WHY I LOVE GARDENING - BURIED TREASURES AND UNSOLVED MYSTERIES

in #mystery7 years ago

I'm not sure where these came from...


So, there I was, out in the gardening preparing the soil for a few attempts at growing some winter crops. I was removing debris, uprooting weeds, and disturbing the soil a bit.

Suddenly, I pulled something up from the earth! Shortly after, I found a few more. Where in the world?...

In the end, I had 5 potatoes. I know that it's not a lot, but still, it's five more potatoes than I had when I awoke. It looks like there were three Russets and two Baby Red potatoes hiding under the soil.

My favorite part about discovering this buried treasure was that so far they are an unsolved mystery. As far as I know, I never planted any potatoes this year.

Back in Wisconsin, I had a friend who liked to grow potatoes just because it was like looking for buried treasure come harvest time. I can certainly relate to the feeling, and I'd say the excitement is increased when you aren't even expecting to find some!

WHERE DID THEY COME FROM?

I can say for sure that I did grow potatoes in the area that these were found last year, but I definitely did not this year. I guess I must have missed a few potatoes during the harvest last year and they regrew this year, to bless us with a few more potatoes.

That's part of why I enjoy gardening. Often, it's a gift that keeps on going. Looks like we had a few more volunteers in the garden this year, as these plants chose to grow on their own! Have any of you ever found hidden potatoes in an area that you weren't expecting to find them?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-buried-treasure



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Yep my father use to grow in our small city garden in London, after he had passed and we were digging in order to pave the garden to our surprise we found several potatoes it was weird as my dad had been dead 4 years by then. We guessed it was a gift and also a message to let us know he was well I will never forget we were stunned as none of us grew anything after that. In 2014 I decided to start growing my own food and sadly never picked up any growing skill from papa while he was alive but I think I'm a born natural gardener lol. @papa-pepper thank you so much for this post it touched my soul love n light to you.

Very glad to hear I brought back such memories.

Anyone that tends the land has soul that's why I follow you and the great post.

I spent all the summers as a kid in a farm and the potatoes and vegies are from another world, the flavors are so intence

Nothing beats spending time on the Farm with veggies and Fruits to leave with after the long day.

We get random crops in the garden all the time. Last year it was a whole bunch of romaine lettuce that popped up from where a lettuce plant that had gone to seed had been placed after being pulled up. The seeds wintered over and as I was prepping the garden in the spring I found a whole bed of lettuce sprouted and flourishing. Surprise!

I tried scattering seeds last fall on purpose and didn't get anything in the spring this year. Gardens are funny that way, eh?

I love volunteers in my garden. I even promote it. Almost all vegetables grow best when mixed and not monocropped. Whenever I dig up my potatoes, I always leave the itty bitty ones on the dead plant and cover them with soil, then forget about them. In the spring, when I till the soil and get ready to plant, I've totally forgotten about them. But when they sprout, I recognize the potaot plant and am careful not to weed it out. These single, widely spaced potato plants always produce the biggest potatoes.

You can do this with practically any open pollinated plant. When my lettuce kale and chard go to seed, I pull up the mature plant and throw it out into the middle of my garden. Come spring, I have a million seedlings that I can dig up and plant in rows. They come up when they want to and are always the earliest edible plants in my garden. I'm lazy and a chronic procrastinator, so this method really works for me. This works for dill, carrots, lettuce, kale, chard, parsnips and almost any open-pollinated seeds. If you don't rototill the whole garden in the spring and carefully cultivate only where you want to plant, you'll have more volunteers than you know what to do with. You can even pot them up and sell them at the local farmer's market. Have fun.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Oct 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $101.28 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 02 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Everyone should have their own garden and grow their own food ! To ground themselves literally with " mother earth " and reap her rewards ! You are are lucky you can @papa-pepper ! I think maybe you missed one last year and it laid dormant the winter and as the soil warmed it seeded and " voila " some free spuds for your soup ) upvoted )

Haha Today's food? french fries?

Kind of like bonus fries, these are bonus potatoes.

That is so cool!!
Is it possible to grow potatoes inside?
In a old aquarium or something like that?
Your posts always make me want to grow something other than cannabis haha!!
Have a nice day!!

Yes you can grow them in a old aquarium or a 5 gallon bucket.

Thanks!!!i think i am going to try it soon.
Have a nice day!!

Good job bro.go ahead.resteemd it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53