TO SOLVE A MYSTERY

in #mystery7 years ago

Sometimes, others come to me for help with certain things, and sometimes, I have to go to others.


A lot of the neighborhood children come to me with various issues and situations, and they all seem to like me and look up to me. When so many little ones randomly share situations with you, it can get quite interesting.

Sometimes, they may bring me a Rhinoceros Beetle!


Other times it may be an emerging Cicada.

Today, though, I’m not sure what it is!

This is a photo of the front of it. It is made of metal, and is not quite round. Is it some sort of coin? Does it serve a purpose? I do not know.



Here is a photo of the back of it. The front appears to possibly have some sort of writing on it, but there are no numerals anywhere to be found.

A seven year old boy from nearby brought it to a few of us men this evening. He said that he found it on the railroad, though I’m not completely sure what that means. He was wondering if any of us could tell what it was. Thus far, we cannot be sure. I have dealt with coins from many countries over the years, but I have never encountered anything this shape.

Since I now have friends from all over the world because of steemit, I thought that perhaps some of you may know what it is. I’m not even sure how to do an image search, so I’m at a dead end. Does anyone know what this may be? Is it some sort of currency? Have you ever seen something like this?


For size comparison, here are some photos of it next to a United States dime. You can certainly see that they two objects have different shapes. If you have some idea, please let me know.

I told the young man that I personally did not know what it was, but that I would be happy to ask some friends of mine. So steemians, what do you think?


As always, I’m @papa-pepper and here’s the proof:


proof-of-i-am-not-sure-what


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)


The long-term purpose of this account is to help provide the necessary funds to live a self-sufficient lifestyle at home with my family.

Sort:  

Found it!
Did some digging on Google, looked at funny, unique coins, then looked at the coin writing and something sparked that maybe it was Hebrew.
It's called a Widow's Mite Replicas - here's the website it was found on - scroll right down to near the bottom of the page - http://www.forumancientcoins.com/numiswiki/view.asp?key=widows%20mite sorry went thru a google picture to find the website.
Hope that helps.

Source of picture -
Product description - Widow's mite replica coins make a poignant reminder of Christ's teachings from Mark 12:41-44. Hand out in twos as a meaningful lesson, perfect for Sunday school lessons and children's sermons. Designed in the Holy Land; each double sided coin is approximately .5" in diameter.

How, incredible and thanks for helping!

Job well done for sure!

Thank you for letting us all help @papa-pepper it was really interesting trying to find it, some interesting shaped coins out there.
Then learning the history of these coins very interesting.
Here's the website the coin pic is from, posted it wrong when doing source of picture.
https://www.christianbook.com/widows-mite-coins/pd/45471157?event=CBCER1#CBD-PD-Description

I know that I didn't need to, but you didn't need to help me either! Glad you appreciated it!

Thanks again, this was so cool, educational, and interesting.

Thank you @papa-Pepper for the massive surprise, you seriously didn't need to do that!
What a wonderful surprise Thank you so much! :)

I've heard of this coin before. Good job people.

Interesting post for sure, neat the kids are asking for help on things like this

@doitvolunarily you added the pic before I did, I didn't see your one and added one too opps.
Need to check the feed before adding things to make surer quicker fingers don't bet me to it lol.
great minds think a like...

Don't worry about it, you guys did great, and now I know. I'll tell the boy tomorrow!

imagine going from that back in the day (real thing) to now crypto.. it just is rather mind-blowing! amazing times we are living in!

Indeed. The widow's mite was not worth much at all back then, but an original from the times of Jesus would be worth quite a bit now, I suppose. Reminds me of Bitcoin back in the day being worth a fraction of a cent. Look at where it is now.

I know you were replying pertaining to the changes in currency over time, but I couldn't help but consider the changes in value too!

Full Steem Ahead!

There is even a Wikipedia article about the original coins of Alexander Jannaeus:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coins_of_Alexander_Jannaeus

To my untrained eye, it looks like a forged coin, made to look somewhat ancient. I even think it's trying to be ancient Hebrew. (Some of the letters look similar.) Thing is, the coins from that era are generally in much worse shape. But here is roughly what a "new" fake one looks like...


https://www.judaicawebstore.com/half-shekel-coin-stand-silver-replica-P10167.aspx

Here is a real one from the time of Dovid HaMelech/King David.

http://www.nbcnews.com/id/45419597/ns/technology_and_science-science/t/coin-discovery-sheds-new-light-sacred-jerusalem-site/

Either way though, it's a neat find!

Thanks so much. Very interesting stuff!

Yeah, so cool to have an interesting international community to get quick answers with!

Now if only all of us could have used steemit instead of google to search, we'd put 'em outta business!

It's a doubloon! Gold doubloon! Sorry, that's not it, and I wish I knew. Great idea for an engaging post.

The international steemit task force is now at our disposal for mysteries like this, so why not use it?

It's perfect. I agree.

Just looked that up, you could be right.

Ok cool, That was a wild guess because I think Rune Script looks very Greek. But the swirlies and pitchfork looking thingy seems Nordic. I need to stop reading these crazy books lol.

Might prove to be helpful when dealing with my random life!

What an interesting and engaging puzzle! Thanks for sharing this, it's always fun to learn new stuff and truly get the community involved. Good stuff @papa-pepper

I agree, this was a lot of fun and excellent help from the community!

I believe it is a Druidic Rune from somewhere in Europe, Possibly England or France. It appears that is a copy, and not old.

I thought it was some sort of replica myself. Thanks for the input!

I'm impressed with how fast you got an answer! Having a smart global community on call for questions is a real asset that we each have here on Steemit!

No kidding! I figured, I've got friends all over the world now, why not ask them?

Very interested to find out @papa-pepper. Keep us informed.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.39 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 27 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41