A New Year - a New Natural Medicine Challenge - What I Resolve...

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago

This Natural Medicine Challenge centers around our healing resolutions. Learn more Here.

Food as medicine preventative medicine.jpg

This year I'm big on having food as my medicine and using it as preventative medicine.

Last year we entered upon the Ketogenic diet to help with some health problems we were experiencing.
Our research continually showed us that there is a lot of mis-information and plain right malarky out there.
We dove deeper into our Keto diet research and were uncovering some fascinating new info.

The first misconception we had was that fats are bad for you and the cause of gaining weight.
For more info on this see my post:
Crazy as as it may sound I'm losing weight on a high fat diet!

We are refining our knowledge in regards to this high fat diet and wanted to know which are the best fats when we are fueling our body with fat.
We discovered that the type of fats that you eat will make a difference with weight loss and also energy levels.

Superfuel: Ketogenic Keys to Unlock the Secrets of Good Fats, Bad Fats, and Great Health


source:

Plant based fats, from whole foods like avocados, nuts and seeds will actually make you feel more energetic and you loose weight better than animal sourced fats like butter and cream or say bacon. With the plant based fats supplying make you more efficient and better at burning fat

Also we found some clarity about refined oils and what oils are best to cook with. Extra virgin olive oil (make sure it is true, extra virgin olive oil and has not been adulterated) seems to be the best because it’s so high in polyphenols, which prevents the oil from oxidizing. It is also high in phenolic antioxidants, which is very beneficial. and is great for reducing the risk of various inflammatory diseases. Olive oil has become a main stay in our kitchen.

This came from the research of Dr James DiNicolantonio

Hear more in this interview at:

The second misconception we had was to limit our salt intake which was the traditional nutritional guidelines advise.

We found too that being on a Keto diet it is more important to take even more salt (real salt like Redmond, Himalayan or Celtic sea salt) for the body will naturally be getting rid of sodium.

I found that actually increasing your salt levels will increase your energy level. It is also necessary for the intake of magnesium and other necessary minerals. It's affect on magnesium, especially interested me as magnesium is known to lift energy levels.

On the Ketogenic diet it is also important to have adequate intake of water which I find easy having more salt I want to drink more and a big pot of green tea helps plus my morning toner drink and smoothies.

Learn about my Morning Toner Drink (which I now add to it some gel from my Aloe Vera plant) Here.

One of the most important things for treating food as medicine and using it preventatively is to know what goes into your food. Know that it is high in nutrients and is organic, unadulterated food. I like to grow as much of our own food as I can or source it locally, where I know the producers.

I do take some supplements like MCT oil (an instant source of energy I like to fuel my brain with) and fish or krill oil (a good fat source and supplies vitamin D which is necessary in our cold winters, where we don't get much sunlight.)

Keeping Healthy

I've written more on ways I intend to remain healthy at:
My Goals for 2019 - Part 1 - Healthy...
https://steemit.com/naturalmedicine/@porters/my-goals-for-2019-part-1-healthy

Image source from Pixabay and Graphic Stock.

Thanks for stopping by!
I love engaging with folks here so please feel free to leave any comments or questions.

If you enjoyed this post,
Please don’t hesitate to follow me here at @porters

Sort:  

Awesome. Food As preventative medicine is a huge part of my life. It always has been. The keto diet seems to make sense but I'm terrible at sticking to things...so tend to rely on what my body tells me to eat. Not many carbs, lots of vegies, minimum meat, good oils, spices and herbs and good salt. Suits me. But it's something different for hubby.. that's when it gets complicated!

A great resolution Xxxx

Posted using Partiko Android

I hear you about having something different working for your hubby.
It was because of my husband checking into the Keto diet, doing lots and lots of research, that we have made changes in our diet.
It totally made sense to me, but it was him who really needed to make a change for health reasons and I supported him plus I benefited too.
It's funny, but the thing I liked the most about changing our diet was my husbands enthusiasm and that he totally got into cooking, being a gourmet chef, and it bought us together more, cooking together and enjoying our meals together (we had kinda slipped away from that).
We're having some fine dining at the Porters!

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and/or a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Food can do so much good and soo much bad, a lovely article and thank you for sharing so much information with us. Much love! 💚

Somehow I just posted natural medicine from food (coconut water). and I found this post is really great read too. How is life back there @porters. I wish you the best year

Life is good here but we are in a bit of a deep freeze but have a warm fire to keep us warm and eating well, keeping in good health.
How all's well with you too!

I so agree with you, we are what we eat. I just got my olive oil delivered today that I harvested from the trees on the land, it is virgin cold pressed and so delicious and perfect to go with the avocados on the land, I do feel very lucky indeed xxx

M-m-m! How fortunate to have your fresh olive oil from olives you harvested and avocados too! When I shop for olive oil I look to see if it came from Italy or Spain.

I agree that everything we put into our mouths should be to nourish our bodies, not poison them....
One thing though that I am challenged with is that my husband desperately needs to gain weight... So I have to work hard on that...

That is a different challenge that you face with your husband needing to gain weight, it is the opposite to what we have here in North American where the majority of people are over weight.
I still feel it will come down to proper diet that is well balanced and can be maintained unless he has other medical conditions like parasites or something.

i'm glad i read this. I knew about animal fats, and as a non-meat eater i know how energy draining it is when you eat occasional animal fats. I'm looking for alternatives that less put me out of balance, and i now have a few ideas where to look. Thanks!

Hi @porters!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.442 which ranks you at #6853 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 26 places in the last three days (old rank 6879).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 430 contributions, your post is ranked at #202.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Another great one!

I love the idea of making food your medicine and making medicine your food. When you speak of the high fat diet, it reminds me of a conversation I just listened to with Daniel Vitalis and Arthur Haines.

Let me find it for you, it's really worth a listen.

http://www.danielvitalis.com/rewild-yourself-podcast/3-arthur-haines-on-food-fads-vs-the-homo-sapiens-diet

Thanks for that wonderful podcast. We did a lot of research before changing towards incorporating more fats and less carbohydrates in our diet. It's working well for us at this time.
A good book I read related to the podcast was "The Omnivores Dilemma" pointing out the stress that we put on ourselves with these diets. Personally I like to choose what our diet will consist of and then I don't want to fuss with it too much, not letting it consume too much of our time or focus.

Haha, yes I think it's a great point not to fuss with a diet too much. It really seems like the world around me is much more carefull and becoming aware of what we should eat!

I will have to remember to put that book on my list now! Thanks and you're welcome abput then podcast, everyone I've listened to from the Rewild Yourself serie has been vary insightful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83