Noooo..... It goes til weekend!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, that helps, LOL! I was rushing pretty badly! The post will be better that way.!

:D

We're all bloody boat people XD

I have a ficus in my yard that rains figs on everything regularly. It's not that type though and I don't know what if anything a human could use it for :D

Why isn't the indigenous knowledge more widespread? o_O

Another Australian thank god. Nice to see you Here @ryivhnn. Where do you live?

Posted using Partiko Android

Really cool you were able to find so many plants and the info for them. I remember seeing the blue gum in floral arrangements.

Good to know about the sticky hop pods. I was given yellow toothache plant this year and it works well on minor toothaches.

Oooh, a toothache plant? What is that?

Here's where I posted about it, in the 2nd row of the New Herb garden:

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@goldenoakfarm/the-new-herb-garden-row-by-row-row-2

Scroll about halfway down....

Oh awesome thank you

Posted using Partiko Android

There are so many beautiful trees in Australia, I have such amazing memories of being in the forests in south west Australia. Thank you for giving us this insight into the healing properties of some of them. You covered a lot in this post.
I will be doing mine on Sat, know exactly what it is and all. Much love beautiful xxx

Can't wait!!!

The SW WA karri forests are extraordinary!

Our own gums are growing really well here too - so many more trees than when we first arrived

I am always having to investigate if something is native or introduced, the early settlers sure change the natural landscape with all the seeds they brought. I absolutely adore how you put it ..

like us, they've been here so long we can probably say they have their permanent visa - they're truly put roots down.

I think I can say the same for Canada and the attitude towards indigenous people and nature.

I just love the diversity of your plants, and marvel at how I've never seen or touched any of them in life. I can imagine the scent of the gum trees from your descriptions alone. I just want to hang out at your place with a bouquet of blue gum and a goblet of wine! xx

or a goblet of blue gum and a bouqet of wine, depending on how big the glass is ;0P

I love Steemit for this - I get to marvel at your world, and you at mine. I showed my husband your landscape this morning - he was super amazed....

this is so cool. i love your trees! so often yeah we only see them as oils or cut flower arrangements here too... those river red gums and the story about breaks my heart!!.... what about tea tree oil? isn't that from the land down under? i've used that since i was a kid

That's very cool that you found you had been using native medicine. What a nice exploration to appreciate and understand more of the native medicines in Australia. Thanks for sharing :)

Thanks for sharing this! I love to learn about all the different native medicines. I'm a bit confused - Is the eucalyptus the same as the gum trees? I saw your picture of the Blue gum and I recognized it as what I always bought as eucalyptus - love the scent and I always have a jar of eucalyptus oil for clearing my sinuses or stuffy nose of a cold. If the gum tree is a eucalyptus I do have a lemon eucalyptus my daughter-in-law gave me that the University had at their plant sale. It has long slender green leaves and a beautiful lemony smell. I love it and have it growing in my sun room for the winter. Do you use it for anything other than just enjoying the smell?

Selamat! Posting anda masuk peringkat 2 kategori Tulisan Dengan Upvote Terbanyak, di 10 Besar Tulisan Hari Ini di https://steemit.com/peringkat/@puncakbukit/10-besar-tulisan-hari-ini-minggu-28-oktober-2018 ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70427.25
ETH 3798.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50