NaNoWriMo: Writing and music?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nano8 years ago

How do you write? Is it in a quiet room without distraction or do you write to music? Share your playlist or favourite album to write to in the comments below!

My epic fantasy novel seems to slip from my fingers more easily when I listen to "epic instrumental music". I've written a few thousand words to this soundtrack and others like it.

Do you match your music to the tone of your piece? Tell me your secrets below!

Music or none, NaNoWriMo's first week is almost over! How many words have you written so far towards your goal?
What has been your greatest struggle? Are you happy with your process or do you have some catching up to do? Post a link to your story below! The comments section is yours to share tunes, advice, trauma, and congratulations!

Love,
Renee

Sort:  

I've tried to write to music, but it seems to distract me. Maybe I haven't found the right soundtrack yet? So far I've written 11,900 words. Will do some more later today. Hoping to have around 12500 today.

It's mid Sunday here (Australia) and I have a busy work schedule coming up, so trying to get in front of my daily word count. Some days I get home and I'm so tired I just stare at the computer screen willing the words to write themselves. Hasn't happened yet! So the weekends are a welcome relief.

The link to my most recent story upload is https://steemit.com/nano/@naquoya/my-sister-s-keeper-chapter-five-and-six-nanowrimo

Also, listening to the music you linked to in your post - I do love this style, the epic grandeur of it. I do find this type of music very inspiring and helps in the flow of ideas. Just not for when it comes to actually writing.

I was just listening to the soundtrack of Les Miserables. It's perfect for what I'm writing at the moment. Definitely helps set the mood. :)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58976.49
ETH 2502.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48