My Curie Story

in #mycuriestory6 years ago (edited)

I think most people came to Steemit for profit. Who else will give you the money for free or for your creativity? No one. Well, if you know someone like that, let me know... I wasn't an exception, but I never wrote a blog, and I have no hobby that I would have regularly been doing, so I was still waiting for some fame. (I think artists have a significant advantage on Steemit.) So I've been searching for a few months about what I should write and what kind of articles attracts people.

Sometimes I was lucky, and some article went over the dollar, but otherwise, I was desperate, and I was thinking about quitting Steemit. Where's the glory and wealth?

You try to write the best articles, but fame is still not coming.


I tried almost everything (art, travel, photography, anime, movies, nature, animals, ...). But then my boyfriend came to me and said that I could try writing some posts about games.

Well, games, but it's not that easy. I'm a horrible noob in most of the games and thanks to school and (earlier) to my parents who didn't allow me to play games, I didn't play them, or it was so long ago that I won't know what to write, but I tried it. If it doesn't work, I'll continue searching my main.

My first attempt was Rise of the Tomb Raider from the perspective of a woman who last played Tomb Raider: Anniversary. Almost 11$ in rewards was a pretty nice amount that motivated me to continue writing about games.

In my second gaming article, I decided to introduce my favorite game Dragon Age Inquisition - The game I adore and do you know what happened? I got my first @curie vote. OMG, what is this Curie, and why it gave me such a big upvote? Of course, I had to tell it to my friends. Resp. to one friend. And also my boyfriend. I knew there is some Curie even before, but I still didn't manage to attract their attention. But that changed from the post mentioned above.

My third gaming post Until Dawn - The Scariest Game I Wanted to Play got this comment:

Great review. Your post was submitted to Curie by one of the curator. Please use upvote service eg. Randowhale, Minnowsupport etc for your post after 24 hours since Curie will reject any post above $1SBD. Good Luck

English is not my native language, so the second half of the comment was quite confusing to me, but I patiently waited for my article to be approved or not. And I didn't wait for too long. This post has become my best article (in reward). It's still my only article that has exceeded over the 100$ limit and which was on gaming trending page for quite some time. You can't even imagine how happy I was! In the end, all my efforts have paid off!

Since then, @curie has come back to my gaming articles quite regularly within gaming community support. So @playfullfoodie and @jodipamungkas, I don't know whose merit it is (probably both), but I must thank you very much. Thanks to Curie, I finally found some meaning in my presence on Steemit and desire to write.

So what is Curie for me?


Curie is one of the few groups which are based on meritocracy. Meritocracy was a totally new word for me, and I never heard it before my arrival on Steemit. So I had to look at Wikipedia:

Meritocracy (merit, from Latin mereō, and -cracy, from Ancient Greek κράτος kratos "strength, power") is a political philosophy which holds that certain things, such as economic goods or power, should be vested in individuals on the basis of talent, effort and achievement.

It's essentially the thing that Steemit was based on, and which doesn't work at all. Who doesn't have the money to use bid bots or to invest in Steem Power doesn't exist on Steemit at all, and it comes to me that now it's even worse than before. I used the bid bot only once to promote my contest (which didn't work at all), and I condemn using them. Thanks to those people who use them (I mean, those who get hundreds of dollars from bid bots), Trending page completely lost its meaning, and I'm sad every time I see it.

In today's situation, rich ones are getting wealthier and poor remain poor.


So we should greatly appreciate Curie and all the other curators for their hard work in search of undervalued authors of quality content in all that spam and shitposts because nobody else will do it. Thanks to their existence, I don't feel sorry to spend x hours writing some looooooong article because I never know who can notice it.

Of course, the advantage is if you write posts in English, but if you don't know this language, you don't have to despair as Curie's support comes even to smaller communities, including national ones.

So I thank Curie for not only thinking of themselves but also of the others, and helping me and other talented authors to grow. To give you my witness vote was a clear choice and I'm sorry that I can't give more of them to you!





May the seed be with you! :D

Sort:  

The first day I got a vote from Curie, though it wasn't big but it turned out to be the highest post payout I have received. He came with his family and touched my post, I can still remember the surprise and Joy in my heart that day

Yeah, same with me. I'm always so happy when I got some bigger vote from anybody.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 13 SBD worth and should receive 60 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I had the exact same thing happen when I was first starting out. I wrote a few articles, had some fun interactions, and was generally thrilled to break the $1 barrier. However, I was also getting discouraged - writing was fun, but it was taking hours to earn a few nickels. My first @curie vote gave me both the psychological boost I needed and exposure to find my community.

I think everybody (who is not famous, artist or rich) is experiencing this on the beginning, but we were those lucky ones who were noticed by @curie. When I think about it, if there were more curational groups and similarly minded individuals, the Steemit environment will be better, and maybe some spammers will change their behavior and start to write some more valuable posts.

My first @curie vote gave me both the psychological boost I needed and exposure to find my community.

Yeah, definitely, because huge payouts are the magnets in this community and who don't have it, is invisible. Now I don't know if I was that blind or just the bid bots weren't that popular in the past... Now every spammer has bigger payouts than normal people thanks to them.

Hi @pipiczech, nice to read your story! I am glad Curie found your posting :) To clear up something, Curie used to have a guideline that only posts with less than $1 pending payout could be approved for the big upvote. That guideline has actually changed since then, now the max pending payout on a post is $5. You can visit us on Discord for the most recent guidelines. Cheers - Carl

Thank you for stopping by, Carl! :)

Curie used to have a guideline that only posts with less than $1 pending payout

Yeah, I know that the guideline is different now, I read @curie's posts time to time, just my "top" Curied post is six months old grandpa :D However, it sounds pretty crazy, that there was just $1 limit a half year ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77