Overcoming the Drawbacks of Small Scale Urban Homesteading: Using Every SpacesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

I would love to make our garden into a self contained eco system, but our space is limited so I have to concede that we can't provide everything. However, I can try to make the most of utilising every bit of growing area available, so that was the first step. I'm not entirely happy that I've completely achieved this yet, but I think we're nearly there.

IMG_20170918_112039.jpg

Most of the garden was lawn or decorative garden beds to start with, with just one section designated as a vegetable plot. So the logical first step was to start turning the lawn into growing space. Now here we have a benefit to living in an urban area; junk mail! If we remove the “No Junk Mail” sticker, then every week we get dozens of catalogues and flyers from the big shops and these make a great weed mat. By laying them down on the lawn and covering them with mulch I got rid of most of the front lawn, which consisted of one of the toughest and most persistent grasses going. Then once the weeds have gone the weed matting just breaks down into the soil.

A little patch of grass beside a wall got dug up and replaced with things that I heard will grow pretty much anywhere.

IMG_20170918_111612.jpg

I tried growing some shade lovers in planters under the veranda, but there wasn't enough direct light and the plants just got spindly. So I moved the planters to the base of the palm, which didn't really allow for growth around it's roots, but gave a certain amount of shade to stop the metal planters over heating in the sun.

IMG_20170918_112010.jpg

I have also put some planters in front of the chicken runs utilising a bit more of what's left of the lawn.

IMG_20170918_112112.jpg

The last bit of land that I've just made some moves on is a small strip between us and our neighbour, with a bit at the front which requires communications wires access. When this gets dug up by the phone company it's usually left in a mess, so I don't want to put to much work into it. So far I've just put in a native edible salt bush and I think sticking to natives will probably be the lowest maintenance option and require the least amount of water.

For the time being at least, I have decided to keep a bit of lawn for feeding the rabbits and chickens. It can't provide all their needs, but it's something and the rabbits love to get out on it to do a little lawn mowing.


Here is my previous post in this series if you missed it:
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@minismallholding/overcoming-the-drawbacks-of-small-scale-urban-homesteading-introduction

You can also find us on:

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/minismallholding/
Facebook: https://m.facebook.com/minismallholding/
YouTube: https://m.youtube.com/channel/UCBwcsmyIkW_hIEJdLUSd44

Sort:  

This is a great piece for people (like me) that don't have a TON of space. It seems like if you really look, there are always little spots that you can squeeze out extra productivity.

I have two of those trough-style raised beds as well. They've been some of my most productive!

The raised beds have been great, especially as I keep changing my mind about where to have them! Unfortunately they can get SO hot in summer. Winter plantings always do well though. The garlic in that planter under the tree is looking to be my best crop yet.

Paint them white on the outside ;)

Even white things get hot to the touch in our sun! I tried covering them one year. The thing that works best seems to be overgrowth to shade the edges. Although something around them that also offers insulation could work.🤔 Thank you, you've got me thinking now. 😁

Yeah, shade was going to be my next call as well. Or a shade cover?

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @minismallholding to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Thank you. It's still got a way to go, but I think we're on track. 😊

That garlic looks like it is growing at a cracking pace.
I think the way you have utilised your space is really good. I think as a community where ever we may be we should make all efforts to move in this direction of self-sufficiency. Thank you for putting the time and effort into your posts.

Thank you. I think that garlic is probably the best I've managed to grow them so far.

This is a great piece for people (like me) that don't have a TON of space. It seems like if you really look, there are always little spots that you can squeeze out extra productivity.

I have two of those trough-style raised beds as well. They've been some of my most productive!

I'm hearing that a lot at the moment. It seems these raised beds are the way to go!

I love those metal containers. They look like livestock troughs, but I've never seen a metal corner or triangle one before. They sure do get hot. I made a raised garden bed with metal as the sides and it dried out so quickly compared to the wooden ones. On the plus side, it heated up faster and my tomatoes did great in it.

Heating up is not something we have any problems with here in summer! But you've given me an idea. I wonder if I can start the tomato seedlings off earlier in them. 🤔 I'm terrible at starting seedlings off in pots.

One of those container would be excellent for any tomato or pepper starts. I love when two minds work together.

I'm going to have to write some of these ideas down!

Do those containers have holes in the bottom? Just wondering. They look great. Your whole place looks great for that matter! If everyone would grow food instead of grass it would be nice.

Thank you. The containers are completely open at the bottom.
I imagine there would be so much less food waste and hunger if we grew more food and less lawn.

Useful ideas and nice place. :)

great job in a small space! Something is blooming there to the right but i could not quite make it out? Is it peas? I have a neighbor in my co-op who does amazing things on a quarter acre. She is always in the garden!
Many more blessings, following on FB Homesteaders
Melissa

Thank you.
Yes, to the left are sugar snap peas. They seem to do better than standard peas for us.
I wish I could always be in the garden! Lol

me too! Especially in the Fall!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

vertical is the way to go

Ooo! Please elaborate. Do you grow vertical?
Well have to do garden tour swaps. I have a feeling I can learn a lot from you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44