Winner Winner Winner Guess the catfish weight... 96#

Here's the original contest post

wheelbarrow.jpg

Winner of the share of #SteemBasicIncome

The closest guess in pounds wins a share of #SteemBasicIncome.

30 Guesses:

  1. 236 @giddyupngo
  2. 233 @wolfhart
  3. 230 @nickbuha
  4. 225 @myhuntingfishing
  5. 210 @galacticvagabond
  6. 208 @wrath-of-grapes
  7. 190 @simplymike
  8. 180 @sinlg
  9. 172 @prnavas84
  10. 169 @offgridlife
  11. 167 @alaskahippie
  12. 165 @synergysteem
  13. 158 @gduran
  14. 150 @thethreehugs
  15. 149 @mineopoly
  16. 143 @fitinfun
  17. 138 @kraitahex
  18. 135 @smithlabs
  19. 130 @basicstoliving
  20. 126.5 @motinkergnome
  21. 120 @bengy
  22. 118 @alevaskye
  23. 118 @curatorcat
  24. 114 @j85063
  25. 108 @artzanolino
  26. 107 @oregontravel
  27. 100 @barton26
  28. 93 @wonderwop
  29. 92 @markusmichael
  30. 90 @donskoy

So, WizarDave, how much did it weigh???

  • drum roll... ... .. . ...

    96 #
    Winning Comment.PNG

Congratulations @wonderwop

You won a share of SBI!

  • There may be a delay in getting you set up according to this post

Here's my transfer to set you up...
SBI Winner.PNG

Winner of the dolphin keychains

keychain 2.jpg

You get 1 ticket into a random drawing for upvoting this post.
You get 1 ticket into another random drawing for resteeming this post.

I used this random picker tool

And the winners are...

For upvoting @xwalkran

Upvote Winner.PNG
I'm sending you a private message through the wallet with my email address.

  • If you could email me your snail mail address, I will get this sent out...

For resteeming @BasicsToLiving

Resteem Winner.PNG

I'm sending you a private message through the wallet with my email address.

  • If you could email me your snail mail address, I will get this sent out...

Congratulations to all the winners.

How does JP do it?

I'll also go over a few things in that post about like:
The setup he uses.
The bait he uses.
What part of the Missouri River he fishes.
... ...
Is he available as a guide? HINT probably...

His setup
He calls it trotlining, but I call it limb lining.

  • He only uses 1 hook per line.
    • He found he only catches one fish per trotline, so all those extra hooks and bait didn't gain him anything.
      • A catfish turns and turns and turns once caught on a line.
  • He only sets 1 line per hole.
    • He puts lines in 25 or 30 good producing holes...
      • 20-50 feet of line + a big swivel + about 6' of line + a big hook
        Tied to a stump or tree on the bank or an island.
  • He uses a big flat bottom aluminum boat with about a 100hp motor to navigate the river.

Bait

  • His top producing bait is up to 3# mudcats. I call them yellow bellies (catfish).
    • Sometimes he fishes for them, but usually just uses a cast net.

Where
He lives in Rock Port, MO.
He fishes in the Missouri River around the Nishnabotna River
several miles up and down stream.

Would he guide you?
Probably.

  • If you're interested, let me know and I can help you get in touch with him.
    • What would it be worth to you to get in on some action like this?

Can you eat a fish this big?
You bet!!! Delicious!!!

  • JP's secret is to cut the tail and hang them head up to let them bleed out for several hours.
    • Some of the best meat is the belly on these big ones!
      • There is very little dark meat to cut out.

Any other questions???
Let me know in the comments. I will try to get an answer...

Public Service Announcement - Phishing Sites

@simplymike got phished.
Phishing is posting a copycat link to trick you into giving them your password.

  • It was quite the ordeal to recover her account, get rid of the spam messages posted using her name, ...
  • Here's my entry
    • Hover Look b4u Click...
      • Help spread the message!
wizsmall.png
Who I am

@WizarDave
Sort:  

Wow, I was way over! I will know better next time!

I think that is just something built into being a fisherman! haha

  • When you hold up your hands to show how big the fish is, they always seem to end up wider than the fish was. I blame it on my bifocals haha
    • We always seem to double the size of the fish that got away...
      Not intentionally.
      It's just something that seems to happen...
      • ::shrug::

Upvoting, but having seen some 110# Missouri catfish in person, that picture sure doesn't do it justice, looks more like a 47#.
Where is the scale validation?

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Thank you @wizardave I can't believe I won. I love @steembasicincome thank you for sponsoring a great contest. 👍👍

Congrats! Yes SBI is a very cool program.

  • You're quite welcome! good guess!

woww, big catch 😱 nice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67128.03
ETH 3788.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74