My Curie Story: Who Is @hendrikdegrote?! | Steemit Obsession Solidified!

in #mycuriestory6 years ago (edited)

6BFFAE34-521C-42F5-B453-CD9DEE4C9571.jpeg

I first read @carlgnash’s My Curie Story and was inspired by his encouragement to share mine!

We found Steemit through our friend, @lauralee. We’d been sharing our life on instagram and I’ve always kept a blog so it was a natural hop on over.

Of course, I did my background research to see if it was worth it. I came across a @stellabelle article on Medium that said that you could at least make $2 even by commenting. I thought that sounded like a pretty resonable goal. $2 a day for comments! Cool!

So I started off with that expectation- $2 a day for a post and commenting combined.

My goal here was always to build community, share our lifestyle/teach/learn and make enriching connections while hopefully providing some side income. I jumped right in with a pretty poor, picture-less intro post, but started building community from the start.

I slowly got the hang of formatting, tags, and the huge learning curve that is Steemit.com....

Okay, let me be honest...
It’s probably fair to say that I became obsessed!

I realized that I could indeed make at least $2 a day and I slowly hatched a plan to continue building up the account as a long term investment strategy.

I was hooked. But, little did I know what was waiting around the corner.

In the early days, I remember going to the tags and seeing the posts at the top and thinking, “How did this get so much money?! This post isn’t even very long!” Or basically, “This post is shit!” Haha

I spent hours making posts, finding the right pictures and corresponding paragraphs. One day, we were planting bare root trees and I said, let’s just take photos of this... it was by far the easiest post we’d done. It was just what we had done that day, for crying out loud!

49CC6B04-CB88-45B5-8AE9-BA729EED61FD.jpeg
Bare Root Cover Photo

I made the post and we went to sleep. Around 2am I woke up and checked my iPhone (I know bad habit! but I do that sometimes when I wake in the middle of the night). I couldn’t believe my eyes. Our How To Plant A Bare Root Tree post was worth over $200!

I immediately woke Ini up and started raving about how we could make a legitimate side income from this and how this person...

@hendrikdegrote!

Had noticed us and maybe they would notice us again! But I was sure this was our first step to being FOUND!!

$200! And then I read a post that said: that $ amount next to your name isn’t a the real amount, do x math and find out.

(Which, by the way, is now a fancy tool from @dragosroua, http://steem.supply, that does this automatically for you!)

It was worth around $500 at the time. I was speechless. We both started putting ALLLL OF OUR EGGS in that basket!! We wanted some hens that year.

CAA2541F-ED85-4060-ABD4-AA5070417517.jpeg

I made a post on making herbal medicine (How to Grow & Make your own Herbal Medicine: Tinctures), hoping to catch Hendrik’s eye again. It made $10 (great!), but Hendrik didn’t show up.

E1EE414E-8D00-42B1-B627-F7246C9F24AC.jpeg
hey Hendrik, I’m waiting for your call! 😘

It wasn’t for another couple months that I learned about @curie and that Hendrik was a part of a much bigger picture!!

I can safely say that I likely wouldn’t be as hooked on Steemit without that experience (good job @curie!!) and that teams like @ocd and the groups I’ve become a part of have truly made the experience. People talk a lot about big C Communities really changing Steemit in the future when they come out, but my experience of community is very strong here!! And it has made my experience worthwhile!!!

AF438DCB-964A-4B0B-BF47-91CFD221DDEA.jpeg
L.O.V.E.

I LOVE what @curie is doing and to all of the unseen eyes that scour the feeds for posts (many of you follow me, thanks!) and I know it’s scouring, cuz I spent a week learning what it takes to be a curator for @curie...

Thank you so much! You literally change the lives of so many Steemians and make Steemit what it is!!

What’s your Curie Story? Use #mycuriestory to connect all of the unique ways we’ve been touched by @curie!

AND, if @curie has supported you, consider giving them one of your witness votes! You can check out @abh12345’s helpful post with instructions on how to do that & why!

Sort:  

@curie's great isn't it - although you and I are now extremely unlikely to ever be upvoted by them again - there's a higher standard if you're reps in the 50s, and once you tip 60, almost no chance at all.. It's great when yer starting out though, I've a had a few upvotes and it does keep you going as you say!

Yes exactly!! Keeps ya going, keeps the spirits high. Steemit wouldn’t be the same without them! Understandable that now we’re in a different curation boat, but I hope more goodness awaits as our rep scores rise 😊

it isn't necessarily the case that higher REPs don't receive a Curie vote. The guidelines were changed such that the important thing is if an author has been consistently making high quality posts with little recent reward. Now of course, the higher REP you get, the less likely that is to happen as you typically build up a following as you gain REP. But many authors that are reaching higher REP today actually gained that REP by paying bid bots and have very little following. I see authors all the time now in mid 50s to mid 60s that make very little. And I submit them for a Curie then :)

Thanks for the clarification, but I definitely read a post by one of the other curie curators that basically said they had a higher standard for recommending depending on rep! Must have been just the way they do it.

it is true that a REP 60 user will have a higher bar for quality in the eyes of a reviewer than a brand new user, which may make some curators afraid to submit them. That is more of a failing of the individual curator. It is typically just as easy, if not easier, to find a REALLY exceptional post by a REP 55+ user, as it is to find a kind of exceptional post by a brand new user. There is a lot of really crap posting to sift through at the lower REP ranges. I myself submit a pretty broad range of REPs. Usually at least 2-3 a week that are REP 55+, if not more than that.

Thanks for the clarifications!

great points @carlgnash! thanks for the clarification ;)

I was wondering why I haven't seen curie forever. I kind of figured it was something like that.

Time to up yer game!

Btw I was interested to watch yr land walkthrough vid, but dtube just didnt cooperate, so I had to give up.

Ironically, my wife upped her game and received a visit from curie....

https://steemit.com/food/@canadianrenegade/mrs-canadian-renegade-spins-a-gringalicious-recipe

Ill be sure to check it out!

The biggest barrier is the damn formatting.

I have been hearing that a lot lately about Dtube which is unfortunate because I thought it was working well for a couple months there. I started using DLive and am going to give it a try for a few videos at least.

dlive seemed so confusing to me the one time i tried it! today the dtube vid loaded perfectly so i'm not sure what's up!

Mercury retrograde for the last month all technology goes a bit backward lol think its coming to an end now, should of posted about it really but there were quite a few out there already

The platform is richer for having you here.

Aww you’re so sweet 💙!! Thank you, that’s very heartwarming

It's a good feeling hey ;)

And like you say, if we are content with just a few dollars a day, it's christmas every time we make more.

I've been living off this platform for over a year now... with a family of four. Curie have helped me many times as author & curator, and so too have many generous people here.

It really is a special website.

exactly! depending on our expectation, it can really be a great time here! wow, congrats on living off the platform and supporting your family! any tips? that is definitely my goal, too! thanks for your encouraging reply :)

Can u actually support your whole family from steemit earnings? I haven't even been able to make minium wage. The earning for 3 month would probably be able to feed me for a month but that's it. Still surprising but isn't a viable income source yet.

If only there were more initiatives like this and not just curie but still grateful for those curie boosts everyday, there the only thing that really makes it tangible and boost account in general. Amazing that ur easiest post was the most profitable! Lol

exactly! haha isn't that hilarious. it taught us a lot about just being ourselves and putting ourselves out there (as people seem to really "take to" those posts) instead of efforting so much to create something ;) hey it doesnt work everytime, but cool!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59163.23
ETH 2524.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51