Elderberry Syrup: A Natural Medicine for Winter and Adding to the Cornucopia

black-elderberries.jpg

I've just drained the last bottle of elderberry syrup and used the last frozen elderberries in the freezer for last's nights mushroom and elderberry gravy that we had with roast vegetables. It seems appropriate as the first leaves appear on the elder trees in the garden and we anticipate Spring and Summer and the last of the cold season. I'm pretty sure it's worked so far - I tend to use it when everyone is snuffling a lot around me and I'm trying to ward off a cold, but it's brilliant when you have one too.

This fortnight's challenge for @naturalmedicine asks the Steemiverse for natural home remedies - any remedies from bee stings to burns, from hayfever to snoring, from anxiety to sprained ankles, from sleepless nights to sinus infections! Whilst I'm not eligible to enter, I thought I'd write one too - and inspire you to enter the challenge here, and thus add to the cornucopia, which essentially means a collection of good stuff!


Natural medicines are the bomb. Not only are they are a great cure for many of our ailments, but they are relatively free, and you become so involved with the medicine that it seems a kind of meditation with the plant that you're using and a wider, more rich connection to nature around us. Elderberries are particularly special for this, and we planted them in the garden especially, starting with one and ending up with four, as they are very, very easy to propagate. I have written about elder trees before, such is my love for them:

The underlying energy of the Elder tree is connected to the triple goddess – maiden, mother, crone – particularly taking on the wise-woman or crone aspect as she is symbolic of that time in the darkness before potential regeneration and rebirth..... she is also always been imbued with a sense of the sacred as she is Queen of the Earth indeed with her bounty – flowers for cordials and wines, elderberries for syrup and medicine, cordials and wine.


However in this post, I wanted to talk more specifically about their use as a handy cold and flu remedy and even preventative.


Our bodies use the antioxidants from plants such as berries to neutralise free radicals which can harm us, leading to cancer and other illnesses. In one study including the black elder, this species was found to have a higher antioxidant capacity than cranberries or blueberries, and we all know how wonderful they are in that regard! Elderberry juice is rich in total phenolics, anthocyanins, and flavonols, all which correlate with such antioxidant activity. I found this table quite useful when considering the properties of elderberries too - check the Vitamin C content of these babies!!! Vitamin A is also perfect for colds - there's a reason pumpkin soup is good for us when we're ill (that's the Australian in me talking, because I know it's not as common in other countries, but it's our go to here, loaded with garlic too!)

image.png
SOURCE

I've never eaten lozenges to soothe a sore throat or to help a cold because I don't believe the high glucose content of many over the counter cold remedies is useful. My sister in law eats cake when she has a cold, believing she needs to keep her strength up, but I've always thought sugar aids inflammation and when you're ill, you need to reduce that. Most traditional recipes for elderberry syrup contain sugar, but I don't like that idea and thus adapted my elderberry syrup recipe accordingly.

However, I'm going to include two recipes below, just for interest's sake. I have made both, but prefer the honey one, especially if you're using a good quality raw honey as it has more medicinal value.


Pick the ripe elderberries on a dry day. Strip the fruit from the stems (I use a fork) and put in a pan, covering with water. Simmer until the berries are super soft, and strain through a muslin cloth. Measure the juice and add half a kilo of sugar to each half litre of juice. Heat the juice gently until the sugar is dissolved, then boil for 10 minutes and leave until cold.

You can add this to tea with whiskey and lemon or simply administer with a teaspoon - 1 tsp a day as a preventative, as many as you like when you're ill. You can use it as a cordial too.

Honey is very good for preserving the syrup, so it'll last longer with this in it. However, it's also fabulous for suppressing coughs (I'll talk about this more in another post where I use honey for another home remedy) and one study found it was particularly beneficial for children's upper respiratory tract infection, helping them to sleep. This is my preferred recipe - plus it tastes good.

1 part ripe elderberries
2 parts water
1 part raw honey

I really love putting other medicinal herbs in this mix too. Ginger and cinnamon are warming, thyme is is brilliant to relieve chest and respiratory problems, coughs, colds, and bronchitis. It's also antibacterial, antifungal and spasmolytic - so it helps fight against the things that cause bronchitis and helps calm down those horrible spasmodic coughs.

As per recipe number 1, simmer the elderberries and spices and herbs if using, then strain and cool. Add the honey but don't reheat as it will lose it's medicinal properties.

image.png

Vegans might like to use coconut sugar or other sugar alternatives, or even sweeteners like stevia, which I personally hate. Of course these will influence how long it lasts, but it does last pretty well in the fridge over the flu season. I definitely keep my honey syrup in the fridge.

There are all sorts of other natural medicines and yumminess you can add to the mixture - lemon, cloves, tangerine peel, oregano, and so on. Some like to freeze the syrup in icecubes, and some like to make gummies out of them, which I am ABSOLUTELY trying next season!

Do you make elderberry syrup? What's your variation?



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

My_Post_1.jpg

If you're a supporter of all things natural healing, you might like to read our introductory post here. We'd also love to welcome you on Discord here!!

1wEUFtd.jpg

left.gifriverflows.gif

image.png

riverflows2.png

image.png

Sort:  

They don't grow in this part of the World. So unfortunate if I may say so

whereabouts are you?

Do you have any idea why Elderflowers don’t have a scent? I used to go and collect the flowers with my wife back in London to make some elderflower cordial. I ordered a seedling and planted it. It gave flowers but no smell... I’m not the only one, I drove to all eldertrees I saw and smell them, no smell...

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's really funny you say that, because sometimes I'm like - whoa - that smells so heady and floral and strong, and other times I can sniff the flower right up close and NOTHING, nada, zip. In England, the smell seemed a lot stronger, but here, I can barely smell them. I wonder if the wild varieties in the UK are different to the ones we have? I wonder if it's particular times of day or whether the delicate smell only works en masse? I have no idea!

I’ve been told by the seller that it requires a very cold winter to give a scent. But I could not find any paper to confirm this. Next time I go to Canberra, I’d have to keep an eye out for them and see if they smell better down there

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ah, that makes sense!!! But then, we've had some cold winters in Victoria, and it doesn't seem to make a difference. I've had a research and nothing seems to come up but interesting it's not just me!

I’ll have to give this a go! I’ve heard some make cough syrup out of plantain by layering it in a jar with sugar and burying it for a couple of months. Problem is it’s not readily available if you need the medicine straight away, a bit of forethought is required.

I definitely think it takes some organisation and foresight to get remedies together in times of plenty for times of need! That's an interested one - I wonder what it tastes like, as plantain isn't that pleasant, kinda grassy ! An interesting concept!

Apparently it tastes just like that sweet cough mixture. With thanks to the sugar I’m sure :P

The best thing I like about natural medicines is that they are the BEST to prevent diseases.

I'd like to know when in history we stopped using continuous prevention through natural stuff, to start doing corrective cure after we get seek.

After I've started using some stuff daily ,followed by correct and less 'junky' diet, I've never gotten sick again.

Thanks for sharing and thanks for being my friend, even when I seem to be kinda away from your blog. I will fight to the end to keep my first place here hahahaha xoxo

I love elderberries! I haven't made elderberry syrup yet but last year I made a lot of wild elderberry jam and ate it almost every day through the winter with my yogurt... i am pretty sure it helped because I didn't get sick! Similar idea but different execution :)

Absolutely... and yum. I was just talking about how nice it would be on coconut yoghurt or as a porridge sweetener.

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Elderberry is such a great medicine.It has more benefits and table gives you broad view about it.

Thankyou for your lovely comment @gaurang

Ii love elderberry syrup it is a stable for us in the winter love the idea of elderberry gravy that sounds divine, I love the elder tree, it is such a giving tree so medicinal and beautiful, thanks for this lovely xxx

When I lived in England I always used to put handfuls of elderberries in the gravy... just PERFECT.

Nice post, i spotted loads of elderberry this morning, whilst walking my dog. It's everywhere, perhaps i will take a bag with me tomorrow and collect some. 😀😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78