My California ~ Lunch at Finneys

in #mycalifornia6 years ago (edited)

Last weekend, on the spur of the moment, my wife and I decided to take the train up the coast a ways and grab something to eat. It was 1:05 when we decided to try and catch the 1:30 northbound Pacific Surfliner train and go to Carpinteria and eat lunch at Rincon Brewing. Realizing that was only a 20 minute trip, we changed our minds and decided to go further north to Santa Barbara and check out Finneys Crafthouse. They have a location south of us in Westlake Village and soon there will be a Finneys in Ventura. The train was delayed, so we arrived at the Ventura station with time to spare. It's interesting that we would take the train from Ventura because it was the railroad, in a sense, that gave the city its name. Believe it or not, there is no city in California called Ventura. Officially, Ventura is known as the City of San Buenaventura. When that wouldn't fit onto a railroad timetable, the name was shortened to Ventura, and it stuck. I plan to show you more of Ventura in a future post, and our train is pulling in, so let's get going...
IMG_0508.JPG

Last time we took the Pacific Surfliner, we went south to Los Angeles and saw no Pacific and no Surf along the way. This time, we travelled along the coast the whole way.

IMG_0513.JPG

We've arrived in Santa Barbara:
IMG_0514.JPG

My wife is waiting as I stop to snap a picture. We brought our camera bags with us at my insistence, and she isn't too happy having to carry hers around.
IMG_0515.JPG

The station is located along State Street, which hosts many nice shops and restaurants. Straight ahead is an area known as the Funk Zone that is home to art galleries, gastropubs, and other cool places. But it's not our destination today.
IMG_0517.JPG

We're heading to Finneys Crafthouse, located in the Hotel California.
IMG_0532.JPG

IMG_0521.JPG

IMG_0522.JPG

I had the sausage and garlic pizza with an IPA, while my wife had the BBQ bacon burger. My pizza tasted amazing and I enjoyed mopping up the garlicky olive oil with the crust. Yummmmmmy!
IMG_0538.JPG

We strolled down towards the waterfront and Stearns Wharf after lunch.
IMG_0524.JPG

Then we headed back up towards the train station...
IMG_0520.JPG

IMG_0541.JPG

The sun was starting to set as we boarded our train to head back home...
IMG_0566.JPG

We enjoyed a beautiful sunset over the ocean during the ride home and arrived home at dusk...
IMG_0569.JPG

I hope you enjoyed the train trip and lunch at Finneys. Thanks for letting me show you My California!


Be sure to click on the images to view them full screen!

Original photographs by @kunschj. All rights reserved

CameraCanon EOS 80D
LensCanon EFS 18-55 mm kit lens
LocationVentura & Santa Barbara, California

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Many, many thanks @pixtesteemer. I’m honored.

What a great tour! Wonderful photos and your pizza looks marvelous! It must be so lovely to have an ocean at your doorstep, says the girl from Wisconsin.

Thanks for taking a look Melinda. It is nice to live near the ocean. I still geek out over it and spent the whole trip staring out the window. It surprised me to see so many people on their phones instead of enjoying the view. I just wish the windows were cleaner ;-)

I love taking day trips on trains. It’s nice that you can do that in California. Hopping on a train and having an afternoon adventure isn’t really something that I associate with the States.

It's definitely cheaper to do in places like Japan, but it's something I think we'll be doing more of now that we discovered how easy it can be.

That’s great! One thing I miss about living near Lake George and the finger lakes is being able to take steam boat tours in the summer. Traveling from one side of Lake George to the other for a day trip was always a lot of fun. They don’t have many boats like that in Japan. They do have a good ferry system, though, as I’m sure you know.

Hi kunschj,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow! I'm honored. Thanks so much Curie :-D

very beautiful place ❤👍 truely some beautiful photography, you do wonderful work.

Many thanks for that @ykdesign. I truly appreciate your support :-)

The views there are so so incredible! I love them and your pizza looks really yummy! The place looks like a really quite and peaceful place.

Nice photos!

Thanks for taking a look. I can assure you that pizza was yummy :-D

Thank you for taking us into your journey, I like a spontaneous ideas to do something or to go somewhere. You are lucky to live not so far from such a beautiful place in California, everything looks like made specially for tourists, the town itself looks nice and tidy, like the buildings and hotels around. It was a nice place to have a meal, I love Pizza in general and your look so delicious, I can imagine that you enjoyed it, even looking at that picture makes me hungry. The pictures you made are absolutely amazing, I really enjoyed the trip and the photographs.

Thanks so much for going along with me. The area we live is pretty nice. The city in the post, Santa Barbara, is less than 40 miles away. We're only a few miles from the ocean,and about an hour from downtown Los Angeles and Hollywood. That's our destination today...we're off to see the annual Hollywood Christmas Parade tonight.

that pizza picture distract me from other pictures and your story @kunschj, hahahaha... really worth for the day, right?
thanks for taking us with you to enjoy the ventura with you, even though no pacific and no surf also..

Thanks for checking it out and leaving a comment. I appreciate that.

Thank you for participating in this weeks Show us Your California contest!

I like this kind of post. People all over the world sharing their travels. why? well I like the idea of travel throught the photos... Now I in a conflict between the beer, the pizza or the landscape OMG... Looking forward for your next travel.

Many thanks for taking a look friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65070.55
ETH 3147.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55