What Curie did For Me.

in #mycuriestory6 years ago (edited)

When I first landed at Steemit, I already had an idea what it was like starting out on social media and building a following. I didn't luck out with any huge votes to start with, but I do consider myself lucky to have been found by some homesteaders who were about to start a community. We were all pretty small fish at that point though, so while we couldn't support each other with high payouts, we could and did support one another with interaction (some of them are doing amazing things now). Soon after, I was also invited to join the Team Australia community, who were just as welcoming and already becoming a strong group.

IMG_20180416_130544.jpg

I attribute the reason that I am still here to these communities, because I was under no illusion about hitting it big time with lots of followers and big upvotes anyway. I was excited when a post was valued over a dollar! Most of them made just cents. It was about 2 months in before I encountered @curie and that post got a double whammy with a @blocktrades vote too! Just as an aside, I have a suspicion that most of my @curie voted posts have been put forward by #teamaustralia's @choogirl, who is a curator for them. That's the power of communities and I'd urge anyone new on here to join one, or make one if there isn't one for your interests. This is a social media site after all.

So, for me, @curie isn't the reason I stuck around on Steemit, however, they (and the other big curators who target minnows) are the reason I still make that extra effort on my posts. Had I continued to get merely cents for every post I spent hours on, I might have stopped bothering and just done quick posts. After all, I can get a guaranteed pay check elsewhere.

Of course @curie can't curate every single quality post here, especially as Steemit grows, but the chance of that occasional boost now and again can make it feel worthwhile persevering to grow your account.

We don't have many big curators on here who take the time to retrieve good work from obscurity, so to hear that one of the biggest ones was on the brink of going under was more than saddening.

As a witness @curie has always had my vote and I'm a picky voter. After checking in today I am stoked to see them back up in the top 20! Way to go Steemians for rallying round!

IMG_20180415_175359.jpg

If you want to vote for @curie and help them get back higher into the top 20 you can do so here. In my opinion, they are worth keeping there because the money they make in their roles goes back to the Steemit community. Other ways to support @curie is by upvoting their posts and delegating, if you can. I'm slowly reaching my goal for making my next mini delegation and I think I've decided where its going now. ;)

~○♤○~


You can also find The Miniature Smallholding on:

Instagram
Facebook


Join us at the Online Homesteading Community

IMG_20180111_135541.jpg

Sort:  

Lets face it.. both @curie and @choogirl rock, Steemit wouldn't be the same without them :)

We are glad to have you in Team Aus and on steemit @minismallholding. However, that post was not me. I wasn't a curator then.

This was me though. :)
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@minismallholding/some-basics-on-keeping-japanese-corturnix-quail

I was pretty sure the quail one was you! I wondered if the first one was too as I know I'd not long joined TA. Either way, thank you and thank you for everything you do TA and Steemit.

It's good to see @curie back in the top 20. How high were they before the hiccup? I hadn't really paid that much attention.

Yes, it's good news. We were around 19 or 20. I can't remember exactly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66149.79
ETH 3275.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71