My 2018: A tour around my town - Bucharest, As I See It

in #my20186 years ago (edited)

Let's talk about our city

 
Contest season is back to my friends, I hope you are ready, says @anomadsoul. We're ready, I'm ready. If you don't know what this is about, here is the posting with the rules and prizes: CONTEST: My 2018: A tour around my town - 100 SBD in Prizes. This contest ends on February 9th PST.
 

I will show a small piece of my life in the former "Little Paris of the East"

 
IMG_20180126_143102_HDR.jpg
 
First, why Little Paris! Because, from the end of the 19th century and between the two world wars, Bucharest was called Paris of the East or Little Paris. The reason? This city, documentary certified for more than 500 years, developed chaotically and with great oriental influences, begins to occidentalize. Young people who have studied in France begin to impose French lifestyle, intellectuals and rich classes speak French, Romania being considered a French-speaking country. At that time, most buildings were built that copied French models, and even a triumphal arc inspired by the triumphal arc of Paris.
Thus, Bucharest was named the little Paris in the East but now the opinions are divided, some think the similarity does not exist and the differences are too great to compare Bucharest to Paris. Of course we have to be modest and recognize the reality ... but, at the same time, we must be glad that there are still places in our city that remind us of Paris, the beauty and the atmosphere of Paris.

Some of my impressions of this city where I have been living for more than 50 years ...

 
After having lived in several parts of Bucharest, for more than twenty years I live in a suburb called New Bucharest. It is obviously on the edge of the city and that gives me a special perspective of the city, its artistic and entertainment center. Although I get to the center in less than half an hour, I have the impression every time that I make a real city breack, given the difference between the quiet neighborhood where I live and the agitation of the city.

Although I will not be able to present everything about the city, I would like to show some of the areas that I like and which could be of interest to you.

Downtown

 
Unfortunately, some parts of the city center do not seem so beautiful, like Magheru Boulevard but fortunately, Calea Victoriei continues to be a beautiful promenade, and reminiscent of the old Parisian name. I like to walk here!

 

 

Some statues

 

Statue of King Carol I in front of the Royal Palace

 

 

The greatest Romanian composer, George Enescu, and a great politician, killed in communist prisons, Iuliu Maniu in front of a former communist symbol, the central committee building. Also, the statue dedicated to the victims of the Roman revolution of 1989.
 

 
 

The Old City

 
The most visited part of tourists, a small island in the city center, full of shops, restaurants and terraces. Now, in the winter, the terraces are closed, but the restaurants and shops are an attraction and because of the prices more than small compared to other big cities of the world. Beer lovers are happy here!
 

 
 

Also in this small old town space, among dozens of bars and restaurants there is an unexpected oasis of tranquility and spirituality, the Stavropoleus monastery, built in 1724!
 

   

Cultural Life

 

Cultural life is one of the city's strong points. There should be dozens of posts to cover all events from concerts, exhibitions, theater performances, opera and ballet. Now I want to refer only to the National Opera. When general manager was Beatrice Rancea, the former first ballerina, a series of exceptional events were made with the contribution of the greatest Romanian theater and opera director, Andrei Serban. He has mounted famous works around the world, so many that I do not have time to list them here, if you want to know more about him, read here! I have seen all the shows and can say that are wonderful. There are many tourists who want to see these shows.
 

 

 

Press Conference of Mr. Andrei Serban

 

 


 

Former General Manager of National Opera Ms. Beatrice Rancea

 

 

People

 

People are of all kinds, like in all parts of the world. From wonderful people to those you do not want to know! Like everywhere, it depends on education and civilization. However, normal people in Romania and implicitly, Bucharest, are friendly and hospitable. Almost all young people speak English, and this helps them easily become friends with people from other countries. Now I want to say a few words about some very beautiful people, whom I have known for decades, some of my best friends.
 
We meet quite often, but not very often to bother each other and have lunch together. At any restaurant or home to each of us.
 

 

We met in the 88's when we were still under the communist regime. They are musicians and together, under the direction of Sorin Chifiriuc, a non-conformist personality of those years, known rock musician, formed a band called the Roata. I can say that I was (as a friend, admirer and technician) in the formation, growth, success and dissolution of a band that tried to play some kind of alternative rock to the new wave.

Like in any group with many personalities, they did not resist much together and scattered all over. It was a big group of friends, we only stayed a few now, probably those we liked more.

The Food

 
What I can recommend in the first place are fresh fruit and vegetables on the market. When traveling I really like to find a market and taste local products.
 

 

 

Traditional meals are a lot, in each restaurant will be promoted to tourists, like this one called "tochitura"...

...yet I do not really like the restaurant food for as long as I'm home. I like cooking myself, foods like these: over fried, fish soup, chicken with sour cream, hot sizzling flat (Bulgarian food, admirer)
 

 

 

I do not really like to go to the restaurant but I cannot protect myself from the confectionery. I have a favorite place, it's called the confectionery Maria, it's in the Baneasa neighborhood and it's the best in Bucharest, in my opinion. I drink coffee very often there and I try to stay away from cakes (my wife cannot do that).

 

 

The Green Side

 

And now, the part I like the most. About the green side of the city, about parks. I live near a park, a small but very beautiful park. I have to cross it every time I go to the subway or shopping. Bazilescu Park!

My favorite is Herastrau Park. I usually get together with my wife to walk around the park, about 6 km.


 

 

But the main attraction of the park is the small friendly animals that are waiting to feed them. I made a small video about this:

The beautiful and surprising part I discovered near Herastrau Park. The setting up of a new park where the lake was allowed to grow wild, to become a small delta with wild birds.


 

 

Defend Democracy

 
Bucharest is the capital of Romania, is the largest city with over two million inhabitants. Here are all state institutions. Here people are protesting, fortunately, when politicians are attacking democracy and human rights. When trying to make laws that protect corruption. The last demonstration has raised more than 50,000 people on the streets.I've been there with many of my friends. Those who visit the city can have the opportunity to see such a demonstration. Most of the time demonstration is peaceful with all the security forces deployed, for protection, they say ... for intimidation, I think.

 


 


 

City Tour

 
Let's end in a more optimistic note, I hope that all this amalgam I put here made you a picture of this city where I live for more than 50 years but I think more than 50% is still unknown for me. I didn't make a travel guide, I didn't put information about prices and itineraries. From my point of view things are simple, here is cheaper life than where you come from and the rest is on the net. From spring to late autumn there are these buses for the tour of the city. They are very appreciated, the ticket is valid for 24 hours and costs about 5 euros. I warmly recommend making this tour.

 

The End

 

 
dsd.jpg

Sort:  

This post has received a 21.74% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

To support our daily curation initiative, please donate 1 SBD or delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one fo the following links: 10 SP, 50 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP, 5000 SP.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Your article is featured in @Shares UpGoat Project Daily Curation for additional mention and exposure to the world.

This post has received a 100% https://UpGoat.com sponsored by @yehey.

Send at least 0.01 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field. To support our daily curation initiative, please delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares.

Lovely.
@Acknowledgement

You make you town look a very tempting place to visit, Blue. It will have to go on my list.

I'm glad I did at least a curious person. Especially you. Thank you!

Of course, this was an amazing overview of the city, Dan! Not only what the buildings look like, but a little of the history, the architecture, the people that live and work and play in it!

I love the personal tidbits about the food and your preference for making your own. If anyone were to follow you, they would see why! You make and give a step by step of your recipes, using simple kitchen tools and I so appreciate that!

It was so interesting to hear what a proactive member of freedom you were during the Communitst regime. :) Somehow, it doesn't surprise me one bit. I am happy that you didn't like it and wanted better for your family and yoursel.

Bucharest is interesting, beautiful and big. I agree the best way to see it is by a tour bus! Whenever I get back there, that is exactly what I would do!

This is a most wonderful post! Good luck on the contest! Bucharest is beautiful and such an underrated city!!! Tip!

Thank you @dswigle for introducing me to this post. You have included so much detail @bluemoon. It makes me want to vist

My pleasure. It was a delightful read for me. Thank you!

If I managed to tell you something about my city that you would like to visit, then I am extremely pleased. Thank you!

Cant believe you didn't mention your favorite man in the world was shown in it...on stage of course!

Thank you, Denise! Lately, I have had a few posts you have not seen and I would have liked to see them. I was interested in your opinion. I'm so glad you read this. It's the most laborious job I've ever done(on Steemit). I do not think I'll make another one anyway. You seem very convinced that you will return to Bucharest sometime. This is the truth?

Dan and I have talked about Pavarotti! He got to see him sing. It is in the top good times in my lifetime seeing that legend!

@old-man-photos

Oh see I KNEW you would never have missed that one!!!!!!!!

It absolutely is. Probably next year as my vacations for this year is all taken. How can I not come back to a country that kicked me out? :) I believe I have been around to all of your posts today and last night. If I haven't, please let me know! I do love them all!

Then it means I'm waiting for you, Denise! I hope.

You will know well in advance of my arrival! ;) I will look forward to the day!

Me too, of course!

wow very good travel post and wonderful shots . love it. congrats

I'm glad you like it, thanks!

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture challenge. Good Luck.

wow that was a fantastic tour @bluemoon! "cannot protect myself from the confectionary" lol that one made me giggle. I love the old, tall buildings of your city..a very interesting history, too.. It's quite beautiful! <3

Thank you very much! You have made me such a great joy to see someone interested in my story. Your appreciation means a lot to me!

Oh yes! The food you displayed would be worth the trip alone ;) you have a very interesting city!

Thank you! I think every town has something interesting!

This was AMAZING! I love it!!!!!! I hope you will win!!!You are becoming better from post to post!!!!
Btw I love Maria too!
we have some things in common! how are you feeling?

Thank you, everything you said is true for you too! I'm almost fine.

What an Amazing Bucharest and I Just know Bucharest knows as a little Paris in the east, your hometown very beautiful to see on your pictures post, and you have been many experiences of your town was live there for 50 years

Greeting from Aceh sumatra Indonesia :)

Thank you very much Aceh! Sumatra, Indonezia is extremely exotic to me. I'm glad you found interesting information in my post. I like very much what you say about you: I blog All about of My Life ... this is what I try to do also. I will follow you to see aspects of your life.

My pleasure sir @bluemoon, I'm glad too found new friend from another country in the world, Now I have @bluemoon in Bucharest if someday I get the chance to see your country :D

I like very much what you say about you: I blog All about of My Life ... this is what I try to do also. I will follow you to see aspects of your life.

On this part, I'm so glad and Thank you so much sir, followed you too now :)

Awesome tour @bluemoon id love to hear more about all those cultural activities you mentioned. Bucharest sounds like a very interesting place. I can't believe I haven't visited yet.

Thank you very much, thank you for reading my post. Not having too much visibility, I was somewhat sad that few colleagues would read. I'm glad you liked what I posted about Bucharest. You know, these presentations are subjective, what I like about it may be of no interest to you. I hope that if you visit, you will find many more interesting places that I have presented myself.

Romania is beautiful. Hopefully one day I'll make it there. Romanian born in America and never went back...Thanks for sharing great work!

Glad to know you! I'm sure, sooner or later you will visit Romania. Thank you for the appreciations!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98