MyDailyColor: Calm after the storm

in #mydailycolor6 years ago (edited)

I was tagged by @eii to join MyDailyColor challenge and this is my color for today, Sunday, September 16, 2018.
20150425_065514.jpg
I took his photo on a very sunny day which I actually tagged on Facebook with an excerpt from Garth Brook’s song “The Storm.”
“Someday days just roll on by
Without a grey cloud in the sky.”

I would like to think it this way that the weather is very good and the storm is over.

Yesterday, northern Philippines was hit by the super typhoon of the year, typhoon Mangkhut (local name Ompong). The central landfall of the storm in Cagayan Valley is more than 300 kilometers away from our locality but my relatives definitely felt the effect intensively. I received SMS at pass one o’clock in the afternoon that flood water is about to enter the first floor. I was able to contact my elder brother to check on those at the first floor. After that, I can no longer get in touch with anyone. I cried out on Facebook and my nieces somehow replied: phone services of both our two telcos are down. But they were able to get into Facebook so data service is still okay. Great! And because of that I see how the storm is hitting our place. Floods and landslides were everywhere.

Baguio City which is around 1,400 meters above sea level looked like a sea in itself. Many heart-breaking photos are scattered on Facebook. And those are just in Baguio and Benguet. How much more in Cagayan? I saw in the news that Aparri, a municipality in Cagayan, became a ghost town. According to my niece, depth of the flood in our area is a stand high. Give or take, that is around 1.7 meters high while our first floor is just about one meter from the ground.

The storm was out of Philippine area of responsibility as of last night. I see on Facebook that people in Hong Kong are bracing themselves as the storm moves on to their place.

The weather is cloudy but calm in Metro Manila.
Screenshot_20180916-101925.jpg
Screenshot from 1Weather app

I gathered the rain and flood have subsided in the province though electricity and telecommunication services are still out. I cannot go home because roads to Baguio are still closed due to landslide. I can only pray that those victims, especially in Cagayan, will be able to recover very soon.

Edit after seven hours from my original posting of this article: With electricity and communication lines restored, I got better information and confirmation that though the flood is about that 1.7m high in some areas, and some residents have evacuated, the flood did not enter our house. It was still about a foot below the floor. What drenched the people at the first floor was the rain water that was forcefully being blown by strong winds and got into window sills.


Join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Sort:  

howdy macoolette....oh my well that was kinda severe wasn't it with all the flooding and all, sorry to hear that. What do you mean you can't go home? Where are you now?

I'm in Metro Manila.

Congratulations @macoolette!
You are welcome to MyDailyColor Challenge.

I was actually surprised that you tagged me. ;p

@macoolette
I saw you love photography, and I invited you.

I see. That's nice of you. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67241.85
ETH 3492.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68