2017 recap - my 5 favorite posts

in #my2017top56 years ago (edited)

With thanks to @rocking-dave who came up with this challenge/contest, I picked my favorite 5 posts of 2017 that also best represent what content can be found on my blog. You can find the contest post here.
I joined Steemit roughly 4 months ago and have since been writing on almost a daily basis.



Source


Here are my personal favorite picks:

1. [Short story] - Living Off The Grid

Right off the bat when I joined Steemit I started a series of stories called "Writing Prompt Fulfilled", where I ask Steemians for ideas - no matter how weird - and turn them into a story.
Living Off The Grid was the very first story based off a prompt by a Steemian and I think it captures my writing style beautifully.
It talks a couple who decided to escape civilization and built a house in some of the harshest conditions on Earth. 18 years later there's a heavy blizzard headed their way. Will they make it?
[Link to full post here]


2. I tried to forcewrite a story

Remember I mentioned I write almost on a daily basis?
Sometimes that means I sit in front of an empty document for extended periods of time before an idea hits me.
But, in this post I talk about how I tried to improvise an idea and just force something out of my keyboard. Not good.
The story I've written in such a manner is also included in the post.
[Link to full post here]


3. The way to your better self

In this post I talk about improving yourself, but always being satisfied with where you already are.
The post is highly motivational and focuses on providing you with the set of tools needed to improve yourself. Same tools apply for whatever you wish to improve at in life, be it personality based, your diet, ... The possibilities are endless.
I talk about how to set your goals to stay on track, how to keep track of said goals, and how it is most important to never give up.
[Link to full post here]


4. Let's talk new year's resolutions, and why they fail.

This post focuses on how to structure your new year's resolutions for success.
It is perhaps similar in nature to the previous post I mentioned, but definitely an upgrade and more specific.
In this post I provide you with the tools needed to achieve your goals and the importance of a deadline to actually achieve them.
I also share some of my own goals, and how I structured them.
[Link to full post here]


5. Constrained Writing Contest

Since I have joined Steemit, I have participated in a lot of writing contests, but all of those contests were similar in nature. They gave you a writing prompt - be it an image or text - and you had to write a story based on that. They forced an idea in your head.
I decided to come up with something different.
So instead of giving you a writing prompt, I let you use your own idea and write about that - whatever your idea may be. But, varying from week to week, I come up with different constraints to hinder your writing and force you to be creative in new ways.
Think of it as a challenge. That you get rewarded for. Win-win?
[Link to the latest Constrained Writing Contest]


And that's it!

Now that you have a general idea what my blog is about, and if you like what you're seeing, please consider clicking on the "Follow" button.


As for the nominations of who I'd like to see do this also, I'm picking 5 random people from the "new" section with a reputation of over 50 to ensure they have some posts from last year also. My followers will see the post anyway and decide whether to join or not anyway :P So might as well nominate some external people ^^
Here they are;

Svashta_gif.gif
Gif by @rocking-dave

Sort:  

Thank you for your entry, mate! I'll be very interested to see what posts of your own you hold as the best! :)

I wanted to use "Pimp your tables" so much, but then realised it's been posted in 2018 already haha :D Bummer.

Oh, priceless post indeed! I'm sure it's already on many people's bookmarks.

Hope so ^^ It's a nice way to arrange your previous work in as little space as possible :p

Awesome picks!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87