A Successful Homebirth

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)

imageUsing a birth pool has always been a dream of mine, and I almost had it this time! Instead, my little babe made his way into this world in the living room hallway right into his daddy's arms. Unfortunately, we ran out of warm water and could not use the pool as we originally planned. I had joked to everyone that I'd most likely be squatting during labor, and that is exactly what happened. I hugged an exercise ball through each contraction, breathing long and deep, without one scream. I wonder if any of our condo neighbors heard anything at all. 🤔 I am surprised the exercise ball didn't pop.

I was determined to have a natural pregnancy and birth, and I am so thankful and blessed to have finally had such a pleasant birthing experience. I would highly recommend it to anyone! The difference between the hospital and homebirths were extraordinary. I felt in control, and I could even talk through the whole process. My midwives were so comforting and encouraging, and I felt empowered instead of scared. My mom was there to help, and being a retired NICU nurse, she had questioned my need for a homebirth my entire pregnancy, especially because not everything was covered through my insurance. My mom would agree that it was worth every penny, and I am thrilled she could have that experience too.

Sebastian was born after a long day of intense contractions, at 3:58 am, 8 days after his expected due date. I had been using Evening Primrose Oil to help move things along, and then once due date had come and gone, I started a natural 4 hour routine using homeopathics to help get things going. My midwife came over the day before the birth to do a "stretch and sweep" on the membranes, but she said there wasn't much to sweep, whatever that really means! I knew that the time was about to arrive.

After the birth, my midwife preserved my placenta for dehydration and encapsulation. Years ago I would have told you that was disgusting, but I just had to give it a go. SO glad I did! They have provided me with much needed energy during the day, especially after long nights of diaper changes and breastfeeding. Not only does it help retain energy levels, but the placenta can help you recover more quickly, increase milk production, decrease chance of postpartum depression and baby blues, and many other things. If I have another baby, this will be a definite to-do on my preparation list.

imageHere is all i've used during my afterbirth recovery, as far as pain killers. Lots and lots of water, the placenta capsules, Arnica Montana pellets used for bruising and muscle soreness (added bonus it tastes sweet), and an Afterbirth tincture by Wishgarden made with organic and relaxing herbs. My midwife has an answer for everything, and she surprised me with some herbal tea bags. Any mom will tell you she's used a "peri-bottle" to clean off after using the toilet. Well, instead of water I've been using the herbal tea she gifted me, and it has made a tremendous difference. The water is used in the bottle, and the used tea bag can be placed on the perineum for a minute or two to help heal any tears and soothe the pain around the stitches.

So, there you have it! That is a brief summary of my all-natural homebirth. My first was natural, but in the hospital. It was not an easy birth, but it was certainly quick. My second was induced and I was given Pharmaceutical pain meds - the most traumatic of my birthing experiences. I'd list all the differences and similarities of each of my three children's births, but I'll keep it simple and say, they were worlds apart, and the homebirth was the best experience out of any medical procedure in my life. I hope I have helped at least one woman out there. I wish I had known these things with my first. Please feel free to ask any questions about the birth I may have skipped over. Many blessings and much love!

image My beautiful family after a long day and night!

I'd like to add that Sebastian was also born with a tongue tie, something I had never heard of before. It was quite severe, as it was attached to the very tip, meaning my poor baby couldn't move his tongue around like normal. It was causing me extreme pain during breastfeeding, and not allowing him to latch on properly. He was constantly trying to nurse, working double time for a small amount of milk, and used all his energy to do. He wasn't gaining weight properly, and my midwife said oral surgery was a necessity. Of course, as a mother, the idea of your 3 day old baby having surgery is scary, but I am so glad my midwife caught the tie. Apparently, a tongue tie can cause many more problems than just limited movement and speech issues, but it even effects posture and encourages headaches, etc. The more you know! 💖

Sort:  

Congratulations for your newborn baby @brutledge, his name is Sebastian, wish that he'd grown healthily and happily. Homebirth really a rare thing happened in this modrn world . I remember my mom given birth to my 5 little brothers and sisters at home under the care of the same old midwive except for the youngest one, she had to given birth at the clinic (too risky for a 41 yo woman with 9 children already)

Thanks for sharing with us about the process and I can see that you're more happier in the family picture😍 so about the tongue tie, it is nothing to do with the homebirth procedures right?

Wow 9 children, what a blessing! Ever since I was a kid I would joke with my parents that I'd have 10 kids, not sure if I would really want that many but it would be nice to try for a girl. The homebirth was an amazing experience indeed. The tongue tie has nothing to do with the homebirth process, and is in fact quite common at least here in America. My two older boys did not have this problem though.

But @brutledge 😯 most women in my country now chosing to surgery instead of homebirth😐 even my mom told us not to do the homebirth, she said that she couldn't see the pain in our face (because she's always there to take care of us) and only one of my sister who deliver baby in normal way (2 girl and 1 boy) at the clinic.

My mom told me, if I had a chance to give birth my own child later, I'd better not choose the homebirth either 😯 maybe because of my age (i'm over 40 now). I wonder about the tounge tie ... is that caused by something during the pregnancy too? I must find out about it in my country too.

Thanks again for your information

It's all up to you, really. Most women here in America choose to be induced so they can have the baby on a time schedule, or choose pain meds or an epidural. I personally feel better letting the body handle what it was made to. As for the tongue tie, I have no idea. Another comment was made suggesting it could be too much folic acid. I have not done my own research on it.

congratulations Mama on the birth of your beautiful son. Yeah for having the birth you wanted, that is so important. I have had 2 homebirths and it is so empowering. I have 3 girls and you have 3 boys right?, you look so happy in that photo with your beautiful family. I remember that feeling, my youngest will be 2 in April.
Tongue tie certainly seems to be on the rise, especially in the western world, I read some where that it is possibly linked to too much folic acid in the body during pregnancy as they really promote it for pregnant women but actually their is quite a lot of it in the food most of us eat.
Enjoy your babymoon and congratulations again and make sure and rest well with your baby xxx

Thank you, and three boys! I'm in for a wild ride. That is interesting about the folic acid. Tongue ties seem to be on the rise, though my first two didn't have the problem. The surgeon said he releases 2 or 3 a week!

Hi brutledge,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations on a successful home-birth, and welcoming another fellow Sagittarius into our extended family. Much love and light from the west, you guys got the best present of all this year... life. Bless up.

Congratulations @brutledge! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues
Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @brutledge! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wow! Congratulations! I’m gonna call in a bout an hour or so. Blessed Yuletide!

It was great to hear your voice!

Congratulations on an s successful homebirth, you must be super excited to finally hold your little one in your arms.

I am learning a whole lot of things from your post. Like the dehydration and encapsulation of the placenta, it is actually my first time hearing about it and I probably do feel the same you would have felt about it years ago. But then again, considering all the benefits you've listed, it definitely is worth giving a go.

The tongue tie, it's actually my first time hearing about it too, it must be so hard for little Sebastian.

I really don't know if homebirth is for me but it does seem to be a whole other experience. And most times, it's better to do things the natural way...

You and your family look beautiful and happy.

Merry Christmas...❤

The female body is truly amazing! The adrenaline and all the hormones kick in, and when you let the waves roll through with each breath the pain rolls off with it. Fighting the pain, clenching only made it worse. I'm grateful you learned something from my post! And to think, there is so much more to know.

Congratulations @brutledge! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71