Amazing Aloe.

When we bought our house back in 2010 we inherited some Aloe Vera plants. For a long time I ignored them, but kept them because I knew aloe was supposed to be good for your skin, but not much more than that. I moved them to the front garden, because they seemed to be able to survive anything. One got buried for nigh on a year and was still alive when I rediscovered it! Yet even some of the many pups the plants were producing didn't survive their move to the harsh conditions of my front garden. However, those that did thrived and multiplied. I can't even give the extras away any more!

IMG_20190830_110451.jpg

After several years I finally got around to looking up the uses for aloe, other than sunburn. Apparently it's been used for hundreds of years for its antiseptic properties. Alexander the Great was said to never go into battle without a supply of it for his army.

Sources tell us that it works to heal in two ways; the antiseptic properties disinfect and the mucilage softens and stimulates faster healing. If you search the benefits of aloe vera, it seems to be a virtual panacea. I could reel off a list of things it's purported to cure or treat, but I can only say for certain what has worked for me and my family.

Unfortunately we get plenty of mosquito and other bug bites and have found that if rubbed just briefly on them it doesn’t do an awful lot for the itching, but they certainly heal quicker than usual. However, if you continue to rub or hold it on the bite until the itching stops, then it really comes into its own. The itching rarely comes back and the bite is gone within a couple of days, possibly less; it’s hard to say as bites rarely bother me for long now and I forget to monitor them. It's probably worth mentioning that scratching bites only increases the itching and can lengthen the healing process, so while its easier said than done, if you can avoid scratching your bug bites will be gone sooner.

I have found that small cuts stop bleeding quicker with the direct application of aloe and healing time is drastically reduced. My daughter had a scrape on her shin and the following evening, before bed, she showed it me complaining it was swollen and still painful. We rubbed aloe on it and by the morning the inflammation and pain was gone. My other daughter had a minor abrasion on her thigh from the mats at gymnastics. It was bleeding slightly so she strapped a slab of Aloe over it and by morning it had scabbed over with fresh, pink skin underneath when she (as you would!) picked at the scab.

I’m often getting minor burns whilst cooking. A chunk of Aloe held against the burn (especially if it's fresh from the fridge) eases the pain and by the following day it’s like it never happened. I’m discovering that a quick rub isn’t as affective as keeping it against your skin for a longer period. I guess it needs a bit of time for the skin to absorb as much of that goodness as it can.

My daughters use it on acne breakouts, by just cutting a square and sticking it on spots. Just a word of caution, although it is gentle on the skin, some people can react to it, especially if they have a latex allergy.

Aloe vera can be consumed, but it has a bitter taste. Some caution is also advised because it has a laxative effect, particularly if you consume the brown sap in the rind. It's generally recommended that when preparing the leaf you stand it for at least 10 minutes to drain this sap out and just use the inside gel. While the gel is bitter tasting, it's not nearly as bitter tasting as the skin and sap. I've found the easiest way to consume it is by adding some to smoothies or juice, if I'm juicing from scratch.

Some people do use the sap and rind medicinally as a laxative, but as with any medicine, you shouldn't mess around with dosages. Because aloe doesn't come with dosage instructions, if I were to use it this way I'd start small, monitor reactions and work from there. I'm no expert, however, so this is purely my thoughts and not medical advice.

Some people will prepare the gel from an entire leaf by removing the rind, but this will start to deteriorate after a couple of days, even in the fridge, so I prefer store the leaf whole in the fridge and just prepare bits as I need them.

The beauty of aloe vera is how easy it is to grow. It is a succulent which can manage arid, low nutrient conditions and even brief frosts. While it likes a bit of water and is green with plump leaves in good conditions, very wet conditions will likely kill it. When it's without water for long periods the leaves will start to get thinner and the plant will take on a reddish hue.

IMG_20190830_111510.jpg
On the left is a plant which is enduring a hit dry summer. It's taken on a reddish hue and producing pups. On the right is a plant towards the end of winter.

In a cold climate it can be grown in a container and brought indoors for winter. Once you have a plant, you'll likely never need to source one again. They readily produce pups, which are small offshoots, and it won't be long before you've shared them will all your friends, family and the neighborhood. It's good to remove the pups from the mother plant as they will drain her a bit and she won't reach full size or be in peak condition.

There are lots of different types of aloe, but aloe vera is purported to be the most effective for use and the only one that I've come across as being mentioned for use internally. This type of aloe can grow to around 2ft, or 60cm, high, excluding the flower. I've seen it flowering both in orange and yellow and there are arguments that the yellow flowering one is the best strain, but mine has an orange flower, so that's the one I've experienced.

~○♤○~

This is my response to the @naturalmedicine herb challenge.

~○♤○~


You can also find The Miniature Smallholding on:

Instagram
Facebook
YouTube

Sort:  

You’ve been visited by @porters on behalf of Natural Medicine!

I was like you thinking it was just good for the skin until my sister gave me an Aloe Vera supplement (in liquid form) which I took for a few months and found that it really made my hair and nails grow. The supplement was rather expensive so I figured I'd just grow it and harvest the gel myself. That's when I realized it was rather bitter so I went back to having a plant around for burns mostly. Then I discovered that it actually combined real well in my toner drink consisting of ginger turmeric root ice tea with lemon, apple cider vinegar, stevia and some gel of the Aloe Vera. Now that I really want it to grow I almost killed it off when I put it outside for we've had such a wet summer and they were not happy! My husband told me it was good for soothing stomach ulcers too! Thanks for your wonderful submission to the Natural Medicine Herb Challenge!

This fortnight, we're having a Herb Medicine Challenge, sponsored by Curie! You can win over 40 Steem in prizes. Check out the details by clicking here!

NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif
Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment through natural wisdoms, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you! 50SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SP

I haven't really used it as a supplement consistently, @porters. Perhaps I should make more of an effort. My daughter might want to use it too if I tell her about the hair and nails. I wonder if it would also help skin.

Thank you for stopping by.

Posted using Partiko Android

You know one of my favourite things in the world is that cactus shoots are called pups...it is just the cutest. This is a really nice post about aloe vera all the more because it involves a personal story of its use. I love that it is commonly used in your family. I brought mine inside for the winter but I think it is almost ready to go out now. I am not sure whether it will survive the winter here in Victoria but then my other cactus has so I presume it is just where you're planted all the type of winter it is. I used it on my chicken a little while ago when she had conjunctivitis. I did read somewhere that you could do that even though I would be cautious about putting it in my own I lol full stop the thing is it cleared up in 2 days which is pretty good going really. I want to go and find some prickly pear and dehydrated because I heard that unlike aloe you can dehydrate it and rehydrate it with water and it has the same effect as Aloe Vera as well. I really must get around to doing this. It would be a really handy thing to have in a travel kit.

It's great, isn't it! Although, I didn't realise that all cactus shoots are called pups.
I'm not sure what level of frosty would be detrimental to them. Ours have certainly had the odd frosty morning. It never lasts much past sunrise, however.

That's a really good result for the conjunctivitis. I've used colloidal silver to treat it in a rabbit before, but not aloe. It took more than two days to heal, as well.

Hmm, that does sound like a good idea for a travel kit. Much easier than transporting a potted plant around.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome, and how is Vera doing?

Aloe Vera is amazing.
My mom is part of Forever living which sells Aloe Vera so I have always had a few tubes of different cream or gelé of Aloe Vera and have used it for a lot of things.

It's REAL magic happens when you eat it regularly - pop a spoonful of gel in your morning super-smoothie. It's AMAZING for improving stomach and gut health, and for strengthening hair and nails and bones.

Shared this post to the Natural Medicine on Steemit facebook page. Please come and follow the page there, and invite your FB friends to come on over.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

I didn't realise there was an NM facebook page. Off to check it out now.

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has been selected for today's Best of British - five posts of the day from UK Steemians.

Aloe vera is truly amazing as you know. I visited an Aloe farm north of Cape town many years ago and saw before and after photos of a severe burns victim. It was an incredible transformation after the treatment.

I used also Aloe vera as an aftersun which is very cooling to the skin and works a treat.

I found you via @steemclub-uk curation post.

Wow, I thought it would only be useful on minor burns.

Apologies for the late reply. I've been missing notifications.

Posted using Partiko Android

Me too, HF 21 22 was a doozie! :-)

Congratulations!

This post has been upvoted as @SteemitBD curation support. Steemit Bangladesh is the first youth-run community organization from Bangladesh to empower youths on steemit. You can also check our Social Business Service @SocialBot to get a profitable offer for you.


Join us on Discord
steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png

A Youth Run Community Organization from Bangladesh
50SP100SP200SP500SP1000SP2000SP5000SP10000SP

This promoted content generated 0.004 STEEM in curation reward payback. Thanks for using Steemium.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66