SteemIt Is Like A PotlucksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I am new to SteemIt, but I can already see a fundamental truth about SteemIt that many users are forgetting.

Your content has to provide value to others.

Through your writing, videos, art, whatever, you provide value to others in the form of education, information, or entertainment. Steemians need to use your content and feel like it made their day better. It seems that there is a certain type of Steemian that is eager to take from the community before they have worked hard to give to the community.

Because of this, SteemIt reminds me of a potluck dinner with friends. For those that come from cultures where the word "potluck" isn't used, a potluck is a meal where many people bring different types of food to share. On SteemIt, you have to bring something to the table to share with others that will provide nourishment. Do you have a unique point of view? A way with words? Sharp wit? Are you capable of intense vulnerability through your storytelling? Can you stir someone's soul with your paint brush? 

Whatever it is you do, think about the people that will consume your content first, and how you can benefit from your content second.

When someone shows up to a potluck empty handed, with nothing to offer, people notice. They might not tell you to your face, but you are viewed as a little more selfish than the rest of the people at the party. Or if you bring a dish that is lazily prepared, people can tell that you didn't put much thought into what you were bringing to the table. It's safe to assume that you were looking to benefit from other people's contributions, rather than to make a meaningful contribution of your own.

If you want to have success on SteemIt, and you want to make the most of the experience, ask how you can contribute value to the community, rather than asking how you can benefit. Don't be the selfish person at the potluck. Don't try to leech off the contributions of others. Be a creator of value. Be a person worth sharing. Be a person that thinks of others. There could be quicker roads to "the top" where you game the system, but you'll lose sight of why this is an amazing platform - because we all put in, and we all benefit from our unique contributions.

Provide value, and you will have value returned to you.

So, what do you bring to the table?

My name is Chris, and I am a life blogger. I write about leading a good life. I share my insights with others, hoping that they will benefit from my experiences and ideas.

I'd love to hear about what you are bringing to the table. Tell me in a comment below what you do on SteemIt, and how you think it contributes value to the community as a whole.

image credit

Sort:  

I try to bring a lot to the table. Absolutely deserving post. Please see my blog to have a look at what I bring.

  • Ideas
  • Solutions
  • Steemit tutorials
  • Community posts
  • Quality content
  • Replies
  • Upvotes on good comments

Etc. Etc. Etc.

Thanks for the comment. I had a look at your blog. Your 13 year old cousin is going to be on SteemIt? Ha! He is starting young! I wish him and you the best of luck.

This is the BEST analogy that I've seen (or even thought of!) I'm the type htat takes pride in what I bring to a potluck (be it a community place like this or actual food-type-potluck!) I like to bring my best, whatever that is at the moment, and I like to try out what other people have to offer.

I also like to encourage others when I see that they've put forth the effort and really the bravery it takes to put yourself out there with your art/writing/music, whatever, because I know how much that type of encouragement does for me.

Honestly, this is one of the best posts that I've seen on 'how to succeed on steemit' just perfectly sums it up! You got my upvote and a resteem!

Thanks, @byn! That means a lot to me that you like this analogy.

I actually went to a potluck on Saturday night and it made me think to write this article. I figured it suited the idea of trying to provide value on Steemit, rather than merely extracting from the community.

I really appreciate your support.

agree!!!!!You bring what you have , you bring what you want to share with others! you bring your best in writings!

Appreciate the compliment. Have a good day!

Welcome to Steemit!

Is that a Shakshuka in the cast iron? :D
I just had some recently and blogged on one of my post. Haha

Hi @Danielwong! I don't know what is in the cast iron (open source stock image), but it looks good. What do you do on SteemIt?

Glad that you can join us on Steemit Bloggers. :) Upvote you as a little gift.

Aw, thanks @zord189! I appreciate that. I think that you all have a really interesting idea of collaboration driving that community. I am excited to see what happens with it.

Thanks! If u need any help whatsoever about Steemit, do ask. I'm sure a lot of people will try their best to help you. :) Or if u need life advices. Hahahha

Will do! I am grateful for the helping hand.

Yes! All of this! 😀

I'm Traci, and I am a wordsmith (aka, writer), Tarot reader, witch, g33k (aka, geek) and shutterbug (aka amateur photographer). I bring to the table an overuse of the acronym aka... umm... LOL!

All joking aside, I love this comparison and it makes total sense to me. I love the term "life blogger" and I can't wait to see what yummy delights you cook up (aka, looking forward to reading your insights).

Thanks for digging back in my posts a bit and having a read, @Traciyork! I am happy this idea resonated with you AKA you agreed with it. :)

I love that analogy. Looking to bring some value to people's lives.

Glad to hear the idea speaks to you.

Amazing potluck concept brother...I love it....resteemed and upvoted of course. ...keep it up!

Thanks @xabi! I am glad you liked the article. I have followed you, so I will keep an eye on what you put out next.

Thanks my friend

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @chrismccron to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51