Last Light - MyPictureDay Submission

in #mypictureday6 years ago

Hi Steemians! We are being blessed with some lovely warm weather here at the moment so I took the opportunity to head back up to the West Coast of Scotland for another adventure! I can't wait to share where I have been, but first I would love to share this AMAZING sunset with you all! - Verity x

The West Coast of Scotland is such a special place and will always be somewhere I love to go. Now that most my family live there I am so lucky to get to stay and enjoy this place more and more! The last time I went up was rather cold so this time I was making sure to make the most of the warmer weather, although not that warm I have to say! The evening I got there we went down to the shore to watch the sun go down, armed with some plastic cups and some wine.... what a way to spend the evening!

IMG_5921.jpg

The sunset started with really cool tones and lots of clouds, we weren't sure it was going to get very colourful at all. But as we had got really comfortable we thought we would stay anyway! I was waiting ready for a magical evening with my Canon 6D and 17-40mm lens, its my favourite and the lens I find to be most versatile when walking around! It is rather heavy and big to carry around but whenever I don't have it with me I always regret it!

IMG_5923.jpg

The clouds started to separate more and more and some golder tones started to appear on the horizon. Its amazing how this view is never the same, and the ONLY sounds you could hear were the birds and the waves, something I am just not used to....

IMG_5956.jpg

Over to the left of the horizon you can see a gap in the islands, inbetween these islands is the Corryvreckan Whirlpool, as a family we took a boat trip over it when we were younger and the experience has stayed with me! At one point all you could see was waves around the boat as the whirpool surrounded us, it was a surreal experience! It is the 3rd largest whirpool in the World so its to be taken seriously! As we sat across the sea you could just hear the waves of the whirpool crashing onto the shores either side.

IMG_5965.jpg

As I was taking in this amazing peaceful view we started to see more colour appear in the sky and got a bit excited!

IMG_5978.jpg

I have to say that my camera was bringing out the colours way more than what our eyes were able to see. The red/orange tones were so beautiful and I am so glad I had my wide angle with me to capture all of this scene!

IMG_5980.jpg

I don't tend to take many portrait photographs but this shot really came to be, I loved the bit of the shore line in the frame to give it context and the rocks reaching out into the sea.

IMG_5984.jpg

As the time went on we started to see purple colours appear and it was so magical. It was so quiet still with not a soul in sight, it was amazing. Earlier this day we had seen porpoises swim across this bay from their house, I mean, does it get much better than that! This place is so special and witnessing these sunsets is so amazing.

IMG_6023.jpg

As the sun started to make its way below the horizon sun rays started poking their way through the clouds. Beautiful rays reaching out into the sky through the colours.

IMG_6038.jpg

IMG_6052.jpg

And one last shot before the sun disappeared to come back another day.

IMG_6062.jpg

Untitled-1.jpg

- Verity x
Photography by me and copyrighted to me.
Please UPVOTE / RESTEEM / FOLLOW to support my work on Steemit - Thank you!

Sort:  

It's really beautiful, wonderful photos.

great way to end a day! amazing shots, as usual 😊

Thank you! It was perfect, I wish all ends of days were like this!

Awesome shot and great light...a nice way to end the day ;)

Thank you so much :)

Beautiful sunset.

It really was!

Sunset with the great drink is the best combination, what I know :-)

Yup I agree!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84