My 2017 : Achievements and Failures (Some Flashbacks)

in #my20177 years ago (edited)

First thing first!

Before I start boring you all with my verbose, I want to thank  @anomadsoul for creating this contest. Pardon me  @anomadsoul, I don’t see this as a contest.  In fact it is a great opportunity for everyone of us to irrationally analyse the whole year of our life and learn something from every achievement, every accolade & every failure we have been through.

As I started brainstorming for my spent year, with every achievement thought came a sense of gratitude and with every failure remembered came determination.

Starting days of 2017 were a period of great uncertainty for me. I was planning to get married and set up my new home. Nothing was in place, my life was chaotic and future seemed uncertain but I got through all of this unscathed and triumphed. So here is the recap of my 2017  :

The Achievements

Philanthropy

For me, the most comforting achievement of this year has been the philanthropic work that I got involved into. I am not a big fan of self bolstering when it comes to philanthropy so I will keep a lid on the details. The only thing I would say is that "I did my best to help those who needed my help and still feels that I could have done more".


(Image Source)

Falling in Love and Getting Married 

When it comes to my love life, the year 2017 have been great. I fell in love with this amazing girl and got married. It has been great ever since and I feel blessed all the time.


(Image Source)

Steemit

This is where 2017 gets most exciting for me!. I discovered an amazing platform called STEEMIT and started steeming. Its was like I was born new and finally my voice was accorded with audience. On steemit it felt great to connect with other fellow steemians (divergents and castaways) like me.


(Image Source)

Blood Donation

I have been a constant blood donor for Fatimid Foundation ( a non profit organization helping patients with Thalassaemia & Hematological disorders) for around 8 years. My blood type is B- and it is unique as only 1 in 67 people (approx. 1.5%) have B-blood. I feel with this rarity comes the responsibility of helping those who are in need.  Just think every single drop of your blood giving a struggling life some fighting chance.


(Image Source)


The Failures

No Reconciliation with My Father

For year 2017 my biggest failure is, not being able to make peace with my father. I am not proud of it but I just can't let go of his betrayal to my family. This doesn't mean that I don't love him but sometimes things aren't as simple as sound. Intricacies of human emotions are yet a bit undiscovered.

Not Enough Family Time

I have not been able to spend the amount of time with my family that they deserve and consider this a failure on my part. The nature of my job doesn't allow me enough spare time but still I could have done better.

Not Investing in Bitcoin

A friend of mine advised me of buying bitcoin three months ago but I didn't listened to him (BTC was around 3500$ at that time). And now here I am writing and regretting about it!


Goals for 2018

  • To be a better human being.
  • To learn something new everyday.
  • To get 1000 Steempower.
  • To buy a new car.
  • To visit a foreign country.

So that was all about my 2017 and it felt great to share with you all. I will also love to read about how your year went so feel free to drop your links below in comments section.


PS:

 I want to pay my regards to @ilyastarar for his continuous support and guidance.


Sort:  

A wonderful read bro. Thanks for mentioning me at the ends. Regards acknowledged and likewise for your kindness.

We all that one bitter spot left hanging each year. Mine was love life and marriage. Happy for you in that department. Next year can be the year of peace. I hope...

My best wishes and prayers are with you, my friend.
May Allah make you the happiest person on planet and grant you the enduring peace. Ameen

Keep it up

()

Thanks:)

i visit your blog today very handsom blog you are looking multani

Thanks my friend

I love the stance you take on not revealing your philanthropic actions. Cheers to a great 2018.

Yeah Cheers:)

@xabi, I've found your post to be worthy of a resteem and upvote from me. I'm an actual person and I am doing this on behalf of the Resteem - Upvote movement. Sure it's not to late to invest and im sure you would do better on 2018. Cheers!. Join the movement, read about it here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@jackmiller/the-resteem-and-upvote-movement-teamwork

I'm following you now, @feyrdauze88. I'm curious to see what you are doing with your project. I love it when I find another manual curator working to encourage people.
Cheers!
@mitneb

Thanks @mitneb. I appreciate that. Im interested and curiously want to know about being manual without depending on bot not 100% without them because im using it too sometimes. How much or what can be produced and helped new steemian. As im new in steemit too. You can find out in @jackmiller post if you interested. Thumbs up!

Thanks, @feyrdauze88. I have followed @jackmiller, but I don't know which post you are referring to. Can you please paste a link to it here in reply? You can do all of your curation manually, and still use bots to promote, upvote and resteem your articles for more exposure. That's what I am doing as I learn how to do it.
Cheers!
@mitneb

Thanks very much, @feyrdauze88! I will take a look at it soon.
Cheers!
@mitneb

Thanks for cosideration

Great post my friend.. about one of the failures you mentioned when you said you couldn't give time to your family..
thats part of professional life.. i regret that too.. even 365 days in a year are not enough for that.. so chin up and try to find ways in 2018 to spend more time with them..

One suggestion : change your topic to "My 2017 : Achievements and Failures" because the contest demands that this should be the title.. anything you want to add in title must be put after the above mentioned line..

Blessings...

Thanks for pointing out....and you are right even 365 days are not enough.!

Just read this and feeling happy that I did finally read your post. So happy to learn about all your achievements. You did really well and I am sure your wife is lucky to have you.

awww congratulations on your marriage this year and love that you did some philanthropic work!!

Thanks you very much for kind words...

I've been planning to sit down soon and think about my 2017 year. It was a big year for me, full of accomplishments and failures. Reading your post reminded me that it is important to reflect.

If you write do send me a link. I would love to read...Cheers

I just started! Here is something I wrote today. I think it's a good philosophy to take into 2018. ;) Please let me know what you think.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@chrismccron/steemit-is-like-a-potluck

Excellent post, you're so talented!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76