I Touched a Dead Body Today

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

I will be dissecting a human cadaver in anatomy and physiology class and was given the opportunity in lab today to meet the cadaver we will be working with. A&P lecture/lab will allow me to further understand the human body, how it works, and how its built up. This is especially important for a naturopathic doctor, which I intend to achieve, as a keystone to healing is using the body's innate ability to heal itself.

Oregon Health & Science University has set up a body donor program which has partnered with my university (National University of Natural Medicine [NUNM]). The body we will be working with is an 80+ year old male who died of lung cancer a year ago.

Meeting this individual's body was an extremely surreal experience and rather humbling. I went through a whole new series of feelings that I'd never experienced before, all of which were for the better. Join me in today's episode as I go into full detail of my experience meeting this cadaver I hope to learn great things from.



LOVELAUGHTER&&XHAOS

PALPABLE POPE Ypyskypo Skwyrl, the Y's
Cat-herder aka Chief Bigstick
High Priest, Church of Erin
Erisian Ataxia Troupe : Caste of the Black Star

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Best title of the day. I'm going to listen to this on the way to work tomorrow xx



This post has been voted on by the SteemSTEM curation team and voting trail. It is elligible for support from @curie and @minnowbooster.

If you appreciate the work we are doing, then consider supporting our witness @stem.witness. Additional witness support to the curie witness would be appreciated as well.

For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

Please consider using the steemstem.io app and/or including @steemstem in the list of beneficiaries of this post. This could yield a stronger support from SteemSTEM.

Wonderful respect and a fascinating experience. I have work in care home so experience many people who have passed on. I am totally with you on the great essence of us. But never dissected. Thank you for sharing 💯🐒

Good luck on your journey. I was an ER nurse for too many years and I had to practice some procedures on cadavers for advanced training. I always took the view that I had read somewhere that the body is just a vessel for our soul like a shell - but one that you still treated with respect and honor as much as possible.

So glad that you held a lot of respect for the man that donated his body so you could learn and you could appreciate that it was a selfless act that can lead to help with the health of others in the future.
Funny how often the real thing is different then what we might imagine!
I hope you learn lots on your path to become a Naturopathic doctor!
Thanks for sharing your experience!

@alchemage, In my opinion many will not going to dare to go through from this experience but when you are in Medical Field these processes are so common.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80