ScholarsPH Blog #4: Always A "Jolly" Day! Our 2nd Scholar, Carlo

in #myfundition6 years ago (edited)

@scholarsph aims to uplift the Philippine community through education - one youth at a time. The group will support tertiary-level or collegiate students by providing funds for their school fees and allowance.

Get to know how the program started by reading our introductory post.

Meet Carlo, Our "Jolly" Scholar

17626365_1418425808231768_2175992797831549548_n.png

Name: Carlo L. Campo
Nickname: Carlo/Caloy
Course: Bachelor of Science and Business Management
School Year: 2018-2019 (4th Year)
Address: Sta Rosa, Laguna Philippines
Age: 22


Carlo is your typical student with extraordinary dreams

Here is his heartfelt story that is shared by him to us. Some parts are written in Tagalog and I (@tpkidkai) just translated them into English for the other supporters of the project.

I originally came from Sorsogon, Bicol and I have 6 siblings, the reason why mother decided to send me to my aunt here in Laguna. I used to work on my Aunt's Carenderia ( Small Eatery) and as a return, she provided for my education from elementary until high school.

Being away from my family became so hard. In my birthday, recognition even Christmas and New Year I am not with them. Then my Aunt's Carinderia isn't earning that much anymore and that is why I decided to work, to provide for my tuition fee.

I became a service crew in Jollibee. At first it was really hard because I need to make some adjustments with regards to my schedule. I am studying in the morning and then working until evening, most of the time I went home around 12 AM. In my second year in college my father passed away followed by my older brother, I went into a depression at that time because of what happened

But then I realized that I need to be really strong for them so that I can help my family further. I got back, lift myself and focused on what lies ahead. I have a huge dream for my family and that is why I am willing to sacrifice for them. Life taught me that it's gonna be hard but its all worth it. God always has the purpose. I'm a 4th-year student now and so close to achieving my dreams.

Why Carlo was chosen as a recipient of the project?



One of the key factors why he was referred by me is because I do know Carlo personally and I know how he struggles in his final year. The last year is not only time consuming but also draining each and everyone's pocket because of the thesis. Aside from that, the team was touched on his life story as he managed to reach his last year with him supporting his school fees.

Service crews don't earn that much and an additional budget of at least $20.00/ month can really make an impact on his life.


Currently, we plan to have 4 students to support on this project, with two already introduced. Our target is to have a representative for each major island group in the country. We'll be selecting 2 more students in the our applicant's roster based on one who needs it the most. We'll post about the new scholars in the next few weeks.

Once we have enough funds to support another student as reported in ScholarsPH Blog #3: Week 1 Financial Report of the Project we will open another slot for them, but we are still accepting applications now for the new student that wants to avail this program. If you are interested you can fill out this form


Our deepest gratitude to our biggest sponsors:

@fundition

@adollaraday

And to everyone who donated and upvoted:

Thank you and Mabuhay!


This post was written by @tpkidkai with images provided by @jazzhero and Carlo .

You can view our official Fundition project page on the Fundition site.

Sort:  

It is great to see another young person being added to the scheme.

A Dollar A Day is delighted to be supporting this excellent project.



Thank you so much Chris, for your continued support. More power! ☺

I am happy that I can help your great project through A Dollar A Day.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


It's thanks to you Chris and all the backers of A Dollar A Day :) We'll surely add more students in the coming weeks. Cheers and more power to your initiative!

Looking forward to more developments.

another dreamer will be given a little support and hopefully this can help him succeed in this crucial year of his studies
Kudos Carlo.

This project is being supported by @Fundition

Fundition is a next-generation, decentralized, peer-to-peer crowdfunding and collaboration platform, built on the Steem blockchain.

#upfundition and #fundition tags on Steem represent the projects that are started on https://fundition.io.

Are You Prepared to Make the World a Better Place too?

Read the full details of Fundition Fund program

Learn more about Fundition by reading our purplepaper

Join a community with heart based giving at its core
steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png

Wonderful project chiefs!

Guri-bro. Thanks for the support! If you know any student who needs support, check out the application process here on this post.

P.S. if you also want to donate some STEEM or SBD those are greatly appreciated ;)

Hahaha nahihiya oa si @jazzhero na mag comment nyan kaya ako na ang nag-message.

Sosko para naman kayong others! Lol!
Syempre suportahan ko yan!
Barya nga lang pa laman ng wallet ko ngayon, naipowerup ko na eh.
Yung makukuha ko na lang na post payout dito sa post ko idodonate ko dyan :)

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Kailan pa kaya ako makasali sa scholarship

fill out po kyo ng form @labgo :)

whre po ang form? fill up po ako..salamat sa pag reply

andito po sa blog. nasa last part, basa po tayo ng maigi :)

Done Na po...sana makuha ako....

This is really a great project @tpkidkai. As we all know, most number of Filipinos are struggling to pursue studies, which we all know could provide us better future. More power to @scholarsph and more students to support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66263.69
ETH 3419.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63