My Name is What? A Writing Contest by @steemitachievers - my entry

This is a nice contest from @steemitachievers to participate! Write about your steemit name 😃. Sometimes you see odd names and wonder how the people came up with them - or do you have such a name? Explain to others how and why you chose it. ...fun right ?😃
I have to say thank you to @thedarkhorse for tagging me 👏. His entry here is worth a read.

If you want to join the fun: Here you go

Here comes my entry :

Please write about your Steemit name

To explain my name, i put the main attention to the word "Psionic" first.
The word “Psionic” is a fusion of psi (the mind) and -onic (electronic).
The idea behind this fusion was to create a word that stands for mental powers working just as reliably as an electronic machine and it was coined in the year 1956 by a science fiction editor.
The word psionic refers to psychic skills relating to the mind, such as telepathy, telekinesis or psychokinesis, precognition and is mostly used in modern science fiction.
And that's how i found the words 'Psionic Tremors'...reading a science fiction comic. That should have been around 1995.
psionictremor.jpg

Pic Source

Why you chose it and what it means to you?

As I said above, I read this comic written in english as i was searching for a psychedelic bandname for the band i was playing in. My english skills were very poor at that time but i instantly thought that the words 'psionic tremors' would make a perfect bandname.
Having no computer with google at that time i tried to find out what exactly was meant with psionic tremor. I mean i had a clue from the whole context in the comic and knowing what psi is, but i wanted the exact meaning of the word psionic. After reading in dictionaries and lexicons i came to the conclusion that it must be the ability of perceiving or sending things by means other than the known senses.
So i thought this bandname could stand for the psychedelic effects - the tremors😉 - we used in our music which can be heard with extrasensory perception 😉.
But guess what - my band colleagues did not like the name 😱.
So here we are years later - i'm not playing in a band anymore, but i make music at home with my instruments and the computer. A few years ago when it started to get difficult for people using comercial music in their videos, i got the idea to share my music as free music for anybody to use ...if they like it 😉. And yes ...you know it ...i did not had a lot to think about my name to go online with my music🙃.
When i created my steemit account of course i chose the same name with the intention to post some music from time to time whenever a song is ready....😂

Given the chance to be able to change it, will you?

Now that i've learned about steemit, to be active, post a lot and comment a lot,so my music is only a small percentage of my posts, i might would think twice if i should use this name. Maybe i would use only psionic 🙂 . But still i'm comfortable with it 🙂.

Steemitnames i would like to know more about are :

@pundito
@artisticscreech
@gurugnu
@psilocybit
@thepinksuitcase
@alienbutt
@globocop

go ahead and tell us!

Sort:  

I am sooo up for this... Been asked many times.... So, I shall reveal...

Love your explanation of the name - always wondered.
Happy Easter weekend!

Thank you so much! I'm looking forward to your revelation 😃
For you also a happy easter weekend!!

Dog lover and pulled a name from a comic book...yup we will get along just fine! Love that even after your name was rejected by the band you held onto the idea and used it later.

Thanks for sharing. Was very curious about your name...had no clue where it came from.

I have never forgotten the name. I was so sad that the boys did not want it. Now i'm happy because i can use the name for much longer time😊. Glad i could enlighten you a bit😉.

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and you must be a super hero like Storm. Love it.

Ha ha - if i would be like storm i could manipulate the weather and i could fly. In this case we would have nice spring weather by now 😉

Awesome. Bring on the filthy. Just kidding. That might be an inside joke from a show. Bring on the good weather. Was in Hawaii and Vietnam. You rock, Storm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97