My 2018 - Just a normal day in 2018

in #my20185 years ago (edited)

Dear all,

Welcome to my entry for this last challenge of 2018 organized and sponsored by our fabulous team @blocktrades and @anomadsoul (see original post here.

This time we are asked to let you in on a regular day of our lives, and even though my regular days aren't that exciting, I will try to get you to read this until the end without you falling asleep. Actually I really like this topic, because what else could we possibly write about that could make us get to know each-other better than knowing whether we all brush our teeth in the morning?

Getting up in the morning

This part is like pulling teeth for me, and this torture is to be repeated every single day. I envy morning people. Mornings, but especially early mornings aren't my friend, and I wish I could skip the "getting out of bed" part all together.

You don't want to piss me off when I wake up, or I wont be responsible for the nasty things that come out of my mouth. I don't wake up in a bad mood though. Some people are grumpy in the morning, but I am usually happy or at least neutral when I wake up. Just don't say the wrong thing to me (as in, don't complain!) or my mood can turn like a switch.

Luckily that doesn't happen very often, and I'm always warmly welcomed by my pets when I open the door of my room. There's nothing better than being greeted by a friendly wagging tail when you step out of your bedroom, as if I had been away for a week.

IMG_2054.JPG

The good thing is, I don't work in the mornings, so technically I could sleep in. That doesn't happen ever though, because my dear husband sets his alarm at 6.30am to go to work. He puts it at a very low volume and hopes to get up without waking me, but I have a very light sleep and always wake up. Sometimes I pretend to sleep on (because I'm really trying to go back to dreamland), but sometimes I just can't fall asleep anymore and end up getting up too.

Because of our different schedules, @el-cr takes care of the morning chores (feeding our 5 furry beasts), and I take over when he leaves. I consider myself extremely lucky, and I think I got myself the best hubby in the world. He always makes sure I get all my vitamins (now more than ever!) and prepares either a smoothie or fresh coconut water for me.

He rushes out just before 8am, so that's when I'm left alone to play! I have my mornings off, but that doesn't mean that I sit on my thumbs and do nothing.

After I have breakfast and coffee, I usually take care of stuff that needs to be done in the house (cleaning, laundry, serving more pet food, taking out the trash etc.).

I also try to be productive somehow. Whether it's making a new dtube video, writing a post, or painting one of my surfboards to generate some extra cash. I water my plants, and if I'm up for it I get in a little gym session if I don't have BJJ training at night.

WhatsApp Image 2018-12-26 at 11.11.56 AM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-12-26 at 11_Fotor.jpg
always begging for food!

WhatsApp Image 2018-12-26 at 11.12.50 AM.jpeg

Lunch time

Around 12pm I'm starting to worry about lunch. I say worry because it's a problem for me each time. I hate at the fact that I have to come up with a freaking meal every day when I don't feel inspired. I need some new recipes...Sometimes I blank stare at the fridge for ages wondering what the hell to prepare this time. Sometimes I'm lucky and we have leftovers...I personally hate lunch because it's always rushed, and @el-cr comes home also in a hurry and I have to start working at 1.00pm. Most of the time I end up eating in front of the computer because my timing just sucks...That's when I miss living in a big city where you can just buy takeout somewhere and not worry about it!

Work

Ok let's skip this part, just imagine me typing away and making phone calls for 4 hours...I usually work from home, but when I feel like seeing other human beings, which happens rarely, I go to the office in town.

5.30pm, time to relax!

Once I'm done with work, I can focus on either relaxing and doing nothing (think Netflix while eating snacks, or going on a walk with my dog) on those nights that I don't have a BJJ class.

When I do have jiujitsu training at 6.00 pm (3 times a week), that's where I truly come alive. Some people do yoga or meditate to disconnect, but for me the tatami is my magic release from my daily routine. It's hard to explain. Oftentimes we believe that we're tired at the end of the day, but it's not physical tiredness, it's just mental exhaustion. I mean let's be real, we're all probably just sitting around all day in front of a computer screen.

Once you get yourself moving a little, you'd be surprised at how much energy you actually have. To me, the intellectual and physical stimulation I get from martial arts is crucial for my mental health. It really keeps me sane. I can go in with a bad mood, and come out like a fresh new person. It's quite astounding, and I wish I could transmit this feeling to you guys better...

IMG_5855.JPG

Dinner.

After BJJ training (which finishes around 8.00 or 8.30pm, depending on the class), @el-cr and I are both exhausted, and for real this time! After a very needed shower (you don't want to smell us after class!), we make dinner. Usually it's something easy and quick, as we both lack the energy to make something more elaborate, and then we both crash in the living room. @el-cr in front of his crypto charts, and me on the couch to watch one of the TV shows I'm currently into. Not for long though, as my eyes usually close on their own by 10.00pm and dreamland is calling.

Afterthoughts

I know what you're thinking, OMG Eve your life is so exciting (not!), ahahah but I guess we all have our routine. Routine is never really exciting, unless you're a stunt man or a firefighter, but I do like my quiet life. It's pretty solitary and relaxed, which I enjoy. I don't like being around people much, so working from home is the ideal scenario for me. Of course I'm not entirely anti-social and enjoy seeing my friends, but I'm completely comfortable and happy when I'm on my own.

Also, this morning was quite the adventure! While I was writing this post, a giant cockroach crawled over my naked foot and I had to smash it with my flipflop. I nearly had a heart attack!

WhatsApp Image 2018-12-26 at 11_Fotor.jpg

PS: I forgot to mention that I also do brush my teeth, shower, and use the bathroom several times throughout the day, just in case anyone was having any doubts about that...

PPS: My weekends are less boring, I promise...

cheers,

eve signature.png

Sort:  

@evecab I love this challenge :) and you've kept the article interesting even though you're just talking about ''your'' normal day. Not everyone has the same habits that's why it's interesting and I like that you can work from home as well as having some time for yourself and later on with your husband :) Sounds relax :)

Yes it’s definitely relaxed 😎 I don’t have much stress... I used to have a super stressful job/life in Europe and I think that’s why now I’m the complete opposite

Posted using Partiko iOS

@evecab same, that's why I'm now on the other side of the planet as well haha ;)

Being a Steemian is....photographing the cockroach you just killed! :D

totally LOL. When I lifted the flip-flop to take the pic I realized it was still alive, so I lowered it right away...waiting for @el-cr to come and deliver me from the monster (I am scared to death of them!)

haha me too! It's a silly fear really, but they terrify me :))

Loved your last para, thats a very important part of the day! Sounds a bit like my boring interesting day only my while evening is spent in front of the PC.

Lol thanks girl!!! I would love to hear about your “boring” day 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am not wrong of resteeming this,I laugh while reading this.What a cool ordinary day @evecab

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol thanks Olivia, I’m glad you liked it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You got a 15.58% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @evecab!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

It sounds like you have found a balance in your life - something that is difficult to come by. And believe me - your daily life is far more exciting than mine which is too much time plopped in front of a computer screen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30