My Name is What? EnergyAddict22 - Writing Contest

in #mynameiswhat6 years ago (edited)

Chromatic Oil Field Shot.jpg

This is my entry to the My Name is What? contest. The contest itself was created by @steemitachievers. Here is a link to their contest. It's looks like a lot of fun for those that have ambiguous Steemit handles. https://steemit.com/mynameiswhat/@steemitachievers/my-name-is-what-a-writing-contest-by-steemitachievers

I saw this contest done by one of my favorite steemians @thedarkhorse. He is definitely worth a follow so check out his post and page. https://steemit.com/mynameiswhat/@thedarkhorse/my-name-is-what-thedarkhorse-writing-contest

Divider Steemit.png

My Name is What? - EnergyAddict22

My name doesn't have a great deal of mystery and isn't too incredibly interesting, but here is an explanation as to why I chose it. I am an energy analyst living in Russia. Russia is an energy powerhouse, which is one reason that I chose to live here. I love studying energy in all its manifestations, but I especially enjoy the economics of the energy sphere.

Energy is more important than money. It is what truly makes the world go! Without it, we lack the ability to anything that we find relevant in the modern world. Therefore, the topic is very addictive to me because it has so many applications to our daily lives. Some of the great examples of how it shapes our lives and the world around us that most people don't consider.

13407316_10207361473248411_1791269366889311641_n.jpg

  1. Energy alleviates poverty. Yes, more than money. Imagine what can be done when an undeveloped nation has access to affordable electricity or other forms of energy. Imagine being able to read by electric light instead of a candle. How powerful is the ability to use electricity to educate people and provide a clean cooking environment in the home?

  2. Most global conflict is centered around energy resources. Want to know why the U.S. is bombing country A? Look at the energy issues surrounding that country. Some examples in recent history - Iraq (huge oil reserves), Iran (Largest natural gas reserves in the world and a need to generate cheap electricity via nuclear), Syria (small oil and gas reserves, but situated in the path of desired gas and oil pipelines from the Middle East to Europe). Libya, Nigeria, Bangladesh, etc. The list goes on and on.

  3. International Relations/Global Politics. Want to know why the EU and the U.S. keep putting pressure on Russia? Look at the resources in the Russian Federation and look at the "targeting sanctions". You want find the Ford, Coca Cola, or Nissan plants in Russia targeted, but you will find the biggest energy companies in the country on the list. Why? Mostly because Russia has the 2nd largest oil and gas reserves in the world. They also generate huge amounts of cheap electricity for their citizens giving them a competitive advantage over their EU neighbors who they supply with huge amounts of gas. I'm sure some of you really thought it was about Crimea. Which country does most of the gas from Russia to Europe travel through? Yep, Ukraine. Starting to get the picture?

twilight rig 1.jpg

So, I'm an addict. I admit it. I think about energy all the time and everyday. I think about windmills and electric cars and how to affordably get electricity to sub-Saharan African countries. I think about how much fuel it takes to move a tanker loaded with iPhones from China to the U.S.

One of my favorite explanations about energy's dominance in our world was given recently by a crypto innovator that explained that in the grand scheme of things crypto currency is still small potatoes compared to $10 billion dollar oil deals being conducted by a 24 year-old with the press of a button while eating a sandwich.

Energy is like a bad relationship for me. I love it, but it dominates my life more than I would like. If I could change my name, I would drop the 22 at the end of it since it has no real relevance. I created it not realizing that it would be my permanent handle on Steemit. So, it stays for now. Maybe they will let me change it in the future.

oil fields skyline.jpg

Divider Steemit.png

Here are my tags for others to try out this challenge. You will all have to hurry to participate in the contest, but I think you should do the challenge regardless.

@americantraveler
@krusper
@practicalthought
@leeart
@jokossita
@mtnmeadowmomma

Divider Steemit.png

Photos by Jerry Mathes III - Used with permission.

Like this article? Please resteem, upvote and comment.
Don't like it? Comment and tell me why. Let's discuss it.
All intelligent comments get an upvote for effort (even if I disagree).
Send me a copy of one of your posts and I will try to read it quickly.

Follow me on:

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/jr.byers.58
VK - https://vk.com/id185155240
Discord - energyaddict

Divider Steemit.png

DQmarWRv4wXiqPZbmtDCDRTwE5jewDQrG1ATrXcFrTThxht.gif

Sort:  

You got a 50.00% upvote and resteem from @ebargains courtesy of @energyaddict22. Thank you for using the @ebargains UPVOTE and RESTEEM bot.

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting bot's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the bot's SP pool at the end of EACH voting round! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

I figured you came up with EnergyAddict because you used to be able to down 3-4 Red Bull energy drinks in one day! (: But the 22 is 100% because it's your favorite daughters birthday. You could at least give me that!

Ah, the secret is out! Yes, my absolute favorite, most awesome and precious daughter's birthday. ;)

I have already done this challenge. I was hoping to read what the 22 was all about but got disappointed. Good luck with the challenge!

You didn't think it was my age? lol Just my favorite number. haha.

Meaning the year you were born? lol!

Not sure I will be able to participate in this one. I upvoted and resteemed, although not sure how much that will affect your odds of influencing the judges.

While admittedly I am far from an expert on either resources or sub-Saharan African countries, it seems to me that they have plenty of resources at their disposal. The problem if I remember correctly was in the greed of the ruling class not allowing their people to own any of the resources on their property. The clampdown (which the US has been headed towards as well) gives a disincentive to utilize any of the resources to the advantage of the people as the ruling class would rather profit directly by selling the resources to big business and foreign interests.

Given that it appears the people there are unable or unwilling to stand up to the corruption (also a growing problem in the U.S.) it appears that if things will ever change for them it will have to come from outside pressure on the companies/bankers who subsidize/profit from this paradigm.

Many countries in Africa have energy resources, but the poorest don't. However, even the poorest have other resources at their disposal and you are spot on regarding the mismanagement of these potential sources of income. Of course, with increased education and wealth that would result from access to electricity comes the inevitable increase in wages, which nobody in power wants.

I might be an energy addict too hehe. Thanks for sharing. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. Happy Easter 2018.

Happy Easter to you as well. There is plenty of room in the boat for more energy addicts. ;) Taking a gander at your latest post now.

My reply must not have posted...was having some connections. Anyways it was thoughtful and amazing, instead you just get a Nice Job! lol...seriously thanks for sharing about your name and the nice words you said about me.

My pleasure as always. Sorry to hear your amazing comment didn't make it past the internet Gremlins. ;)

Happens sometimes...lol.

BTW, check out my new contest.

You got a 58.65% upvote from @mitsuko courtesy of @energyaddict22! .

Join our team and delegate your SP to earn passive income.
Get part of 80% @mitsuko profit based on your delegated SP
Delegate 10 SP
Delegate 100 SP
Delegate 200 SP
Delegate 300 SP
Delegate 500 SP
Delegate 1000 SP

or custom delegation SP

Congrats! This post was resteemed and upvoted by @postresteem!

Send 0.500 SBD or 0.500 STEEM to @postresteem with your post URL in the memo. Get your post resteemed to 7000+ followers and get a minimum of 25+ upvotes!

Want to learn more? Click here!

This post got upvoted by @goldenwhale

✔ Upvote Service for Minnows │ 2.5x upvote Return

Yes, energy is a big deal regarding the US and wars, but there is also one other huge issue you didn't mention.

  • Central banks owned by 5 or 6 family dynasties. The same dynasties own every single central bank in the world except...
    • Iran, Syria, North Korea, Cuba
      • Recently acquired central banks by the Rothschilds and other family dynasties include Afghanistan, Iraq, Sudan, Libya.
  • Are you seeing a pattern here?

I'll never forget seeing Secretary of State Hillary on live TV beaming with enthusiasm about how a new Libyan central bank had been setup for the "freedom fighters." This was about 7 or 8 days into the war. I was like ::shrug:: now I know why we are there... And then come to find out Muammar Gaddafi was about to release a gold based currency to help all of Africa out of poverty.

  • Also Iran and Iraq had stopped trading oil in USD. So that's not too good for the "elites" who rule the world.

Trump was very vocal about why do we "liberate" a country only to rebuild the petro infrastructure and then turn it over. It was turned over to the likes of BP and other huge oil congolomerates... He hasn't fixed any of that problem...

The oil economy is fascinating and I look forward to you sharing more information about your understanding of it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56166.62
ETH 2397.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37