My2018-This is my hobby:making learning fun for kids

in #my20186 years ago (edited)

Why I Fell in Love with Teaching Kids

_20180325_193249.jpg

Growing up,i discovered there were so many kids around me whise parents had little or no time to help do their school work, and had to struggle all by themselves to do their school work,so some of them would bring their work to me to put them through, and as soon as they returned from school the next day they would bring their books to me excitedly to show me their grades.this really gave me so much joy and fulfillments seeing the impact i had in the lives of these kids.

How Long Have You Been Doing it

Teaching kids have been a hobby since i was a teenager,i remember i would gayher all the kids right in front of my house we would learn new songs and poems, after singing and dancing for a while i would ask them to go get their school workr then i would put them through one after the other
Interestingly,i have a lot from these kids myself,sometimes i just sit back and quietly watch them play,and i discover that that they are always happy because many a times they dwell in the present and do not worry about the future, even ehen they fight,they make peace immediatly anf the fun continues.i try to be that way too and my life has been a lot less stressful

FB_IMG_1522002641397.jpg

What Do You Love about it

I feel so much joy these days when i look at kids that started their learning journey with me from scratch: I taught them first how to hold pencils,then how to scribble on papper,then we progressed to letters then word formations,and now they can read novels and some are so intelligent they can actually raed journals.i just sit back and smile,knowing i'm impacting lives positively,i'm especially overjoyed when they are kids with special needs

Do You Like it Because You are Good at it

I really do like it because i'm good at it,beyond that the joy i see in the kids is increases my passion ,plus the fact that it takes away stress from me because during play time i get so carried away i sometimes forget that i'm an adult and at such times i worry about nothing.

IMG_20180111_112146.jpg

when Do You Practice it

These days i teach on school days:mondays through fridays and on very few occassions we have special programs on saturdays like maths quiz and talent haunts

Is it Something You Share with Someone Else or You Do iy by Yourself

Over the years,the turnout of kids have increased in numbers so i've had to employ the services of a nanny,a cleaner,a caregiver and two assistant teachers.for efficiency.

FB_IMG_1522009567761.jpg

Is Your Hobby a Priority,Does it Take Away Time with Your Family

Yes my hobby is a prioty becaues i am impacting lives positively and intersetingly it doesnt take away time from my family because i'm a single mum and my children attend the school i run so they are always with me they have access to me whenever and we spend the weekends at home together

FB_IMG_1517138350376.jpg

Is Your Hobby Expensive,Do You Spend Lots of Money When You Practice

My hobby isn't really expensive to practice because apart from the less priviledge children,and children of widows,other children now pay for services rendered do that way there's money to pay salaries,pay rent for the premises we occupy and buy learning materials.
I also had to make little sacrifice to practice because i was also into interior decor and events planning which were more financially rewarding but i had to give it up for teaching because they were not giving me time and my focus was divided,and i wasnt really contributing to or making impacts in anybody's life,just mine and i was'nt particularly fulfiled

Are You an Amateur ,Adept or An Expert

I'm certainly not an amateur because i have been at it for several years i have gained experience over the years,i have taken several courses on child care development and management,i'm not tryiny to be humbly but i still do not consider my self an expert because just when you think you know it all some kids just display funny characters that are peculier to them alone,and children sometimes act cranky for no particular reason,there are some days some of them just do not want to be bothered with school work at such times,i have to patientle analyse the situation before reacting.

Are You Lucky Enough that Your Hobby is Part of Your Job

I consider myself very lucky ,that my hobby is part of my job because i'm naturally a playful and talk active person i get to do all these ans still smile to the bank while at it.

How Would Explain Your Hobby To an Alien

I would simply tell him i make learning fun and easy for children.i make them learn at easy and at their own natural pace.

My Greatest Challenge

So far,my greatest challenge have been from parents who do not value education,they pay lettle or no attention to thire children's homework,their kids bring back their work undone,some bring back their books wet and torn,while some even misplace the books entirly and we constantly have to replace their books. But beyond this it has been amazing through it all and there's no place i'd rather be than with kids,teaching and also having fun.

FB_IMG_1522002260069.jpg

Sort:  

Hey good Post!!! please cheack out mine ...my2018!

Congratulations @theadvantage! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @theadvantage! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @theadvantage! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37