Food as Medicine? I say it's the greatest medicine!

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

Hello Wonderful People!

Hope you are enjoying your day!

Another weekend is coming, that means I'm gonna prepare some special meals for my family dinner. My father-in-law is coming this weekend to visit us. I'm too excited!

Food always makes me happy. I'm really grateful that I can try out different food and also can experiment with my cooking. Using the same ingredients differently can bring a totally different flavor or texture to the food. How amazing is that, right? It's like a never-ending discovery.

20190616_193151.jpg
Dried peas with egg

I'm from a country of spice. We love spicy food and spicy food means a blast of different ingredients. People usually treat their regular common diseases with food or spice or with different food-based plants. When I was a child, I can hardly remember how many times I take any medicine, coz my Mom and my Grandma had always something to provide to treat those diseases. Like raw banana & turmeric rice loose motion, ginger tea for coughing, pineapple during fever. And I can include many more on this list.

20190624_145543.jpg
Ladies finger curry

And now I'm following my Mom to help my little one on different diseases. I usually call my mom to know what should I feed him during those times. When I used to breastfeed him, usually I tried to balance my own food habits to help him get proper nutrition and also to treat diseases. Like if he struggles to stool, I used to eat the banana, papaya and many more. And it actually works.

o1AJ9qDyyJNSpZWhUgGYc3MngFqoAN6SbTjCPXB21JBXLATsL.jfif
Noddle

IMG_20181206_164116.jpg
Lemon tea

As I mentioned earlier we love spicy food. And we usually add two, three or sometimes more types of vegetables in a meal. So every ingredient has its own value, own purpose, and benefits for our health.

There is a saying, "Bangali is made for Fish and rice". We are Bangali and we love to fish. Mostly sweet water fish. Fish is one of the healthy food, it helps to balance our diet, no extra fat and you may hardly find anyone here who does not love fish! There is another tradition to feed the 'new groom' with big fish head. It's like showing them that we care for them.

20190624_145529.jpg
Pabda fish

And another vegetable I love is 'Red Amaranth'. This is one of the common vegetables, you will get it over the year, you can also grow this on your backyard. This vegetable provided Protein, minerals, and calcium. Also, it tastes good. It gives our meal a 'nice red color.'

20190624_145559.jpg
Red Amaranth

When I was pregnant, my hemoglobin count was very low and I was a little sick. My Mom took leave and was staying with me to comfort me. She used to give me 'Taro leaves' every single day, I mean literally every single day! She used to make taro leaves curry or sometimes I used to eat the steamed leaves also with salt and chili. Taro is full of iron and finally, I managed to increase my hemoglobin level.

20190622_105539.jpg
Taro leaves

All I'm talking about the health benefits of food. But we all know the connection of food with our minds. Food can help us to feel better. Healthy food creates a positive impact on our brain and yeah, eating healthy can help us to gradually reduce other bad habits, I believe.

20190624_155427.jpg
Ice Cream to boost my mood

But here in my country getting healthy fresh food is a challenge. Food safety is one of the major areas the government also facing the problem. Every single food item, any fruit or vegetable is full of different chemicals. From farmers to marketers everyone involved in this. They use chemicals to preserve the food, make it ripe in early age, to make it sweeter or look good and everything. We are facing serious health issues because of this.

In most cases, you can differentiate between the chemical one and the original one. But yeah, not every time. But personally, I try to avoid those foods which raise confusion and I try to buy chemical-free food though they cost a bit higher.

Food is for life, so let's make our life mindful through healthy eating!

THANKS FOR READING

Much Love

text16.png

Find me on other Social Places
Twitter FacebookDiscord

Sort:  

can I get more info about Partiko Android, please?

All of this food is making me hungry. I love reading about the different meals that people prepare in different countries. It is so different from what we eat. I to love lots of chili and you have encouraged me to make something with lots of chilli for dinner. It might cheer me up a little bit too. A great post, thanks for sharing x

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, our cuisine is very different. Great to hear that you like it.
Thanks for your appreciation.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you rem-steem! You've just received an upvote of 41% by tommyknockers!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Daroooonn👍 aye post ta dekhlam...aami khide piye chi...khoob bhalo

Posted using Partiko Android

I was just shocked Bangla here. LoL
Yeah, those all are our favourite food. Come visit Bangladesh sometimes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hhahahah....thanks to living near to Kolkata....ektu ektu Bangla aami jaani😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you rem-steem! You've just received an upvote of 73% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @rem-steem!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.727 which ranks you at #14342 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 5 places in the last three days (old rank 14337).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 175 contributions, your post is ranked at #40.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi @rem-steem, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @blind-spot!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

You’ve been visited by @porters, a fellow #Powerhousecreatives member, this time visiting on behalf of Natural Medicine!

It's wonderful that you had your mom and grandmother giving you food for your medicine and passing on that knowledge so you can pass it on to your children! That's how it should be but all too often that knowledge is lost and many people would never think to reach for certain foods to help with different aliments.

There was a lot great information in your post - a wonderful entry for the "Let food Be Your Medicine" Natural Medicine challenge!

This fortnight, we're having a food as medicine challenge, sponsored by Curie! You can win over 40 Steem in prizes. Check out the details by clicking here!

NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif
Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment through natural wisdoms, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you! 50SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SP

It really feels great to hear that you like it. Thanks for your feedback.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42