Taking some time for Myself and my Self (MyPictureDay)

in #mypictureday7 years ago (edited)

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I just need time to myself.


IMG_9650.JPG


Time to be alone.

Time to be still.

Time to rest.

Time to explore.

Time that doesn’t involve compromises.

Time to do what I want.

Time that is spent without answering to anyone.


IMG_9651.JPG


I don’t get time like this often.

I’m guessing that most people don’t. Intentionally taking time for myself like this is, for me, anyway, much easier said than done.


IMG_9649.JPG


Lately, I have been feeling very burnt out. So, for the first time since before my son was born, which was over four years ago, I took the day off work, brought my children to nursery school, and spent the morning and afternoon by myself.

In order to really relax, I went to a bathhouse.


IMG_9657.JPG


My shoulder and hip have been bothering me for the better part of the past six months. Mostly every day they are knotted and sore. Though I’ve been going to a doctor and doing physical therapy during this time, for some reason, I am losing my range of motion, especially in my left shoulder.

With the goal of loosening up that shoulder, I spent the first twenty minutes of my time at the bathhouse moving back and forth from a hot bath with jets to a cold bath. I then spent another twenty minutes sitting in an outdoor bathtub listening to the sounds of an artificial waterfall and enjoying the warmth of the sun on my face.

I did so until I became hungry.


IMG_9659.JPG


Then I changed, ordered one of my favorite summertime dishes, hiyashi chukka (a chilled noodle dish served with a vinegar sauce), enjoyed a cup of green tea, and laid down on some cushions while waiting for my lunch to be prepared.


IMG_9660.JPG


The nice thing about bathhouses is that you can lie down and rest anywhere without worrying about weather you are inconveniencing someone else.

That is what they are here for, for bathing, resting, eating, and sleeping.

After eating my lunch, I slowly sat and drank more tea and water, then I laid down with my head on my backpack, closed my eyes, and just drifted in and out of a light sleep for what felt like a long time.


IMG_9664.JPG


It was a perfect way to spend the morning and some of theafternoon:

Alone.

My mind half turned off.

Recharging.


IMG_9662.JPG


What do you do when you need time to yourself? How do you recharge and curb your fatigue?

<Image Credits: All images are original and were taken on an iPhone 6.

Sort:  

We relax for a bit when reading your relaxation ... I need this too. Was thinking about mediating but I wonder if I can do that ... With so many new things happening everyday ... sigh...

It's all been bubbling up. This crypto world moves so fast. I can't imagine being a day trader. If reading my post helped you relax for a second, I'm glad to hear it!

My goodness, I hope that your shoulders begins to feel better soon. I know how tough it can be when some type of nagging pain or injury just won't go away.

Hmm. What do I do when I need to relax. I typically go for a hike, at least when the weather is nice or take a book to a beach that isn't busy and just enjoy myself outside.

Thanks. I hope so too. Chronic pain is no fun. It can really take over your thoughts.

I actually thought about doing all the things you listed, climbing a mountain, going for a swim, buying a new book, but I opted for a day of complete rest instead. It was a good decision.

Beautiful, this is so important.
Time to simply be, reflect, at ease.
For me it's daily gongfu tea.
But the days away, fasting from society altogether...priceless.
Thanks for sharing this with us. ~:)

Thanks for reading. I'm going to have to track down some gongfu tea and try it. That's one I'm not familiar with.

Thanks! I will check this out later.

'Gongfu' with great skill, with leisure, is a method of tea preparation originating in China... I'll have to make a video soon. :) But let me find one here, from the source...

I know the feeling. Time alone, in a quiet setting, no kids around and a nice cup of coffee or something!

Those are rare moments, aren't they? And when the kids grow up and those moments become more frequent, I suspect they won't be as fulfilling. The merciless blade of a catch 22. Sigh:)

I think you are right, unfortunately!

I think that time for yourself is one of the most important things in life, especially when busy. Thanks for sharing those pics, @boxcarblue, I have just upvoted your post!

It is, for sure. They say there is a fine line between being selfish and fulfilling yourself so you can give more to others. I took a day to recharge so that I can be all I can be everywhere else. It's a must do from time to time. Thanks for the upvote!

WOW, I could use a day like that! And the picture of your lunch looks amazing. Lately the only thing I've been doing to recharge is take a nap. I've never taken naps before this year but it's the perfect break for mind and body.

It seems like you've been really busy lately. I imagine the naps feel great. If you come to Japan, you could set up shop at a bathhouse like this: bring your computer and do some work, take a bath, have something to eat, take a nap, and repeat.

That sounds amazingly tempting. I may have to put that on my bucket list of things to do before I die. :D

I highly recommend doing so.

Is time to be happy and to act like we are!

It is. And taking care of your physical and mental health can go a long way toward making that an easy everyday reality.

Nice phonography :)
The name of the dish on your sixth image?
Thanks for sharing.

In Japan it's called hiyashi chukka. Or, cold Chinese noodles. The kanji is this, 冷やし中華.

Taking time to yourself is always important. Nice relaxing photos here.

I like to run when I am feeling fatigued. Sounds counter-intuitive, but it works.

Exercise is funny like that, isn't it? I like cycling as well. Thanks for the comment!

Glad you got a day to take it easy man.
Sounds like a good one too.

It was much needed. Honestly, though, I really could have used one more day. I'm sure you're in need of a few days to yourself as well.

I know what you mean. Two days in a row of just me time would be so awesome.

How's your bed btw?
I've been thinking about getting a new one. Currently using a box spring bed - it sucks...
My back and shoulder are always out of whack.

It's nice. But with four people sleeping in it, it might as well be a park bench:) I sleep on the very edge and am always stiff and sore in the morning.

yeah, man. I can imagine. Suppose I'll be there pretty soon, too.

There were four in the bed and the little one said, Roll over. Roll over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62622.21
ETH 3446.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50