My Name is What? A Writing Contest by @steemitachievers - let's go for it!

in #mynameiswhat6 years ago (edited)

We are going viral again - for sure!

This time with a contest called "My Name is What" by @steemitachievers.
Being tagged by @psionic-tremors in her post about her name, I have no other choice than participating ;)
You really need to read her entry - it's very interesting !!!

Why pundito is the question to be answered here.

OK, the story begins at my work about 11.5 years ago. At that time I was a purchaser for - among other things - Asus computer components.
Suddenly they had barebones / mini PCs on their price list and one was called "Pundit" or "P1-PH1".


pic source

So I wondered directly:
"What does Pundit mean and why would a Taiwanese PC components producer call their PC Pundit?"

I found some synonyms for pundit and learned that it is a variant form of pandit.
Source: Google
The in my opinion best explanation come from Merriam-Webster.

Quote from above link (I see a Cheetah attack approaching 😱)

Did You Know?

The original pundits were highly respected teachers and leaders in India. Their title was taken from the Hindi word pandit, a term of respect for a wise person that itself derives from the Sanskrit pandita, meaning "learned." English speakers began using the form pundit specifically to refer to those Hindu sages as long ago as the 1600s. By the 1800s, they had also extended the term to refer to other sagacious individuals, and now pundit is often used with a hint of sarcasm to refer to informed opinion makers (such as political commentators, financial analysts, and newspaper columnists) who boldly share their views (sometimes at great length) on just about any subject that lies within their areas of expertise.

But we are not there, yet ... actually, my name is pundito, not pundit or pandit.
This 'o' is the simplest part to explain: for my (German) ears most things with an 'o' attached to the end sound weaker / smaller. A sort of belittlement.

What does the name mean to me?

This wise man definition was what I liked because I think the first step to wisdom is to recognize that you know, you know nothing but try to learn every day.
Am I arrogant using a name like this? I don't think so as long as you keep in mind my idea of wisdom.
What do you think?

Would I change it if I could?

No, why should I. My first thought for a name on steemit was pundito and the first thought is the best thought - at least that's what is said.

If you like the contest follow this link to read the 'rules' and how-to.

Now it's tagging time 😎

The nominees are: @cecicastor, @himshweta, @kabibitak, @mitneb, @soundwavesphoton
Why I chose these steemians you might ask. I looked through the list of active steemians and have names, that in my opinion need an explanation.
I was thinking about @marcovanhassel too - but I'm afraid he would make it within one sentence :)

Thanks for taking the time to read my little My name is What story.

Happy easter and steem on!

Sort:  

love the explanation! thanks for joining the contest dear

Thanks for the call-out challenge, @pundito. I accept!
Cheers!

WOW, cool @mitneb :)
After I posted this I thought you might be too busy at the moment as you mentioned on Discord.
But I forgot about it while I wrote the post.
Glad you join :)

I hope I can pull it off, @pundito. I will try to get something out tomorrow!
Cheers!

Take your time @mitneb ;)
No pressure here - just curious :) :)

Pundits, originally, were from India, and were like Jedi Monks?

Actually, I don't know enough about Jedi Monks ... but maybe :)

I like computers. I like history. Interesting name and backstory. Thanks for sharing. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. Happy Easter 2018.

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts, reply with STOP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66